We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel / Very Bad Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
San Marcos, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel / Very Bad Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel uses to be a Holiday Inn Express and is now a Best Western PLUS.
It is a very Nice & Clean hotel and we enjoyed a King Suite with Balcony facing the ocean.
Beautiful view! The only issue I had with this hotel was their Breakfast. I hated the fact that they used such cheap plastic eating utensils. It very much dismisses the fact that they are even offering you a breakfast.
Recommendations:
If you are going to eat Breakfast somewhere other than the hotel, then this would be a very nice place to stay.
If Breakfast at a hotel is important to you, find another hotel because this breakfast is very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
I'm very glad you enjoyed the accommodations here at the Marina Shores hotel and please accept my apologies for the plasticware in the breakfast room. We had actually upgraded it about two months ago and then had an order that was late so we had to bring out the old stock we had leftover. It just goes to show how important items like these are to our guests. We now have the new utensils back in place, so please don't feel you need to stay or eat elsewhere the next time you're in Dana Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    51
    26
    2
    0
See reviews for
86
49
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baker City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We truly enjoyed our three restful nights at this hotel. We were just coming off of a five day Disneyland adventure and we were able to recharge and enjoy Dana Point from this very centralized location. Here, you are just around the corner from Doeheny Beach and the marina. The kids had a great time beachcombing and surfing (rental shop right there). The free breakfast is typical for a nice hotel and the pancake machine looked like fun. (Wish they offered sugar-free syrup and I may have tried them). The view from our patio was awesome...could see the ocean peeking from behind giant palm trees. Even though we were on the Pacific Coast Highway, the noise was not noticeable from our room at all. Housekeeping did a fantastic job and the beds were awesome. We even enjoyed the warm pool when it was only 60 degrees out...we just had to hurry back to our room when we got out of the water. The value at this hotel is great and I would definitely stay here again...and hope to soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay - not only with us, but in beautiful Dana Point. We will certainly look into the possibility of a sugar free syrup for our pancakes at breakfast. Great Idea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying here. When we arrived this time we had a slight hiccup with our reservation but Lizzette came through and totally made our nights! Beautiful, clean, spacious rooms! You can see the ocean from most rooms and you can't beat the location! We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and even happier that you intend to become a regular. Our family will never be TOO big!

I'll make sure to pass on your praises to Lizette. We believe that the people who work here are just as important as a comfortable bed and a clean room. It's all part of the same guest experience and it sounds like we hit a home run for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My mom and I took the kids for a leisurely overnight trip for my birthday. We called at 1:30pm and were told our room would be ready at 2:30pm. We arrived at 3pm and still waited 20 minutes while it was cleaned. We also requested a crib at check in and when it wasn't in our room by 6pm, had to call again for it. The heated pool was one of our main reasons for going and it was not AT ALL heated. This was almost a dealbreaker because swimming is one of the kids favorite activities,
However, the location is pretty awesome. It's near the marina, grocery stores, and fast food. The balconies on the second floor have high walls which is a wonderful safety feature with little kids. Our suite was clean and spacious and the kids had fun in the whirlpool bathtub as an alternative to the cold pool. I'd stay here again but would call ahead to make sure the pool is heated and follow up with staff for special requests.

Room Tip: Suites on the second floor are great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I'm terribly sorry to hear about the problems you had checking in and with the pool. As soon as I read your comments I called the pool service company so I am definitely thankful you brought it to our attention. If you call me at the hotel directly we can arrange a refund for part of your stay. We want everyone to be 100% satisfied with the Marina Shores Hotel, so on those rare occassions where we drop the ball, I want to make sure to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We have always found that Best Western facilities can be counted on to provide a good level of service overall. In our view this facility is definitely a cut above the norm. The facility appears to be quite new and our room was large and absolutely spotless which would indicate that management takes considerable pride in the care and upkeep of the facility and customer follow up concerning the quality of the stay confirms that. The bed was very comfortable and perhaps the only negative is that our room faced on the Pacific Highway side and there was some degree of traffic noise but not to the point where it affected sleep. Those bothered by noise might want ask for a room on the opposite side of the building. The reception desk was variable - check in was less than hospitable but the check out was the complete opposite - lovely young lady.

Overall, this was the best value for money of the places we shave stayed at in the course of a short winter break and the breakfast far exceeded a number of far more expensive facilities we stayed at.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I know that we already followed up with you from your survey with Best Western, but I wanted to tell you again how much we appreciate the feedback which gives us the ability to focus on constant improvement. You were right in your observations about the condition of the Marina Shores Hotel. We underwent a $1.5 million renovation last year and are working hard to keep the hotel as pristine as it was when we had our ribbon cutting ceremony so many months ago. Our goal is to provide our guests with comfort and cleanliness at a very affordable price. I'm glad you feel we are meeting that goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean, fresh looking, large suites, nice bathroom and showers. It's beautiful. The best part is the price. Breakfast...it's ok. McDonald's across the street if you want something quick. Very comfortable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Marina Shores Hotel and recognized the value when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dana Point Harbor, Doheny Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes to Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with Jacuzzi tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from the Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach, known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.