We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay in the Heart of Dana Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Great Stay in the Heart of Dana Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed here three times, and intend to stay here when we need a hotel in Dana Point. (We just purchased a house here, so after March 1 we are unlikely to need a hotel, so my "very likely" rating reflects the probability that we will direct our visitors from the East Coast here). We will also recommend it to family and friends. Dana Point is beautiful, and the hotel is conveniently located. There is a great breakfast restaurant across the street, and plenty of delicious dining in Dana Point. We had one minor glitch this time. We were in Dana Point for our anniversary, and to inspect the house we purchased. The first room assigned smelled of tobacco smoke. The desk clerk immediately moved us to a clean room with a large Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Congratulations on buying your home here in Dana Point ... it is truly and incredible place to live and work. While we're sorry to "lose" you as a customer, I can't think of any better circumstances to have it happen ... and of course, our sincerest appreciation for your desire to recommend us to your family and friends when they come to visit in south Orange County.

Please accept my apologies for the smell of tobacco smoke in your room. Even though we are a 100% smoke free hotel, not all our customers abide by the rules. We have special equipment to disinfect and deoderize a guest room on the rare occassion that someone does smoke in the room, but nothing beats opening up the windows and letting the fresh air take care of the problem ... sadly, even in southern California, it still gets pretty cold in January, so that wasn't an option.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome to the neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    56
    28
    2
    0
See reviews for
96
62
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed ten days through Christmas and New Year holidays. The location is great for us to be near our family. The room was comfortable and very clean. We normally rent a small condo or house for our visits but recently had a bad experience with cleanliness in a local condo and did not want to deal with that on this trip. We were not disappointed. Housekeeping did a great job every day. If we had to name one area for improvement, it would be breakfast. Get rid of the pancake machine. It caused traffic jams and extra work for the employees. Provide an easy/cheap oatmeal option...instant or already cooked. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Donna,

We're glad to hear that the Marina Shores was a great part of your holiday experience and hope you'll remember us when you return for family visits to Dana Point. I'm sorry about your issues with our breakfast, but if you let me know the next time you're coming, I'll make sure we have a supply of oatmeal just for you ;-) The pancake machine won't be going anywhere anytime soon. The traffic jam is a tribute to its popularity.

I'll make sure to pass on your praises to our housekeeping staff. It's always wonderful to know their extra efforts are noticed.

Hope you and your family have a wonderful new year too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family planned a quick getaway for New Years to Dana Point or so we though, actually I forgot to make the reservation! After finding out the hotel we normally stay at was booked I started looking around and found this hotel. We’ve seen this location before but always remembered it as a Holiday Inn Express. Happily my search found rooms available so our trip was saved!
When we arrived the first thing we noticed was how clean the exterior of property was. The parking area was a little cramped but manageable. The receptionist was very pleasant and attentive, within minutes we had our room keys.
The room was nicely appointed with 2 LCD TV’s, a setting area, two very comfortable queen beds; it was nice to find a small refrigerator for guest use. The room was quiet with very little road or adjoining room noise. A full hot breakfast is offered, the area is very small for the number of people trying to eat as well as they were always out of food so people were standing around waiting to be the first for the next pans of food. We opted to pass on the food so we can’t offer any comments on the quality but one could surmise since there was a line it must have been good food.
There is a pool and small work out facility located on the end of the building, no hot tub.

My only minus is the fee for parking, at $10/night it's not a deal breaker but it is self park.

Overall this location is perfect for a family or couple wanting a reasonable location to stay in Dana Pont. We will be back and this may just be our regular hotel when we visit the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Doug,

I'm glad your search for a last minute New Years getaway brought you to our doors and even happier that you're now considering the Marina Shores Hotel as your "go-to" location when you return to Dana Point. Our resolution for 2013 is to stop being the best kept secret on the beach and become the best known value ... and letters like yours really drive the point home to all Trip Advisor shoppers.

Thanks again for the kind words and please accept our best wishes for a wonderful new year to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This renovated Best Western has lovely rooms with whirlpool tubs, comfortable beds and free Wifi. A hot breakfast is also included. I found the front, facing PCH a bit noisy and the bright lights outside weren't quite blocked by the blackout curtain but the location in Dana Point really can't be beat. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and staff were very pleasant. If you are partially disabled, though, you won't be able to get into the very large, deep tub (I couldn't) and so request a disabled room with shower. The hotel was very good value for money, especially with the three night stay internet and manager's discounts added in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Marilyn,

In this day and age, isn't it great to find something you can still call a "good value"? We're really glad you enjoyed your time with us and truly appreciate your using Trip Advisor to spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I wanted to do an overnight get away and didn't know anything about this area so after a quick search I found this place.
It was inexpensive and in a very good location, close to the beach and marina and just a stones throw away from Laguna Beach. Restaurants are everywhere around it and an easy walk to get to. Or just a short hop in the car.
The hotel looks like it has recently been re-done so everything was nice and new looking.
I was in a suite and it was very nice. The bedroom was in the back with a desk/work station and comfy bed, and a balcony with a chair.
The room out front was the living room area that doubled as a second bedroom with the sofa bed. Both rooms had televisions and a door that could be closed between them. There also was a mini-fridge. The wireless internet worked like a charm.
The room was very clean and there were more than enough towels.
Breakfast was a bit more than the normal "free continental" that is usually offered. There were eggs, bacon, potatoes, the usual pastries and bread, fruit, cereal and a pancake machine to make fresh pancakes.
I did have a problem with this hotel in that during the middle of the night someone checking in had been given keys to my room so I was woken up to the noise of the door unlocking and trying to be opened. I immediately called the front desk to alert them and was told it was just clerical error. But in the morning while checking out an apology was given and they took a bit off my bill for the inconvenience.
But even with that I would not hesitate to stay here again, and will the next time I need to have a little get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Glad you enjoyed your getaway at the Marina Shores Hotel. We are just introducing a fantastic new package deal that includes the room, a bottle of chilled champagne when you check in, dinner for two at one of the areal restaurants and a wine tasting tour at a local winery. The next time you want to get away from it all, just give us a call for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.