We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dana Point Get Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dana Point Get Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family planned a quick getaway for New Years to Dana Point or so we though, actually I forgot to make the reservation! After finding out the hotel we normally stay at was booked I started looking around and found this hotel. We’ve seen this location before but always remembered it as a Holiday Inn Express. Happily my search found rooms available so our trip was saved!
When we arrived the first thing we noticed was how clean the exterior of property was. The parking area was a little cramped but manageable. The receptionist was very pleasant and attentive, within minutes we had our room keys.
The room was nicely appointed with 2 LCD TV’s, a setting area, two very comfortable queen beds; it was nice to find a small refrigerator for guest use. The room was quiet with very little road or adjoining room noise. A full hot breakfast is offered, the area is very small for the number of people trying to eat as well as they were always out of food so people were standing around waiting to be the first for the next pans of food. We opted to pass on the food so we can’t offer any comments on the quality but one could surmise since there was a line it must have been good food.
There is a pool and small work out facility located on the end of the building, no hot tub.

My only minus is the fee for parking, at $10/night it's not a deal breaker but it is self park.

Overall this location is perfect for a family or couple wanting a reasonable location to stay in Dana Pont. We will be back and this may just be our regular hotel when we visit the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug5702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Doug,

I'm glad your search for a last minute New Years getaway brought you to our doors and even happier that you're now considering the Marina Shores Hotel as your "go-to" location when you return to Dana Point. Our resolution for 2013 is to stop being the best kept secret on the beach and become the best known value ... and letters like yours really drive the point home to all Trip Advisor shoppers.

Thanks again for the kind words and please accept our best wishes for a wonderful new year to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This renovated Best Western has lovely rooms with whirlpool tubs, comfortable beds and free Wifi. A hot breakfast is also included. I found the front, facing PCH a bit noisy and the bright lights outside weren't quite blocked by the blackout curtain but the location in Dana Point really can't be beat. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and staff were very pleasant. If you are partially disabled, though, you won't be able to get into the very large, deep tub (I couldn't) and so request a disabled room with shower. The hotel was very good value for money, especially with the three night stay internet and manager's discounts added in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Marilyn,

In this day and age, isn't it great to find something you can still call a "good value"? We're really glad you enjoyed your time with us and truly appreciate your using Trip Advisor to spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I wanted to do an overnight get away and didn't know anything about this area so after a quick search I found this place.
It was inexpensive and in a very good location, close to the beach and marina and just a stones throw away from Laguna Beach. Restaurants are everywhere around it and an easy walk to get to. Or just a short hop in the car.
The hotel looks like it has recently been re-done so everything was nice and new looking.
I was in a suite and it was very nice. The bedroom was in the back with a desk/work station and comfy bed, and a balcony with a chair.
The room out front was the living room area that doubled as a second bedroom with the sofa bed. Both rooms had televisions and a door that could be closed between them. There also was a mini-fridge. The wireless internet worked like a charm.
The room was very clean and there were more than enough towels.
Breakfast was a bit more than the normal "free continental" that is usually offered. There were eggs, bacon, potatoes, the usual pastries and bread, fruit, cereal and a pancake machine to make fresh pancakes.
I did have a problem with this hotel in that during the middle of the night someone checking in had been given keys to my room so I was woken up to the noise of the door unlocking and trying to be opened. I immediately called the front desk to alert them and was told it was just clerical error. But in the morning while checking out an apology was given and they took a bit off my bill for the inconvenience.
But even with that I would not hesitate to stay here again, and will the next time I need to have a little get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie92284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Glad you enjoyed your getaway at the Marina Shores Hotel. We are just introducing a fantastic new package deal that includes the room, a bottle of chilled champagne when you check in, dinner for two at one of the areal restaurants and a wine tasting tour at a local winery. The next time you want to get away from it all, just give us a call for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We didn't have high expectations for this place but were incredibly surprised. The room was lovely, well appointed, and had a gorgeous jacuzzi tub with bath salts provided. There was also a tv to watch while in the tub. A refrigerator in the room, with a large screen tv completed the surprise. Breakfast was fine and free, along with a coffee pot in the room for late night beverages.I would return anytime to this hotel. It was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Florence,

Thank you for the great review. Hopefully the next time you stay with us you WILL have high expectations. :-)

Glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We got to the hotel around noon and were allowed to check in early without a problem. Our large dog was able to stay with us for a small and VERY reasonable fee. The staff was friendly but not so friendly as to be a nuisance, and there was a convenient side entrance that allowed us to come and go without awkward interactions with the front desk every time. The room was clean and spacious. All in all, this was exactly what we have come to expect from Best Western Hotels...a guaranteed comfortable stay for a decent price in a convenient area.

Room Tip: Get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sarah,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you back with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very nicely remodeled/first class accomodations! Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Karen Mitchell was most helpful with suggestions for local attractions and added a lot to our stay!! She was very knowledgable and passionate about her position and wanting to insure that you had the best experience possible! Breakfast was very good and a nice selection of foods/fruits. Rooms/beds comfortable and a nice view of the ocean. A great value!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and we are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Karen will be happy to hear that her help really enhanced your experience. Dana Point has alot to offer for entertainment and dining ... we're so glad to be a part of this wonderful community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#7 of 13 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.1 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#6 of 13 in Dana Point
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel - Dana Point Harbor - Doheny State Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes from Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with whirlpool tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have jetted tubs with showers. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach. Our area is known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point Harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing