We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Desert Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Location and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This renovated Best Western has lovely rooms with whirlpool tubs, comfortable beds and free Wifi. A hot breakfast is also included. I found the front, facing PCH a bit noisy and the bright lights outside weren't quite blocked by the blackout curtain but the location in Dana Point really can't be beat. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and staff were very pleasant. If you are partially disabled, though, you won't be able to get into the very large, deep tub (I couldn't) and so request a disabled room with shower. The hotel was very good value for money, especially with the three night stay internet and manager's discounts added in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Marilyn,

In this day and age, isn't it great to find something you can still call a "good value"? We're really glad you enjoyed your time with us and truly appreciate your using Trip Advisor to spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    44
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
45
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yucca Valley, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I wanted to do an overnight get away and didn't know anything about this area so after a quick search I found this place.
It was inexpensive and in a very good location, close to the beach and marina and just a stones throw away from Laguna Beach. Restaurants are everywhere around it and an easy walk to get to. Or just a short hop in the car.
The hotel looks like it has recently been re-done so everything was nice and new looking.
I was in a suite and it was very nice. The bedroom was in the back with a desk/work station and comfy bed, and a balcony with a chair.
The room out front was the living room area that doubled as a second bedroom with the sofa bed. Both rooms had televisions and a door that could be closed between them. There also was a mini-fridge. The wireless internet worked like a charm.
The room was very clean and there were more than enough towels.
Breakfast was a bit more than the normal "free continental" that is usually offered. There were eggs, bacon, potatoes, the usual pastries and bread, fruit, cereal and a pancake machine to make fresh pancakes.
I did have a problem with this hotel in that during the middle of the night someone checking in had been given keys to my room so I was woken up to the noise of the door unlocking and trying to be opened. I immediately called the front desk to alert them and was told it was just clerical error. But in the morning while checking out an apology was given and they took a bit off my bill for the inconvenience.
But even with that I would not hesitate to stay here again, and will the next time I need to have a little get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Glad you enjoyed your getaway at the Marina Shores Hotel. We are just introducing a fantastic new package deal that includes the room, a bottle of chilled champagne when you check in, dinner for two at one of the areal restaurants and a wine tasting tour at a local winery. The next time you want to get away from it all, just give us a call for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We didn't have high expectations for this place but were incredibly surprised. The room was lovely, well appointed, and had a gorgeous jacuzzi tub with bath salts provided. There was also a tv to watch while in the tub. A refrigerator in the room, with a large screen tv completed the surprise. Breakfast was fine and free, along with a coffee pot in the room for late night beverages.I would return anytime to this hotel. It was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Florence,

Thank you for the great review. Hopefully the next time you stay with us you WILL have high expectations. :-)

Glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We got to the hotel around noon and were allowed to check in early without a problem. Our large dog was able to stay with us for a small and VERY reasonable fee. The staff was friendly but not so friendly as to be a nuisance, and there was a convenient side entrance that allowed us to come and go without awkward interactions with the front desk every time. The room was clean and spacious. All in all, this was exactly what we have come to expect from Best Western Hotels...a guaranteed comfortable stay for a decent price in a convenient area.

Room Tip: Get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sarah,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you back with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very nicely remodeled/first class accomodations! Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Karen Mitchell was most helpful with suggestions for local attractions and added a lot to our stay!! She was very knowledgable and passionate about her position and wanting to insure that you had the best experience possible! Breakfast was very good and a nice selection of foods/fruits. Rooms/beds comfortable and a nice view of the ocean. A great value!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and we are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Karen will be happy to hear that her help really enhanced your experience. Dana Point has alot to offer for entertainment and dining ... we're so glad to be a part of this wonderful community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Arrived mid evening just as it was raining.. The Receptionist was very chatty and pleasant. The room was nice and was clean.
Later in the evening there was some shouting down the corridor and sounded like high spirits. Probably watching a game on TV.
About midnight we had a call from reception advising that one of the car windows was part open and rain might be getting in. Went to the car park with the Receptionist and met the Security Guard. Thanked them for preventing what could have been a wet car seat.
The people in the next room arrived late, about 1:30 am and did not settle down to sleep until about 3:30. The walls did not prevent the noise penetrating our room.
Breakfast was sparse and in a small room.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but the accommodation was lacking and expensive to other Best Western Hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I'm glad we were able to save you waking up in the morning to a soaked car seat, but am very sorry to hear about the noise from your neighbors. Our security staff keeps a constant vigil on the property, so I am concerned that it took two hours to quiet them down. Wedding groups often come back from their receptions very late at night and want to continue their celebrations here. Our belief is that all guests deserve comfort and quiet, so I am extremely disappointed that it took that long to get the latecomers to settle in.

Please accept my apologies for your less than stellar stay, but I do appreciate your comments and will discuss with the security stay so it won't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dana Point Harbor, Doheny Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes to Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with Jacuzzi tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from the Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach, known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.