We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    47
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
48
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We didn't have high expectations for this place but were incredibly surprised. The room was lovely, well appointed, and had a gorgeous jacuzzi tub with bath salts provided. There was also a tv to watch while in the tub. A refrigerator in the room, with a large screen tv completed the surprise. Breakfast was fine and free, along with a coffee pot in the room for late night beverages.I would return anytime to this hotel. It was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Florence,

Thank you for the great review. Hopefully the next time you stay with us you WILL have high expectations. :-)

Glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We got to the hotel around noon and were allowed to check in early without a problem. Our large dog was able to stay with us for a small and VERY reasonable fee. The staff was friendly but not so friendly as to be a nuisance, and there was a convenient side entrance that allowed us to come and go without awkward interactions with the front desk every time. The room was clean and spacious. All in all, this was exactly what we have come to expect from Best Western Hotels...a guaranteed comfortable stay for a decent price in a convenient area.

Room Tip: Get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Sarah,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for the great review and we hope to see you back with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very nicely remodeled/first class accomodations! Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Karen Mitchell was most helpful with suggestions for local attractions and added a lot to our stay!! She was very knowledgable and passionate about her position and wanting to insure that you had the best experience possible! Breakfast was very good and a nice selection of foods/fruits. Rooms/beds comfortable and a nice view of the ocean. A great value!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and we are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Karen will be happy to hear that her help really enhanced your experience. Dana Point has alot to offer for entertainment and dining ... we're so glad to be a part of this wonderful community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Arrived mid evening just as it was raining.. The Receptionist was very chatty and pleasant. The room was nice and was clean.
Later in the evening there was some shouting down the corridor and sounded like high spirits. Probably watching a game on TV.
About midnight we had a call from reception advising that one of the car windows was part open and rain might be getting in. Went to the car park with the Receptionist and met the Security Guard. Thanked them for preventing what could have been a wet car seat.
The people in the next room arrived late, about 1:30 am and did not settle down to sleep until about 3:30. The walls did not prevent the noise penetrating our room.
Breakfast was sparse and in a small room.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but the accommodation was lacking and expensive to other Best Western Hotels that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I'm glad we were able to save you waking up in the morning to a soaked car seat, but am very sorry to hear about the noise from your neighbors. Our security staff keeps a constant vigil on the property, so I am concerned that it took two hours to quiet them down. Wedding groups often come back from their receptions very late at night and want to continue their celebrations here. Our belief is that all guests deserve comfort and quiet, so I am extremely disappointed that it took that long to get the latecomers to settle in.

Please accept my apologies for your less than stellar stay, but I do appreciate your comments and will discuss with the security stay so it won't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, Ca.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I needed several rooms for a family reunion this past Sept. All were very pleased with the location and service. Thank you Karen (Sales Director) for your superior service in making this happen!
The property is close to all the major attractions Dana Point has to offer. Harbor, dining, San Juan Mission, shopping and easy freeway access. The hotel is newly redecorated and the rooms are very clean and spacious. I recommend this property to all that are in search of a comfortable, friendly, just like home hotel.



.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room with jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the reunion was an event that brought everyone in your family even closer. It's great that we were able to take care of everyone and I will pass on your kind words to Karen. Naming us as "THE place to stay in Dana Point" is about the highest compliment we could ever be paid. Thank you so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on October 18. Last time I was in this area, this hotel was a Holiday Inn Express. It's now a Best Western hotel. I had a little trouble finding it on line, because I was looking for Holiday Inn Express! However, the hotel was much nicer than my last visit just over a year ago. Best Western has remodeled the rooms with new furniture and very comfortable beds. The room was spotless! The hotel still offers a free eggs and bacon breakfast in the morning. The front desk lady, (Lisette?) was very nice and helpful and helped me sign up for the Best Western Rewards program and was even able to initiate my membership at a higher level than normal because of my Platinum level in the Holiday Inn points program. That was nice. I recommend this hotel, but look it up as a Best Western, not Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: They have great suites with separate living room, bedroom, and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and our staff. Lizette was thrilled to know you remembered her. We are all very proud of the great remodel we have to offer and are just as proud of our new association with Best Western.

The "Status Match ... No Catch" perk of Best Western Rewards, the one that brought you in as a Platinum member because you were already at that level with Holiday Inn, is just one of the many wows Best Western offers their guests. Welcome to our family and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel

Address: 34280 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dana Point Harbor, Doheny Beach. Conveniently located on Pacific Coast Highway and minutes to Laguna Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano, Camp Pendleton, the Ritz Carlton, St. Regis, and the Montage Resort and Spa. Our AAA rated hotel features 34 comfortable two-room suites with partial ocean views from their balcony and 8 spacious king suites with Jacuzzi tubs for two. All rooms (with the exception of ADA Rooms) have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms have two phones with voice mail; one with speaker. We are conveniently located 1 block from the Dana Point Harbor and Doheny State Beach, known for its fine beaches, recreational activities, specialty shops, restaurants and fine art galleries. Whale watching excursions are offered in Dana Point harbor during the California Gray Whale migration. The hotel is located just two miles from both San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente, four miles from Laguna Beach. Weekly rates available based on a 7 night stay. Contact the hotel directly for details and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dana Point Harbor - Doheny Beach Hotel Dana Point
Holiday Inn Dana Point
Dana Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.