We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summary of my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Las Vegas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Summary of my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Guest services was professional and met the Hilton standard. A small but clean hotel conveniently located by the beach and other restaurants in that small community. A nice little outdoor/indoor lounge at the tip of the hotel with a nice view of the ocean. I found it relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DohenyBeachGM, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Steven,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. I have shared your kind comments with the team members as I visited their areas this week. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Richard Uribe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    205
    183
    108
    68
See reviews for
218
212
36
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, NV, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

You had to pay to park in their underground parking garage. You also had to pay daily for the internet in your room. Unlike other Double Tree hotels which include these in the price of the room. As a Hilton Honor rewards members I think these should be included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DohenyBeachGM, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your feedback about some of our charges, we try hard at making these fees known ahead of time thru our website as well as thru those of our booking partners. Internet fees are a brand standard, some Hilton Honors members do receive it complimentary as a benefit based on status. Please feel free to reach out to me with your HH number and I'll be happy to look it up and credit accordingly. Thank you very much for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon as a valued member of Hilton Honors.

Kind Regards,

Richard Uribe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Reviewers
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Ok, you can't find a better location for a reasonably priced hotel anywhere on the So Cal beaches. It's basically right across the street! Yeah, it can be tricky to get to. Yeah, they charge $22 a day for parking. But come on- most of the rooms face the ocean! It's a little outdated- definitely needs some sprucing up. The room colors and furniture are a dated, some of the furniture is stained, but the room we were in was fairly large and had a double glass door that closed completely between the sitting room (with pull out couch) and the bedroom. The cleaning staff probably needs better training as we had some 'uh hunh' moments there. AC and bathroom fan are noisy. The bathroom is absolutely miniscule!!!!! The public areas, including pool and jacuzzi, are spotless, although both are quite small. The desk staff is very friendly and accommodated every request politely and quickly. Plus you get tasty chocolate chip cookies every day just for the asking! There is a roof top seating area with a bar and music on the weekends. Just right - relax with a drink, listening to good music, while watching the waves. And if you like your dogs- bring them along. Pet friendly hotel! We'd stay here again - but we wouldn't expect Hilton quality.

Room Tip: Check your room for cleanliness before moving in. Suites are better if you can get one. ASK for ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DohenyBeachGM, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello. I sincerely appreciate you taking time out of your day to share your review. I will be reviewing your valuable feedback with our Director of Housekeeping so that we can pay closer attention to detail as well as recognize the team members that oversee the public space and pool. Thank you! We are scheduled to begin a full renovation in the fall, we all are excited about it and look forward to have our product refreshed. I hope we have it all completed by the time you visit us again. Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Best Regards,

Richard Uribe
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l.a.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked here to attend the Doheny Surf Fest (my brother's Fisher Boards was a vendor) and a voiceover live podcast in Irvine. I arrived early and was informed that I would not be able to check in early. I returned at 3 pm to check in and was told the room was not ready. An HOUR AND A HALF later the only option to get a shower and make it to Irvine on time was to take a smoking room. I reserved non. I was between a rock and a hard place and took the room. There was no toilet paper and only a handful of tissues. Most of which had been stuffed in the AC vent centered high on the wall directly over the head of the bed. I jumped up to take them out and discovered they were damp with a brown liquid, likely nicotine stains on the vent but who knows. Disgusting. There were brochures that were stained having obviously been used as a placemat and or coaster for food and beverages. A toothpaste cap was under the table in the main room. The remote had something sticky on it. The room itself was well worn to the point of grungy. It was also a ground floor room with sliding glass doors leading to a parking circle on the side of the hotel? Left me feeling not very safe or secure. When I returned that evening there was construction going on 25 yards away until 3, 4 am with an earth mover back up signal blaring almost constantly. Hotel noise next door and from the room above was quite loud as well with slamming doors well into the late night hours. I was told that I would be getting a rate reduction but it wasn't reflected on the receipt they slip under the door. I had to call when I returned home but they without hesitation gave me a 50% reduction on the very high, for the lack of amenities and services, rate. I know that most of the oceanside hotels in socal are well worn for obvious reasons but this took the proverbial cake! Live and learn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DohenyBeachGM, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Greetings. Thank you very much for your review, your feedback is important, appreciated and valuable. I have shared your candid comments with the members of the management team so that the proper practices are put in place in an effort to improve as we move forward. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I truly hope you give us an opportunity to better serve you next time you visit Dana Point, thank you very much for your participation.

Richard Uribe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MC CALLA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was there from June 3,2014 to June 24,2014. the wonderful hotel staff was really the only reason I stayed this time. I was not given a very good room so did not really enjoy staying there like I did in times past.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DohenyBeachGM, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thank you very much for sharing your review and for the recognition of our wonderful team members. I have shared with them as I visited their areas, thank you! Your loyalty and complete satisfaction are both very important to us all here. Please send me a quick note once your next reservation is made so that we can look at different room options for your stay. Thank you very much for the opportunity, I look forward to being of assistance and service to you.

Warm Regards,

Richard Uribe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

1. There was an angry man at the check-in desk when I arrived (angry because he had to pay for his internet even though he had status with hotel) so ALL the front desk people were focused on him rather than helping others (including me) who were waiting to check in.
2. I actually had to ask if I had remembered to give them my Hilton Honors number because Hilton always thanks me upon arrival. Her only response was, "Yes."
3. She handed me cookies which were quite burnt (actually black on the bottom).
4. I asked if I had a nice room with any sort of view. She said, "Yes." I did have a nice room with a view of the PCH, train tracks and parking lot.
5. Neither of my keys worked so I had to haul all of my luggage back down on the world's slowest elevator to get two more keys.
6. I was put in a room next to someone who must have been traveling with a large group of friends/family because young boys kept POUNDING on MY door at all hours of the night thinking it was the next door neighbor's door!
7. There was 1, yes 1, garbage in the entire suite which was in the bathroom. None in the living room where the kitchen/coffee area was, none in the bedroom area.

This is certainly not the type of service I usually receive from Hilton hotels. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DohenyBeachGM, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you very much for your review. I am truly sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your most recent stay with us. I have shared your valuable feedback with the managers responsible for the areas mentioned, we will work together on improving so that we can better serve you next time you visit our hotel. Thank you for staying with us and for your loyalty to Hilton Honors, we appreciate your status.

Warm Regards,

Richard Uribe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights for a work function, I live local so I know the area well. I am a Hilton Honors club member but that was hardly recognized at this hotel. The location is nice as it is close to the beach but that is where it ends. The rooms are dated although they appear to have been remolded. The bathroom is the smallest you have ever seen with no room to but anything anywhere, I was afraid my tooth brush was going to fall in the toilet. I asked for a room change but I was told they are all the same. Someone called after I checked in to ask me how the room was and I voiced my displeasure, she offered two drink coupons, 1 each for my wife and I. When I got to the bar during happy hour I was told the coupon was only good for a domestic beer or glass of wine, boy did that make me feel better. The staff is not very friendly and the management was week. I wouldn't recommend unless you don't have a better choice. Our company will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel as I was informed all rooms are the same by two different front desk employees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DohenyBeachGM, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Chris,

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of your guestroom and we’re sorry you were disappointed with the bathroom. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We are in the planning stage of our upcoming renovation this year, I hope to welcome you back once we complete it. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time. Your Hilton Honors Status is appreciated very much by us all here at the Doubletree Doheny Beach! Thank you for your review.

Best Regards,

Richard Uribe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.