We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit worn and torn - probably the worst Hilton in the USA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40 Nights of Lights
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit worn and torn - probably the worst Hilton in the USA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The suite hotel is not up to Hilton's standards. Its worn and torn - and painted in a horrible blue and yellow. Made reservation in advance asking for sofa bed to made up (it wasn't). Breakfast was a disaster. Lack of host in restaurant in the morning, scrambled eggs like rubber, bacon like sinders and very fatty sausages. Basically, I now know why America is an obesity epidemic. I think housekeeping was a bit under resourced as they kept forgetting to leave things in the bedroom i.e, clean towels. Anyway, staff helpful but Hilton should just close the hotel. Would not recommend a repeat visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We do apologize if your stay was not up to your standards and we invite you to write to us at SNAPE_DT_Guest@hilton.com for further details. We are always working on ways to improve and use your comments to help better us in the future, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    195
    169
    105
    61
See reviews for
202
198
31
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here and would definitely stay again. We have spent a lot of time in Dana Point and at Doheny Beach, mostly camping. The location of this property is just across the street from the state park, with a crosswalk even. Across the street and over the bridge will get you to the picnic grounds and the park where you can access the beach, maybe a 5 minute walk. Another few minutes to the restaurants, Jack's Surf Shop, etc. The hotel itself was good but dated. Especially since the first night they upgraded us to a room with a hot tub and a balcony because of some confusion on my end. Nice staff. The rooms are a bit dated, including the fixtures and plumbing, but they are renovating as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view for added enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were updated to one of our larger more spacious Riviera Suites. Thank you again for your review and we hope you return back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel location is great. The rooms were suitable enough to accommodate 5 people. Love the cookies. Unfortunately, when the days are extrememly hot the hallways become really muggy and uncomfortable. The A/C units run on sensors so if you are not in the room they don't keep things cool enough and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and hotel location. We have been experiencing a small heat wave in the area so we do apologize if the hallways and your room were not quite the temperature you had wanted. We thank you again for you review hope you will try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I wanted to treat my husband to a nice romantic night out near the beach and when we pulled up to the hotel it was not at all what I expected. 1. The room had flying bugs (gnat) in it. 2. Their was a door separating the other room, not romantic at all. When we asked to switch rooms the hotel was full with no room to negotiate. We made the best of it but next time I will think twice about staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel with your husband. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you two down. I will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we're always working to improve our overall guest experience. I thank you for your review and I really hope you'll give us a second chance if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Facility is older but fairly well maintained. Bathroom facilities look good but are really not functional/user friendly. Air conditioning was marginal at best. Access to the beach was very poor. All the service people were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking to the time to review your past stay with us. We are pleased to hear that our friendly staff was able to accommodate your needs. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice that we could walk to the beach across the street. The room was big and comfortable, although the fridge took a long time to cool down. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful on how to get to place. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on.

Room Tip: Ask that your room not be by the room where they keep the housekeeping equipment. We hear them in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you took advantage of our close proximity to Doheny State Beach. We are also pleased to hear that our friendly staff was able to point you in the right direction for your dining needs. We truly hope if you are in the area again, that you will stay once again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lots of competition in the area but the value and rooftop view of this hotel is great. Staff is always very friendly and for an older property the facility is well maintained. The restaurant is pretty simple but the food is always very good. I like the fact the the hotel is very consistent. Great Places where I can hide outside and smoke my cigars without disturbing or offending anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that our friendly staff and property keep you coming back. We can’t wait to have you come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.