We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay Package
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Fresno, California
1 review
“Great wedding weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went to attend my nieces wedding and had a great time at both the hotel and the city as a whole. The hotel staff was great and as friendly as could be. I would definitely stay here again any time of year. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything that we had to offer! We truly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    169
    142
    91
    49
See reviews for
164
158
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great views of the ocean and beaches. Close to beaches and great dining. Upstairs bar and lounge was great. Friendly staff. All around great weekend for families or couples. We could take this trip again in an instant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us and we love to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall was pleased with the property. The price was very reasonable. The rooms were okay, the bathroom was extremely small, the pedestal sink was positioned so you got wet every time you used it. The bar sink in the second room smelled foul when used. Other than that, the roof top bar had an awesome staff and great food. The valet was always super friendly and the hotel restaurant was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we do apologize if your sleeping room was not up to your standards. We are in the beginning stages of planning a renovation (including the bathrooms) in the upcoming year. We do invite you to email us at SNAPE_DT_Guest@hilton.com with any additional concerns. Again thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We only spent one night at this Hotel ,while sightseeing on our way to San Diego , It was a very nice and clean hotel,with all of the comforts of home, it also had a really nice lounge on the rooftop with a veiw of the beach! patio heaters for after dark and really good food and drinks. The next morning there was a really good breakfast buffet,all said it was a very nice place and a good value,I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again,and I highly recomend it to anyone traveling that way in the future!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with an ocean veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our rooftop lounge and from the looks of your picture you had a great view! We truly hope that you will stay with us again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Great Value, excellent location. Staff is competent, friendly and eager to take care of details. Room is clean and comfortable. Amenities are acceptable for the value. View and location are great......

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We truly hope that if you find yourself in the area again that you will stay with us, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is overall nice but I have two complaints. The first and biggest complaint is that the hotel bathrooms are way to small. One person can barely fit in it, and then the sink/vanity is only a bowl that sits on a pedestal like basin. There is no, repeat no, counter space to set any of your toiletries on. We were a family of three adults, staying there for a wedding and the bathroom situation was unacceptable for this price range hotel. The rest of the room was large, king size bed with separate room with pull out sleeper sofa, but the bathroom was unacceptable. We had to literally swap out our toiletries when we where gone getting ready so the next person could bring their toiletries into the bathroom. No where to store them, no where to set them up. None!!!

We got a room on the side of the hotel that has a fairly major street running by it. We had a balcony that overlooked the street and when you opened the sliding glass door, you hear all of the noise from the street. My suggestion, if you stay here, is to ask for a room on the backside of the hotel, away from the major street.

I probably would have given this hotel a higher rating if it wasn't for the extremely small bathroom size….and I am talking about the sink/vanity.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the backside of the hotel, away from the main street.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your trip for a wedding. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the size of your guest room but regret the bathroom was lacking the amenities and space you needed. Your feedback regarding this will help us to improve during any updates in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Man, those Hawaiian sliders are super good! Can't beat the sweet roll, cheese, and angus beef. The staff is always super friendly, from the valet, the front desk, the servers and cooks! Really close to the beach and awesome view! The drinks are great! I recommend this to all friends and family

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and are glad to hear that you enjoyed our new menu! Our new Executive Chef, Adam has really created some unique and tasty food. We hope that if you are ever in the area again, that you will be our guest again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.