We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“QUITE NICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

delicious cookies...friendly staff....clean room....coffee

there was nothing spectacular about the hotel, however we very much enjoyed our stay.

the hotel is not in a great location...difficult to get to from freeways

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    205
    183
    108
    66
See reviews for
217
211
36
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This trip was for our 22nd anniversary. The hotel is in a nice location across from Doheny State Beach. We arrived early and everything was ready for us. The 2 room suites are nice. The bedroom is european size and the living room in nice with a wet bar and fridge. All the staff that we came in contact with were very friendly and always had a simles on their faces. After we checked in we went for a walk along the beach over to Dana Point Harbor and back. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and get an ocean view room. 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself while you were here and were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the Dana Point Harbor. We truly hope to see you again soon, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Recently, my wife had our second child and our life, needless to say, has been crazy. We stayed at the Double Tree Suites and were provided with everything we needed in order to relax. They allowed us an early check in and provided two pack in plays when we arrived. This allowed our oldest to get a nap. Since the rooms are suites, we were able to still enjoy our afternoon. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Plus, what a beautiful location!

Room Tip: Just call ahead and speak with the staff, they're great and will help make your stay fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your entire family was able to enjoy themselves while they were here. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The check in process was quick and efficient. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is a lounge on the 4th floor with a spectacular ocean view. I took a long run through the state park and out around the Dana Point Harbor. That is one of the best places I have found in the US to run or walk in the morning and watch the sun come up. Lots of pelicans and I even saw a dolphin. Breathtaking. The location is convenient to either LA or San Diego. 60 min from LAX on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself up on Vivo, our rooftop bar & lounge. We are also excited to hear that you had such a wonderful time taking advantage of our close proximity to Dana Point Harbor. We truly hope that if you find yourself in the area again, that you will come and stay with us. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff was very friendly. Both rooms had problems. The first room had a loud knocking a/c unit which caused us to move to another room that unfortunately had a slow drain in the shower and a noisy a/c unit as well. The room had a musty smell which was in both rooms. The hotel was not on the beach and not a close walk. The parking fee was charged even if you parked your own car. Nothing was close wether you wanted shopping or food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We apologize for the inconvenience of moving rooms but are glad you found our staff to be helpful. Your review will help us correct similar issues in the future. We hope that the next time you’re in the area, you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable weekend here. Let me just say the reviews ripping the staff had to come from people who are just angry. We found everyone from Cody at the front desk, John the Manager, the restaurant team, to the housekeepers very friendly and helpful. We did experience one small issue that was taken care of immediately once we brought it to their attention.

Some of the reviews about the decor and age of the furnishings are true. The room we stayed in was beginning to show its age and the doors are inconvenient. The the location more than made up for it. We walked everywhere without a problem. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay. I will definitely pass along your compliments to Kody & to Jon about what great service they provided to you during your stay! The hotel has a planned renovation in 2014 and are looking forward to the new look and feel of the hotel. We truly hope to see you soon, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Great staff and very nice rooms! The kids had a wonderful time. We will get back here as soon as we can. We love the cookies and love the unique aspects of this fun hotel. I wish all rooms had a door separating us from the kids like this one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your past stay with us. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to assist with any of your needs. We truly hope that if you do find you and your family in the area again, that you will be our guests once again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.