We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A needed break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay Package
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A needed break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Recently, my wife had our second child and our life, needless to say, has been crazy. We stayed at the Double Tree Suites and were provided with everything we needed in order to relax. They allowed us an early check in and provided two pack in plays when we arrived. This allowed our oldest to get a nap. Since the rooms are suites, we were able to still enjoy our afternoon. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Plus, what a beautiful location!

Room Tip: Just call ahead and speak with the staff, they're great and will help make your stay fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your entire family was able to enjoy themselves while they were here. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    175
    149
    93
    54
See reviews for
182
163
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The check in process was quick and efficient. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is a lounge on the 4th floor with a spectacular ocean view. I took a long run through the state park and out around the Dana Point Harbor. That is one of the best places I have found in the US to run or walk in the morning and watch the sun come up. Lots of pelicans and I even saw a dolphin. Breathtaking. The location is convenient to either LA or San Diego. 60 min from LAX on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your past stay with us. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself up on Vivo, our rooftop bar & lounge. We are also excited to hear that you had such a wonderful time taking advantage of our close proximity to Dana Point Harbor. We truly hope that if you find yourself in the area again, that you will come and stay with us. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff was very friendly. Both rooms had problems. The first room had a loud knocking a/c unit which caused us to move to another room that unfortunately had a slow drain in the shower and a noisy a/c unit as well. The room had a musty smell which was in both rooms. The hotel was not on the beach and not a close walk. The parking fee was charged even if you parked your own car. Nothing was close wether you wanted shopping or food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We apologize for the inconvenience of moving rooms but are glad you found our staff to be helpful. Your review will help us correct similar issues in the future. We hope that the next time you’re in the area, you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable weekend here. Let me just say the reviews ripping the staff had to come from people who are just angry. We found everyone from Cody at the front desk, John the Manager, the restaurant team, to the housekeepers very friendly and helpful. We did experience one small issue that was taken care of immediately once we brought it to their attention.

Some of the reviews about the decor and age of the furnishings are true. The room we stayed in was beginning to show its age and the doors are inconvenient. The the location more than made up for it. We walked everywhere without a problem. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay. I will definitely pass along your compliments to Kody & to Jon about what great service they provided to you during your stay! The hotel has a planned renovation in 2014 and are looking forward to the new look and feel of the hotel. We truly hope to see you soon, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. Great staff and very nice rooms! The kids had a wonderful time. We will get back here as soon as we can. We love the cookies and love the unique aspects of this fun hotel. I wish all rooms had a door separating us from the kids like this one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your past stay with us. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to assist with any of your needs. We truly hope that if you do find you and your family in the area again, that you will be our guests once again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, ND
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My mom and I recently stayed here for four nights as a little weekend getaway. We were regulars at the roof top bar and we enjoyed all the staff! Everyone was so friendly even when dealing with extremely difficult customers!! Not us but there were a few other guests who were nothing less than extremely rude to the bartenders and they handled it with grace. The rooms were spacious and we loved our ocean view. We spent the last day with a cooler of beer buy the pool and it was wonderful. A short walk to the beach and the harbour and the bus stops only a couple blocks away and took us right to The Shops at Mission Vejios. Would definately go back :) The only reason I didnt give it an excellent rating is sound carries through the walls and the people beside us were really loud really early and the bathrooms are super tiny.

Room Tip: Its worth the $20 for an ocean view patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us. We truly appreciate such a positive response to your stay and we will pass along your compliments to our staff. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

i don't suppose anywhere you stay in Dana Point is bad. I've stayed at the Four Sisters Inn which I love but is pricy. The Doubletree Suites is pricy in season but I found a good deal with Travelzoo so my husband and I went up for one night. We tried to check in early but they said the room wasn't ready but one of the reasons it wasn't ready is because they had upgraded us to a suite overlooking the ocean as we were "Guests of the Day". That title also included free parking (reg. $22), and an appetizer and two drinks! The Suite had a Jacuzzi tub and a large patio! The beach is across the street and the harbor is a 20 minute walk away. The rooms are nice but not updated and probably need to be. No frills, but the staff is great. Each and every one of them were friendly and welcoming. I'd definitely go back, most rooms have balconies, and the chocolate chip cookie given to you upon check in is yummy!!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an ocean view room......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
CONGRATULATIONS on being our “Guest of the Day!” We truly hope that our staff made you feel extra special on your day. We truly appreciate you taking the time to also review your past stay with us and we truly hope that if you find yourself in the area again, that you will be our guest! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.