We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40 Nights of Lights
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not that great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My biggest complaints on the hotel were the dated rooms, stale smell and tiny bathroom. My biggest compliment was the staff all seemed friendly. One of the ways I judge a hotel is if I feel like I can walk around in bare feet without getting grossed out. I could not do that in this hotel. Everything just seemed a little tired and dirty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    195
    169
    105
    61
See reviews for
202
198
31
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had no complaints about my stay here and I'd book another room here without a doubt. The lobby is really pretty and everything is decorated nicely. There were interesting little sculptures and these crazy round tall chairs in the lobby that I liked. They have a free continental breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel, and a cool bar/lounge on the 4th floor that got really popular at night. Strong drinks served there, too.

The rooms were really nice and spacious with a balcony, and very clean. The beds were comfortable, they give you a free warm chocolate chip cookie upon checking in, they're directly across from a campground/Doheny beach..what's not to love?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay. We are so please that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and we truly hope that if you are in the area again that you will be our guest! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Spent a night here on business and the staff were very accommodating and committed to attend to your needs. Manager arranged for my room at 9am (no extra cost) after flying into LAX that morning from Australia and then a hire car down the coast.

Hotel is close to the coast and positioned a little out of the main town.

Rooms are comfortable and clean.

Overall the price matched the quality and represented good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review you past stay with us. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay while you were on business and that our staff was attentive to all your needs. We hope to have you as a guest in the future, thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a funny hotel, and the reviews on TripAdvisor reflect it. Because of the mixed reviews, we debated for a long time whether to stay here. In the end, we're pleased that we did and would without hesitation stay again. Overall, I would say that your expectations will likely be the key factor in determining whether you enjoy your stay here.

A couple of observations:

(1) Location: If what you want is a hotel "on the beach," this isn't it. It's a quick 5-10 minute walk away, across the street and through a park. Some of the rooms have lovely ocean views, but most kind of don't -- maybe a sliver of water but mostly trees, road and highway. Furthermore, it's not really near much unless you have a car (which we didn't). There are malls to the west and north, 10-15 minute walks away. The "famous" Mexican restaurant Olamendis is a 10 minute walk to the east. But there's nothing "right next door" if you wanted to pop out.

So...on the one hand, the location "isn't good". On the other hand, if you have a car, it's very close to the harbor at Dana Point and San Clemente. It's not "on the beach," but then again the prices aren't "on the beach" prices either. You kind of need to decide what you want and what you want to pay for. We were fine with this location, actually. We walked to some nearby restaurants (Stacks has awesome pancakes, and Chronic Tacos was pretty great too!) and to the beach. It sure beat the alternatives!

(2) Rooms: We stayed in one of what they call their "Riviera Suites". The room was amazing and exactly what we needed for a week-long stay. It had a moderately-sized bedroom with king bed, flat-screen TV and small ocean-view balcony with a large living room area featuring a gas fireplace (nice!), large flat-screen TV, sofa, overstuffed chair and desk. It had access to a very large terrace -- admittedly shared with our next-door neighbors -- that had a couple of lounge chairs, table, and fab ocean views. The bathroom had two sinks in an anteroom, with a toilet, bidet (!), shower stall and 2-person whirlpool tub in the strangely large separated room. I.e., it was huge. Importantly -- and unlike the non-suite rooms from what I can tell -- the living room area was between the bedroom and the hallway, so we had no nightime noise problems whatsoever. You might want to take this into account when picking a room...

From reading TA comments, it seems to me the key factor was whether the guest was staying in one of the Riviera Suites. If yes, then the rating was high; if not, well, then you can read the complaints. My advice is go for one of the suites if at all possible.

Finally, yeah, as some others have pointed out, the rooms were a tad run down here and there. Nothing that big of a deal, but we found some cracks and other minor flaws here and there. I frankly didn't find them to be that big of a deal.

(3) Food: We had breakfast almost daily in the downstairs restaurant "Tresca" and dinner one night in the outdoor "Vivo" lounge. Breakfasts were fine. I'm a Hilton Gold so ours were comped. Otherwise, for $10 you get an "American Breakfast" of eggs, breakfast meat, potatoes (I think), toast, coffee, and juice. Not too bad IMO. The omlettes were all right but a little greasy. They were in transition to a hot breakfast buffet system, but it wasn't up and running while we were there. All in all, it was nothing "special," but perfectly adequate.

We liked the Vivo lounge a lot, and I think it's one of the hotel's prime features. It's a large, outdoor space with comfy seats and a firepit in the middle. I'm told they have live music during the summer months as well. Happy hour started at 2pm (!) and included a wide variety of $4-5 beers, house wines, and even a couple of chips-and-dips. We moved on to sandwiches, and all of us were pleased. Vivo's So Cal vibe was definitely a nice touch!

(4) Spa: They have an outdoor pool and hot tub, which, because of the weather, we didn't use. But they looked nice. We did use the small gym on a couple of occasions, though. Two treadmills, an elliptical, stationary bike, free weights and mats. It wasn't a large room, one of the treadmills seemed permanently out of order as was the sauna -- which was annoying, but there were towels and a water cooler, and well, it was at the very least nice to have.

(5) Parking: Again, this is one of those things that depend on expectations. Personally, I think $22 a day is exorbitant for a hotel that for all intents and purposes gives you no other parking options. It's basically a $22 add-on to your room price. Thumbs down. But if you know this up front, then it's hard to complain. Either swallow it or move along.

(6) Service: The service we received was overall fantastic, friendly and responsive. We asked to use a DVD player in our room for the week, which was provided and installed for us. Because a number of relatives came to visit us over the week, we were provided a stack of parking passes so that people could come and go without paying $22 each time. When problems in the restaurant led to breakfast being delayed one day, our emals were comped. When I asked the manager where we should put the small Christmas tree we had put in our room, he offered to have his guy take care of disposing it. When checking out, a minor bill problem was quickly solved and then some. Everyone was super friendly.

There were some minor glitches. On a couple of occasions, we asked that housekeeping come at certain times when we'd be out of the room, and it didn't happen. The consistency in the cleaning was strange as well. Sometimes coffee was replenished, sometimes not; sometimes soaps were provided, sometimes not. Sometimes things were put in order, sometimes it was hard to tell.

Summary: Bottom line, we'd stay there again, which I suppose is the take-away message. I debated whether to give them four or five "circles." It's not a five-star establishment, but it isn't trying to be. For that, I'd go with the Laguna Marriott. There are some flaws to iron out, which I guess keep this DT from a perfect rating. But once you adjust your expectations to what you do and don't get at this place -- and assuming you stay in one of the suites -- I think it's top-notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write such an articulate review of our hotel. We are so please that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of everything we offer as well as our close proximity to the beach. We truly hope your stay was as best as it could be while you were here for the holidays and I am so glad that our staff took such great care of you. We truly hope that if you find yourself in the area again that you will be our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Well I've given this hotel three tries. It is very difficult to sleep here as you can hear sounds up and down the hallways at night. One night around 2:30 AM in the morning I heard a staff member outside our door talking loudly apparently On a walkie-talkie. The next morning the manager was very supportive and made some adjustments to our bill but I really will not be going back. The room or suite was pretty nice and it is across from the beach. Earlier in the night I requested a move to a different room and they moved us to a new room that just reeked of smoke that's it I'm done.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we do apologize for any loud noises that had awoken you while you were staying with us. We do realize that walkie talkies can be a nuisance to guests so we have actually implemented head set usage at all times for any of your team members effective immediately. We truly hope that you will try us again whenever you come back to the area, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Check in was fast and the cookie was good. Room was average but set up as a two room suite and the bed was comfortable. I was there for just one night on business. Nothing bad to say about this hotel. The ocean was across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay with us even if it was just for a day. And if your business needs finds you in the area again, please come and stay with us! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel has a great staff.
We were there for ten days and they could not have been more helpful.
The place is a little hard to get to, but it is right across the street from Doheny beach which is great. The price was good for what we got.
The hotel could use some updating but everything was clean quiet and comfortable.
The rooms are large but the bathroom is a bit tight.
Would definitely return and we enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: They have beach view rooms on the left side that are quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your sharing your recent experience with us! We are delighted to hear that your stay was so great and that our staff was very attentive to your needs. We truly hope that if you are in the area again that you will be our guest, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.