We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel across the street from the ocean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Stay Package
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel across the street from the ocean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Check in was fast and the cookie was good. Room was average but set up as a two room suite and the bed was comfortable. I was there for just one night on business. Nothing bad to say about this hotel. The ocean was across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay with us even if it was just for a day. And if your business needs finds you in the area again, please come and stay with us! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    179
    153
    95
    56
See reviews for
185
169
29
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel has a great staff.
We were there for ten days and they could not have been more helpful.
The place is a little hard to get to, but it is right across the street from Doheny beach which is great. The price was good for what we got.
The hotel could use some updating but everything was clean quiet and comfortable.
The rooms are large but the bathroom is a bit tight.
Would definitely return and we enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: They have beach view rooms on the left side that are quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your sharing your recent experience with us! We are delighted to hear that your stay was so great and that our staff was very attentive to your needs. We truly hope that if you are in the area again that you will be our guest, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is right across the street from a major freeway making it impossible to get a good nights rest. It has a very old and moldy smell making hard to breath. It would be impossible to completely renovate such an old property and management staff. The staff is very unprofessional. I stayed with my friend so it should of been an easy arrival. However the manager would not give me a key to my room so I had to wait all day for my business partner to get me into the room. The manager their seemed like he had no idea what he was doing blaming everything on his staff HOW UNPROFESSIONAL! Also eating a cookie and chewing on it while your dealing with a guest is unacceptable. I am an honest person and this hotel had the worst service and the Management their is clueless. I literally thought they were playing a joke on me at first , however its just that badly managed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your past stay with us and we do apologize for any shortcomings you experienced during your check in. We also apologize that you were not able to check into the room that you were sharing, however we do have procedures that do not allow guests that are not attached to a reservation to be allowed into the guest room for safety reasons. We have also undergone some changes in Management since your stay and we do hope that if you are in Dana Point, you will be our guest again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is right across the street from a park and campground at the beach. It has a nice open courtyard affect and seems more like an older apartment complex/condo then a hotel. It would be impossible to completely renovate such an old property. The staff is great and the rooms are nice, larger than most and separated. There is no place to walk to if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree D, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our facility. Our guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. In fact, we are planning to go over some renovations within the upcoming year to improve some of our hotel grounds. Again, thank you for your comments and hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I picked this hotel because it was the only one "on the beach" at Dana Point. I suppose it is the nearest building to the beach but to get to it you have to walk through Doheny Beach's campground. Also the hotel is surrounded by highway on 3 sides with little protection from the noise. The hotel is also quite a walking distance from the restaurants and shops of Dana Point so we had to drive or take a long walk everywhere. The location is just awful, not to mention the $22/day parking fee which we were not aware of when we booked. Aside from the location being a big disappointment, the hotel itself was fine. Our room was very large (queen bed with extra living room area), the bathroom poorly planned (the bathroom door opened into the tiny space so it had to be completely closed to use sink or shower), and the bed comfortable. The staff was helpful and responsive, albeit not altogether super friendly. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious. The parking situation was rough, especially when there was a wedding at the hotel one night and we waiting outside 15 minutes to park. All in all, it was a fine place if you aren't expecting beach front luxury and don't mind sleeping to the sounds of the freeway.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room when booking so you don't get an outside east facing room on the freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree D, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We see that you were unhappy with some of the charges, and we apologize if the charges weren’t clear when you booked the room. We work hard to personalize each guest's experience and try to keep costs affordable. Your review helps us maintain a focus on both of those areas. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the overflow hotel during a large convention that took place in Dana Point. The experience was awful. Here are the reasons:

1) Slow check-in: Forgivable, but really, the night before a large convention they should have more than one person at the desk.

2) Noisy room: The hotel is right by the freeway, and it was is so loud that it sounded almost like there was a railroad nearby. (I checked - there isn't but it's right between the 5, the 405 and the 133 - loud enough to sound like freight trains all night!)

3) No internet: When I called for help, I got the typical "It's working for me; I don't know what to tell you" response, which is what happens when there's one guy manning the front desk during a busy period.

4) Bar and elevator right outside the door of the room: There were people in the hall immediately outside the room having drinks until late at night. I called to enquire with the front desk. The curt response: "Yeah, there's a bar outside your room".

5) No minibar key: I was parched. I called the front desk again but no one picked up. I could have called back but I just wasn't in the mood to have yet another conversation with more people just to be able to access the simplest of amenities. I gave up and drank out of the faucet.

All night long, on one side there were people talking and drinking, dropping glasses, elevators going up and down. On the other side was the freeway with what sounded like the occasional train. Inside, no internet, no minibar, just tap water which frankly tasted funny. Thankfully I spent most of the subsequent time outside of the hotel at the convention.

This is one of the two worst hotels I stayed in in 2012. When I complained they just sort of looked at me blankly and said, "Yeah, sorry about that". Just disgraceful.

This experience was so bad that it will likely prevent me for staying at any Doubletree anywhere in future if I can avoid it.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, ask for a quiet room when you check in. If they don't have one, don't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree D, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are very sorry for the disappointing experience you had at our hotel. While sometimes guests do experience noise, we apologize that you did not receive the typical level of service you’ve come to expect from us when reporting the issue. In the future, we will be sure to handle these noise issues in a warm manner as we aim to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you will give us another try if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is literally right across the street from the beach. The rooms are clean, free cookie at check in and close to shopping, grocery store, and resturants in Dana Point. I was upgraded to a suite, and they are very nice with a sitting room, balcony, mini fridge, and microwave.

Room Tip: The suites had a mini fridge and a microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We truly hope that if you find yourself in the area again that you will be our guest! Again thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.