We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Location Great, Dated Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40 Nights of Lights
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service and Location Great, Dated Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is right across the street from a park and campground at the beach. It has a nice open courtyard affect and seems more like an older apartment complex/condo then a hotel. It would be impossible to completely renovate such an old property. The staff is great and the rooms are nice, larger than most and separated. There is no place to walk to if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree D, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our facility. Our guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. In fact, we are planning to go over some renovations within the upcoming year to improve some of our hotel grounds. Again, thank you for your comments and hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    191
    161
    103
    60
See reviews for
195
188
31
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I picked this hotel because it was the only one "on the beach" at Dana Point. I suppose it is the nearest building to the beach but to get to it you have to walk through Doheny Beach's campground. Also the hotel is surrounded by highway on 3 sides with little protection from the noise. The hotel is also quite a walking distance from the restaurants and shops of Dana Point so we had to drive or take a long walk everywhere. The location is just awful, not to mention the $22/day parking fee which we were not aware of when we booked. Aside from the location being a big disappointment, the hotel itself was fine. Our room was very large (queen bed with extra living room area), the bathroom poorly planned (the bathroom door opened into the tiny space so it had to be completely closed to use sink or shower), and the bed comfortable. The staff was helpful and responsive, albeit not altogether super friendly. Breakfast at the hotel was delicious. The parking situation was rough, especially when there was a wedding at the hotel one night and we waiting outside 15 minutes to park. All in all, it was a fine place if you aren't expecting beach front luxury and don't mind sleeping to the sounds of the freeway.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room when booking so you don't get an outside east facing room on the freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree D, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We see that you were unhappy with some of the charges, and we apologize if the charges weren’t clear when you booked the room. We work hard to personalize each guest's experience and try to keep costs affordable. Your review helps us maintain a focus on both of those areas. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the overflow hotel during a large convention that took place in Dana Point. The experience was awful. Here are the reasons:

1) Slow check-in: Forgivable, but really, the night before a large convention they should have more than one person at the desk.

2) Noisy room: The hotel is right by the freeway, and it was is so loud that it sounded almost like there was a railroad nearby. (I checked - there isn't but it's right between the 5, the 405 and the 133 - loud enough to sound like freight trains all night!)

3) No internet: When I called for help, I got the typical "It's working for me; I don't know what to tell you" response, which is what happens when there's one guy manning the front desk during a busy period.

4) Bar and elevator right outside the door of the room: There were people in the hall immediately outside the room having drinks until late at night. I called to enquire with the front desk. The curt response: "Yeah, there's a bar outside your room".

5) No minibar key: I was parched. I called the front desk again but no one picked up. I could have called back but I just wasn't in the mood to have yet another conversation with more people just to be able to access the simplest of amenities. I gave up and drank out of the faucet.

All night long, on one side there were people talking and drinking, dropping glasses, elevators going up and down. On the other side was the freeway with what sounded like the occasional train. Inside, no internet, no minibar, just tap water which frankly tasted funny. Thankfully I spent most of the subsequent time outside of the hotel at the convention.

This is one of the two worst hotels I stayed in in 2012. When I complained they just sort of looked at me blankly and said, "Yeah, sorry about that". Just disgraceful.

This experience was so bad that it will likely prevent me for staying at any Doubletree anywhere in future if I can avoid it.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, ask for a quiet room when you check in. If they don't have one, don't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree D, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are very sorry for the disappointing experience you had at our hotel. While sometimes guests do experience noise, we apologize that you did not receive the typical level of service you’ve come to expect from us when reporting the issue. In the future, we will be sure to handle these noise issues in a warm manner as we aim to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you will give us another try if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is literally right across the street from the beach. The rooms are clean, free cookie at check in and close to shopping, grocery store, and resturants in Dana Point. I was upgraded to a suite, and they are very nice with a sitting room, balcony, mini fridge, and microwave.

Room Tip: The suites had a mini fridge and a microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We truly hope that if you find yourself in the area again that you will be our guest! Again thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

2nd time at this hotel on business. Great surrounding area and great common areas. This is an older hotel, but it has a cool atmosphere. The rooms are nice and very clean. The rooftop bar is very nice with a great view. We ate dinner there and enjoyed the live music. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast staff were great, as was the food. Not a luxury hotel, but a good place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon-Isaacs, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are so pleased that your second stay was just as great as the first stay! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we truly hope that your work finds you in the area again. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As we were booking the hotel online, I wanted to have a room with oceanview but I didn't want to spend that much. That was a perfect decision because as we got to the hotel... there was almost NO oceanview from the hotel! The rooms look pretty nice on the website but they were outdated and very noisy. I was able to listen from my room to the music that is always playing outside the elevator and there was a horrible noise coming next to the bathroom. If you stay at this hotel try to get a room away from the elevator and with a better view than a palm tree and the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree D, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Your review will help us correct similar issues in the future. We hope that the next time you’re in the area you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This location allows few places to walk to eat etc. A little difficult to get to requires a u turn. This is an older building that has had some updating. Our fridge did not work when we got to our room...quickly replaced by staff. The bathroom fan sounded like a plane was landing which was slightly addressed. My granddaughter reminded me that we did not get warm cookies when we checked in. This was remidied with a reminder at the front desk. $22 a day for parking...consider that in the price. Our kids purchased the B&B option which worked well for them for breakfast... eggs cooked to order included. They also noted road noise throughout the night on the northside of the building. We had an ocean view.... but the road outside the balcony was noisy. I would probably not pay for this option again at this location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree D, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We’re very sorry for the noise and amenity issues you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We are very glad we were able to resolve your issues onsite but regret that you experienced them. Your review will help us correct similar issues in the future. We hope that the next time you’re in the area, you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.