We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess I expected too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40 Nights of Lights
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Lemoore, California, United States
1 review
“I guess I expected too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I felt like if I stayed at this hotel anywhere else, the prices for the rooms would be no more than your basic Comfort Inn. You are right across the beach, which is nice, but our ocean view room was blocked by a tree. You also have a great view of the campground in front, if you like that sort of thing. The staff was extremely nice, but I just wasn't wowed. My biggest complaint are that the walls are thin. We heard everything the people next to us where doing, and heard stomping from above all night long, which was horrible with two young children.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do try to keep our prices competitive with the surrounding hotels in the area and since we are located at the beach our prices reflect that. And I do apologize about any upstairs noise that you may have experienced during your stay. If you have any additional comments on how we can improve, please do not hesitate to let us know! But again thank you so much for your feedback on your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    195
    169
    105
    61
See reviews for
202
198
31
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

It's a wonderful hotel, with a wonderful and pleasant staff. The rooms look very new. The bathroom is beautiful! The pool isn't that great but it does the job. The ocean is right accross the street. Definately stay here if you're looking for a nice, clean, place. The outside of the hotel makes it seem like the rooms would be outdated and old, but that is not the case. Great Service!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake harmony, pa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've travelled around the country and stayed in many hotels & resorts. We were very pleased with all aspects of the Doubletreee Doheny Beach. From arrival the staff was very accommodating. The rooms were clean and well maintained, and we wouldn't hesitate to return. The location is great, and convenient. Just far enough away from I-5, yet right on PCH. Don't worry about the negative reviews.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms were nice, with a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our staff! We are excited that you will come and visit us again and we cannot wait! Again thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stay at this property several times a year as we have friends in OC and stay here so that we don't have to make the long drive home. We personally love this hotel. For starters, we're Hilton Honors members so it's a bonus for us to stay at a Hilton property and earn points. It is an older property but it's an awesome location, it's clean, all rooms are suites, and for the price, we get a really nice room with outstanding service from the staff. If you want fancy, the Ritz Carlton isn't too far away. But if you want a pleasant stay at a great hotel with a fantastic location, we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your multiple stays here! Thank you for sharing your experiences and taking the time to review our hotel. Its always nice to hear how great our staff is and I will pass along your compliments to them! We can’t wait to have you stay with us again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I woke up the first morning of staying in this hotel (at 7:30 am) to the sound of dripping water. I went into the bathroom and saw that the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking above the shower. The hotel quickly sent up maintenance and determined that they needed to move my room. They asked me to pack up my things and that they would move me to another room that afternoon. I returned to the hotel at 10:30 pm and the new room was still not ready--they had forgotten to clean it! So I ended up sitting in the lobby for over 30 minutes, jet-lagged, without my things or a room.

This hotel is incredibly run down with terrible service. DO NOT STAY HERE! Not worth it. Make the splurge and stay at the Montage or St. Regis--you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for the taking the time to review our hotel and I do apologize for any inconveniences that you may have had during your stay. Please email us directly at SNAPE_DT_Guest@hilton.com with any other concerns you might have had throughout your stay. Again thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were here in September 2011 and had an ocean view room since we are Hilton diamond members. Unfortunately the first thing you see are the campgrounds across the street. But if you didn't look down, the view was gorgeous. Balcony very narrow. Two-room suite was very small but adequate. Pool was very tiny. Location of hotel, however, was nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review our hotel from your last stay. Our location is very unique and I am glad you were able to enjoy the view from your room. We hope that the next time you visit the area you will try us again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The lobby is pleasant and the desk and valet staff are extremely helpful and nice. The location is great, just across from the beach and close to the freeway and PCH access. However, the restaurant breakfast is overpriced as is the parking. The bathroom in our first room was very small, and given that all the rooms are suites and could potentially be inhabited by 4 people at once, it is hard to imagine how that many people and their stuff could be accommodated in that small a space. If someone was using the toilet, the person in the shower was stuck there. The sink area had no counter space. The non-paying channels on the TV were very limited. We got chased off the rooftop bar area because we wandered up with glasses (not the bottle) of our own wine, although there was only one other couple up there and plenty of space. We were told of another rooftop viewing area we could go to, but that one didn't have comfortable seats or umbrellas or service if we wanted to purchase hors d'oevres.

Room Tip: make sure you can turn around in the bathroom before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTDohenyBeach, Laurie Chugon, Sales & Catering Coordinator at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for such kind words of our staff and location and for taking your time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location with close access to the beach and also surrounding freeways. I do apologize for any inconveniences that you might have had with not being able to enjoy Vivo, our Rooftop Bar and Lounge due to our outside food and beverage policies. If you have any other questions or concerns, please let us know by emailing us at SNAPE_DT_Guest@hilton.com. Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and do hope that you try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point

Address: 34402 Pacific Coast Highway, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in enchanting Dana Point, Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego along the Pacific Coast Highway, our hotel has proven a consistently popular choice among beach city tourists, wedding planners and business guests looking to turn that conference travel into an impromptu Southern California vacation getaway. Whether you are here for work or play, we've made sure there's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point Hotel Dana Point
Doubletree Dana Point
Doubletree Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.