We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Save Saved
You added Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Celebration Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Loomis, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When visiting grandkids, this time we decided to try a smaller place. This is a beautiful hotel in a great location on a bluff overlooking Dana point harbor. Pleasant room with a nice ocean/harbor view.
Not easy to actually get to the harbor / ocean from there by foot .
The description of the breakfast was far better than the actual breakfast. They were painting the lobby during our stay, leaving an unpleasant smell on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    65
    12
    13
    4
See reviews for
23
158
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Blue Lantern Inn - was perfect getaway for our family. Scenic views. Quiet surroundings. Close to the marina. WE will be return guests very soon. Nice lobby for family ativities. Wine and Cheese platter in the afternoon was a great touch.

Room Tip: We liked room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Blue Lantern Inn last weekend for my husband's Birthday. What a perfect stay! The Inn is kept impeccably clean and all the staff are so friendly and willing to accomodate their guests.

We stayed in room 301, which was on the top floor and had a panoramic view of Dana Point Harbour and the coastline. Although we are locals, we loved just sitting out on our private deck taking in the view and sipping champagne!

When we checked in, Laura, at the front desk, offered to make our dinner reservations for the Chart House restaurant closeby. So glad we did! When we arrived at the Chart House, we were given a VIP booth, prime location overlooking the harbour!

What I really appreciated about the Blue Lantern Inn was the friendliness of the staff and the ambience of the place. There were free bicycle rentals and it was fun and relaxing to ride around the neighborhood. Our breakfast was served in our bedroom for the first morning. (For subsequent mornings will you be charged $10.) Happy hour in the lobby at 4:30pm provided cheese, crackers, veggies and so-so wine.

A lovely place and we plan to return. Oh yes, when we checked out, I left my hat in the room. A few hours later, I received a phone call from Carmen at the front desk, who kindly notified me and put my hat aside for me to pick up the next day. Great place, great people! Looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Top floor, room 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a beautifully clean hotel. The wine and cheeses in the evening were very welcome after a long journey from LAX. A real bonus was the pot of freshly brewed coffee delivered in the morning. The breakfast was a big improvement on the usual carbohydrate laden American breakfast. All the staff were keen to do everything they could to make our stay an enjoyable one.I only wish we had booked a room with a balcony.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed, at the end of our Pacific Coast Highway Drive holiday, for 3 nights at this hotel. We were not disappointed with our choice. The hotel sits at the top of a cliff overlooking the Dana Point harbour. We'd booked a harbour / sea view room and were delighted with the one we were allocated. The room came with a jacuzzi, seperate shower and balcony. Everything about the room had been carefully thought out and tastefully furnished and decorated, including a gas log fire which came in very useful during the evenings. The balcony enjoyed tremendous views of the harbour and out across the ocean. The top of the cliff and the hotel's small gardens were covered with many shrubs in bloom and with many species of colourful birds to be seen. There was an interesting and pleasant walk through the local community and heritage park to get down to the harbour which is well worth a stroll. There is also a small beach. There are a number of eating places in the harbour area as well as at the cliff top and within comfortable walking distance of the hotel.
The hotel provided an excellent complimentary breakfast as well as a complimentary afternoon wine and snacks.
The staff including the general manager could not have been more helpful. Free off road parking is provided.
If ever we revisit this part of the world we'll be sure to stay here again. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Harbour / Sea View room. Although all other rooms appear to be equipped and fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This inn was one of the best we have ever stayed in. The staff are fantastic. For being in Dana Point the price was extremely reasonable. The views are spectacular. Would stay again in a heartbeat. The rooms have Jacuzzi tubs, perfect for me since I have a bad leg. They also have a day spa downstairs, will try next time. Thank you so much for an incredible & luxurious stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for five nights for spring break. The inn is located on a cliff overlooking the harbor in Dana Point. A nice feature of the inn is that there are many interesting walks right out the door. The Strand beach is a nice place to walk to, although it is a slightly strenuous walk. There are also some restaurants within walking distance. The harbor boasts a small beach and park area, but it is better to drive there than walk. The view from our room was beautiful and I would suggest getting an ocean view or partial ocean view. However, if you want to save money and get a non ocean view room there is a great patio to sit on overlooking the harbor. Our king room was enormous and the bathroom quite luxurious, with a separate shower and jacuzzi. Breakfast and afternoon tea are included. Breakfast was good with eggs, potatoes, oatmeal and breads. Tea included wine and cheese. Often the wine was left out into the evening as well as freshly made cookies. I really liked the laid back feel of this place. Very relaxing. The staff were friendly and helpful. The town is close to Laguna Beach and San Clemente for great shopping. I would also suggest flying into John Wayne Airport.

Room Tip: 201 and 301 have full ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.