We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wish You Were Here: 15%!
Ranked #1 of 1 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Ana
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Destination Resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very nice boutique hotel with a spectacular view. I would recommend this hotel for a couple that would like to have a very quiet time where you would like to be away from the world. The view is spectacular with room 206 having a small balcony that overlooks the water. There are some trees that obstruct the view a bit, but still beautiful. The hotel has bicycles available to take a leisurely bike ride around the area. There are some great restaurants within walking distance that have scenic views as well. I would not recommend this hotel for families or large groups due to noise concerns.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    69
    14
    13
    4
See reviews for
26
188
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in June for a weekend. The location is beautiful and the service was even better. All of our questions were answered promptly and everyone is very friendly. The breakfast is delicious, especially the granola! The room was clean, fresh, and well maintained. It was the perfect place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful views of Dana Point Harbor which is the beach town after Laguna Beach. Be sure to ask for a view room with a balcony. Room 301 at the very top is worth the extra money, and was pleasantly surprised that they had champagne and chocolates waiting. Great area for walking and relaxing after you get passed the check in staff which from reading the other reviews seem to be the biggest negative. Very unfriendly and condescending toward guests. Cannons restaurant is next door which has a beautiful view as well. From 4:30 to 5:30 wine, cheese and appetizers are out. Coffee, tea, cookies and cucumber, citrus water always available in lobby. Breakfast was amazing with pancakes, bacon, boiled eggs, all kinds of bread, and juice. Reminds me of an older Cape Cod BB. Enjoyed our stay, but stayed away from desk demons.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay here. Frankly, it wasn't all that we had expected. The woman who checked us in (Christine?) just did not have a very warm or welcoming personality and it never really improved every time I had to deal with her. In general, the vibe is that they are doing you a favor letting you stay there. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. It was great fun being able to sit out on our balcony overlooking the partial view of the ocean. The elevator alone has an unbelievable view. The bathroom with spa tub was very nice but we had to live with the noise of the waterjets, which wouldn't turn off, for an hour until the desk clerk flipped the circuit breaker to the tub. The breakfast was underwhelming and not up to the quality we had expected. One night here was probably enough for us.

Room Tip: It's just a question of how much you want to spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxedo Park, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I recently attended a work conference in Laguna Niguel and both of the "top hotels" were blocked for some reason. I found the Blue Lantern online and it was perfect. Less then 3 minutes from the host hotels, with a warm and wonderful staff. I booked room 301 which is wonderful in every way. The complimentary wine and cheese in the evening and full hot breakfast in the morning were above and beyond my expectations. Friends staying at the host hotels couldn't get over the quality of my accommodations and the fact that my full breakfast was included while theirs cost $30 a day! not to mention the free parking and cocktail hour. All this for almost half the price! I will definitely be back with the family.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Lantern Inn is suppose to be quality from top to bottom, location ok, facility ok, rooms are dated and showing wear.

Now the afternoon checking in staff, we arrived they barely acknowledge our arrival, waited almost 10 minutes while they were on the phone , They should have put the person on hold and acknowledge us and let us know they would be right with us.
We tried to ask several questions about the are, restaurants etc. again they seemed put out and just did not have the time to provide info.

Our last visit for sure.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

While my trip was short, my stay at the Blue Lantern in was wonderful. After a long, cross-country flight and the 30 minute drive from the airport, I was greeted by a great view of the Pacific when driving down the lane to the Inn. When I got to my room, the view from the balcony was even better.

The main lobby and dining area are on the small side, but seating spills on to a quaint patio which makes the space seem less crowded. Coffee, tea, naturally flavored water and cookies were available at all times. Every evening there is a complimentary happy hour with wine and light snacks that encourage guest mingling. There is also a meeting room off of the lobby which works well for team meetings or family gatherings.

My room more spacious than I anticipated from a cozy Inn. There was a seating area adjacent to the bed, a nice flat screen on the wall, and a refridgerator hidden in a credenza. The bathroom was very large and had all the ammenities of a high-end hotel. There was even a Keurig Coffee Maker in the bathroom for convenience. The only thing that needed improving in the bathroom was the lighting. I had to bring in the table lamp from the bedroom to put on makeup in the morning because the sun was not streaming through the skylight at that early hour.

This Inn is tucked away about 200 yards from the PCH so there is no traffic noise. There is a wonderful deli in the strip center in front of the Inn. If you like New York-style delis, you'll love this place! Within a few minutes one can be in Laguna Beach, visit the Ritz Carlton, or in downtown Dana Point. John Wayne airport is only about 25 miles away as well.

Even though I was here on a business trip, this is a place that I would return to for a romantic get away or even a girls' shopping weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a harbor view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.