We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Plus is Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Save Saved
You added Dana Point Marina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
san clemente, ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Only Plus is Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited recently and was very surprised and not in a good way. Walls were thin, hallways sterile and interior very dated. I can't imagine how this hotel has received 5 stars by anyone. The price is low and the location good but if you want to sleep, forget it. Our room looked across a "courtyard" into someone else's. Heard noise from above and next door. Sorry, I could not recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    66
    44
    25
    16
See reviews for
55
69
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

A perfect location for meeting all our adult friends. The DP Marina Inn is large and spread out, extra large rooms and just comfy! An older location but in a prime location in the marina with plenty of activities, food and cocktails. Not modern but comfortable furniture and large balconies overlooking the marina. Note, the walls are a little thin, lol, but balconies offer great accessibility to meet your neighbors if you so please! Great rates, highest we've seen is $129.00 with a king, marina view. Great bang for the buck!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iflyalotornot
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Terrible wifi in room so I moved over to the lobby, not so much better.
What you read online is pretty accurate, this place needs an overhaul, Great location, that's the only thing going for it. I mean the value is pretty good. If the wifi worked and the staff even pretended to be happy I would have been OK with this place.

If the front desk smiled and greated you when present I would have given them an extra star. No matter how bad or good a property is the staff and front line make the experience. This was certainly not the case.

Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumas lake ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here once a year and once again they have not improved on the internet situation. Because of poor connection had to use computer in lobby which was so slow it took me almost 2 hours to try and complete my tasks. Had to check out late, missed lunch with family, and then had to stand in line for an hour at my next destination to get the tickets I was trying to print at hotel. Seriously considering not staying here again. Was really upset that the staff trying to act like this was some unusual problem when I've had problems every single time I stay here and overhear other guests complaining also.. I have never been able to get cell service in my rooms here and always assumed it was my provider (Metro PCS), but this time I had Sprint and I still couldn't get signal in my room):

Room Tip: If you need wi-fi...be sure to ask for one of the rooms that has the best signal...however, that sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here on Apr 9; my sisters and I had three different rooms but all three were tired. I had a small refridgerator, stove, and sink in my room, think 80's style.
The hotel was situated on the harbor, lots of small shops and eating places nearby. It was adequate for spending the night but really needs a makeover and a good cleaning, carpets worn and dirty. You can tell they tried but what this place really needs is a good do-over. A/C units were a little noisy.
My sister had asked for a handicapped room and actually did get one! She was pleased with the grab bars in the shower.
Breakfast in the morning was your standard pre-packaged food: bagels, muffins. Cereals were available as well as some fruit.
I will say that the wifi (one of my criteria) was excellent once logged on.

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms have nicer views. The other side is street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed in a variety of hotels in Dana Point, but this was an unexpected bargain. The hotel sprawls a good deal, but when you walk out of the back, you are straight on the marina, with all you would expect, as well as a variety of good restaurants. The situation is also good to get into town, 10 minutes on foot and a few minutes by car. It's also a five minute walk to magnificent and legendary Doheny Beach.
The staff were courteous and helpful, breakfast acceptable and the rooms were a good size. The price was low, so all in all, a really good place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When I am in the Southern CA area, , I always stay at this GREAT hotel by the beautiful Harbor. I have been staying here fort years, and I am always perfectly pleased!

The staff is always friendly and helpful, and the facilities are always first rate. I highly recommend staying here.

Sincerely,

Joe Moros

Room Tip: harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Point Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.