We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the value and location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Save Saved
You added Dana Point Marina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Can't beat the value and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Yes, it's an older property. That's part of the charm. Walking distance to several great eating establishments and the marina. Room was comfortable and met my needs. Staff was welcoming and check-in was pleasant. Four stars, it is not. Good value with excellent location, it is. I plan to stay here for future overnight excursions from San Diego to the O. C.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    67
    44
    25
    16
See reviews for
56
69
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Location Location Location
at dana point harbor so you can enjoy the shops and restaurants
or relax in the jacuzzi or take a dip in the swimming pool
friendly helpful staff
or take a short walk to Baby Beach where you can relax under the covered picnic tables,
grassy area.. steps to the sand and water, where you can rent kakaks, jet skis, and paddle boards
good price

evon
Anaheim Hills, ca

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here last week. all in all...Clean,comfortable,affordable and better selection of vending machines! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel at a very good price . The receptionist was very nice as well. Plus you didn't have to pay to use the phone like most other hotels,

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Wa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here again in Dec ...probably our fifth time staying...vastly improved and renovated...new paint colors, flat screens. We just love the location...you can walk for miles along the marina and beach. Nice to have a laundry for guests. Continental brkfst could improve..but, great coffee pubs are one minute walking distance. plz keep improvement s coming..and, we will b back again and again. My sister visited and wants to return for their anniversary in July!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor for great marina view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel overlooks the gorgeous Marina. You couldn't ask for a better location. There's a beautiful path that runs along the Marina where you can walk or bike. Lot's of places to eat and sight-seeing are all within walking distance. You can tell that the hotel has been going thru some upgrades. The flat screen tvs are very nice. The bathrooms are starting to get upgraded. They're not there yet. Still needs new bedding, carpeting and furniture. And they can use some better padding between floors. Neighbors walking on the floor above sounded like herds of buffalo. But overall, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Dana Point Marina Inn is possibly one of the most convenient locations. The staff is always just friendly enough. The rooms are getting remodeled, although they aren't in bad shape now, Just a few things need updating. Each room has it's own patio to sit out and enjoy the view. There are plenty of places to catch a bite to eat as well all within a five minute walk. Walking around all the shops that are on the marina you'll find something for everyone. It's also close to the beach. Don't pass this hotel up

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

On two occasions, my husband and I have chosen the Dana Point Marina Inn for week-long stays in Southern California. This hotel offers all the comforts and feeling of home. The rooms are squeaky clean; the staff super friendly, knowledgeable and courteous; and the location, five-star. The hotel is right on the harbor and a minute's walk to retail stores and restaurants. It's hard to resist the view--hundreds of boats languishing in the blue water of the harbor. We would rate our experiences at this hotel among our very best hotel stays. It offers a continental breakfast in a newly refurbished breakfast room. There, we met several interesting people, including a Ph.D. anthropologist, who was absolutely fascinating. If you are planning a stay near Dana Point, and you are looking for first-class, but affordable accommodations, try the Dana Point Marina Inn. By the time we left the hotel on our second stay, we knew many of the staff on a first-name basis. Go there. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the older part of this hotel and the refurbished area. We loved both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Point Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.