We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dana Point Marina Inn to your Saves list
Dana Point Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here last week. all in all...Clean,comfortable,affordable and better selection of vending machines! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel at a very good price . The receptionist was very nice as well. Plus you didn't have to pay to use the phone like most other hotels,

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    70
    46
    27
    18
See reviews for
58
72
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here again in Dec ...probably our fifth time staying...vastly improved and renovated...new paint colors, flat screens. We just love the location...you can walk for miles along the marina and beach. Nice to have a laundry for guests. Continental brkfst could improve..but, great coffee pubs are one minute walking distance. plz keep improvement s coming..and, we will b back again and again. My sister visited and wants to return for their anniversary in July!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor for great marina view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel overlooks the gorgeous Marina. You couldn't ask for a better location. There's a beautiful path that runs along the Marina where you can walk or bike. Lot's of places to eat and sight-seeing are all within walking distance. You can tell that the hotel has been going thru some upgrades. The flat screen tvs are very nice. The bathrooms are starting to get upgraded. They're not there yet. Still needs new bedding, carpeting and furniture. And they can use some better padding between floors. Neighbors walking on the floor above sounded like herds of buffalo. But overall, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Dana Point Marina Inn is possibly one of the most convenient locations. The staff is always just friendly enough. The rooms are getting remodeled, although they aren't in bad shape now, Just a few things need updating. Each room has it's own patio to sit out and enjoy the view. There are plenty of places to catch a bite to eat as well all within a five minute walk. Walking around all the shops that are on the marina you'll find something for everyone. It's also close to the beach. Don't pass this hotel up

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

On two occasions, my husband and I have chosen the Dana Point Marina Inn for week-long stays in Southern California. This hotel offers all the comforts and feeling of home. The rooms are squeaky clean; the staff super friendly, knowledgeable and courteous; and the location, five-star. The hotel is right on the harbor and a minute's walk to retail stores and restaurants. It's hard to resist the view--hundreds of boats languishing in the blue water of the harbor. We would rate our experiences at this hotel among our very best hotel stays. It offers a continental breakfast in a newly refurbished breakfast room. There, we met several interesting people, including a Ph.D. anthropologist, who was absolutely fascinating. If you are planning a stay near Dana Point, and you are looking for first-class, but affordable accommodations, try the Dana Point Marina Inn. By the time we left the hotel on our second stay, we knew many of the staff on a first-name basis. Go there. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the older part of this hotel and the refurbished area. We loved both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stay one to two weeks, several times a year at the DPMI. It is a great location, reasonably priced, and the staff are the greatest. Several restaurants are within walking distance and the harbor area is a nice place to socialize. The latest renovations will add to the ambiance.
A stay includes continental breakfast. Most staff are long term employees, knowledgeable, and eager to help out with touristy information. CJDP

Room Tip: Bay or pool view rooms are worth the slight extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is fabulous, the staff is,always friendly. We stay here two or three times a year and always enjoy our time there. The harbor area is a grand place to walk,eat and just relax. There are several restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. Laguna Beach is just a short drive. The Christmas lights at the Ritz are a must to see.

Room Tip: Harbor view is the best if you have never been there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Point Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.