We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location at a Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dana Point Marina Inn to your Saves list
Dana Point Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Tampa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location at a Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The title says it all-older hotel in need of some up grades but overall its a wonderful place to use as your base when in the LA/San Diego area. Its situated directly on the Dana Point Harbor and has lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Very friendly , helpful staff-hotel has a really nice pool, gym, laundry and free breakfast. Hotel is CLEAN and everything WORKS.

Room Tip: Views harbor side are great but cost a little more but worth it. Take one of the whale watching tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    84
    52
    29
    23
See reviews for
69
86
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Musty carpets, high prices, incompetent staff, shoddy maintenance, the Dana Point Marina Inn has it all!

It seems the Dana Point Marina Inn is doing the bare minimum to keep their location in compliance with the law (though the carpets may be older than legal). There was nothing pleasant about this stay, I'm just surprised I didn't get bed bugs.

When you walk into the room and smell the musty carpets do yourself a favor and walk back out. This room isn't worth the asking price, this room isn't worth $1.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I spent only 1 night at that hotel and was ok, just ok. It is a very simple hotel. Parking lot it is not charged.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Location is the key for this Inn. The room was nice and filled our need for an overnighter before an early Catalina trip the next day. Walking distance to the Catalina Express and the rest of Dana Point Harbor. Several good restaurants nearby including Wind and Sea. My only compliants; I had to turn on the water for the toilet and reconnect the chain to the flapper valve in the toilet tank before the toilet in the room would work, and the A/C unit did an imitation of a passing train. We slept well despite the noise from the A/C and would recommend this Inn to family and friends looking for convenient lodging in the harbor area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We wanted to stay within walking distance of the Dana Point Yacht Club and the Marina Inn fit our needs. It is dated and could use a major facelift but the value is amazing for the location. The room was old, with a stained popcorn ceiling. However, it was clean and quite large with the attached kitchen.

Our only complaint was we received a queen bed when we booked a king. The front desk person was rude when we asked for a new room. She said they were fully booked, too bad. The bed was very soft with small pillows but we still slept well.

Waking up in the Marina was a treat. We had cappuccinos and a nice breakfast while we enjoyed the boats, pelicans, views, and people watching.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Marina Inn several times and it is a solid bet for the price in Dana point. The hotel shows its age and the decor is stuck in the 70's. However this past trip showed promising signs of some long overdue improvements. A jacuzzi spa has been added to the pool area. What a welcome addition! There are signs of other renovations as well. Might I suggest starting with the hideous artwork in the rooms. Followed by the bedspreads? DP harbor is a great place with lots to do and some great restaurants. For the money you can't go wrong with marina inn. Just don't expect the Ritz Carlton. I just hope the improvements don't translate into higher room rates. Ps. Don't spend the extra money for the harbor view. It's not worth it since all you do is walk outside and there's the harbor!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed here twice before and it was disappointing both times. The public areas were dirty, the desk staff extremely rude and non caring, the bathrooms seriously out dated with chipped sinks and tubs. I could go on but why...... I will pick a new place next time. The location is nice and made it kind of worth it for $100 a night (even that is questionable) but now when I look I see they want $173.00 and more on their own site.... NO WAY!!!!

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
#2 of 4 in Capistrano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelsClick so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Point Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.