We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Save Saved
You added Dana Point Marina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
plumas lake ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed a few days in August and again for a week in November...a bit disappointed both times. Family in area recommended due to a coupon. Great price so booked the 2nd trip. Asked several times for an email confirmation because I wanted proof of the price since it would be Thanksgiving week. Each time, was told they were too busy to send email, that I should call back. Well surprise surprise, was charged $30 more each night when we got there..had no email to back it up. Was told they have never had those rates, even though I had them 2 months earlier! At any rate, (no pun intended:) each time I had to talk anyone at the desk for any reason, they seemed irritated, put off and borderline rude. We had problems with the room keys daily, the bathrooms have very limited counter space and it was very old and cracking etc. Hallways feel like a hospital, no decor. Asked ahead of time about fridge & micro in rooms. Was told there was a fridge but microwave was in breakfast room and we would have to use that one. I bought a pizza to heat up later, and when I went to heat it up, the room with micro was closed. When i asked to use it, they said it was only available during the 6-9 eating hours! Breakfast has much less than most cont. breakfasts...no eggs, waffles or anything like that.....First trip, the kids were so excited to swim but the pool was cold and FULL of bugs...so they quickly got out. Second time seemed nicer but never found the time. The big PLuS of this place is location. It is right next door to the greatest little shops, restaurants, and plenty of other marina/harbor attractions. Because the price is still reasonable and the surrounding area is so convenient,and wonderful, we actually will probably end up staying again due to family near by and visiting several times a year. My wish would be for them to update the place, and either train the staff in proper customer service or hire new people all together.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the marina, be sure to specify because not many have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    43
    24
    15
See reviews for
53
66
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great location but the walls are paper thin. Lots of noise. Over charged me on check out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The setting overlooking the marina was beautiful, but the accomodations left something to be desired, particularly considering the price of the room. It was clean and roomy, but the towels were cheap, furnishings were old, and while we had a small refrigerator there was no microwave. The continental breakfast was quite limited, I've had better at hotels charging half the price. If you need to be on the harbor, it works. If not, it's worth your while to find a more suitable hotel a block or two away.

Room Tip: Not worth the extra money for a view of the harbor. All rooms have a balcony and several of the inne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stay for a night last week. The hotel is really old and worn. The view of the harbor is obstructed. If your expectations are a motel 6, then you won't be disappointed. Rooms have very thin walls so you can hear all your neighbors on both side and especially above.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita,KS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Free parking. Normal free breakfast. Great location. Frig in room. CLEAN! This was a great place to crash. Not a romantic, hang out all evening kind of place. It is older but the windows were so clean you could not tell if they were open of not. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The hotel is the only hotel on the marina side and close to shops and restaurants. It is older but our room was clean with a balcony and kitchenette. The staff was very helpful. The rate was very reasonable since you could not touch a room in Newport, Laguna for that price and have it not be a dump! Continental breakfast was ok, just what it states....rolls, juice and instant oatmeal. The hotel rents bicycles and has a nice ice machine for taking coolers down to the beach. I had heard bad reviews and was uncertain about staying here, but we were very pleasantly surprised and definately would stay here again. We were on the third floor which has the view of the pool and the marina. We took Captain Daves Whale and Dolphin Safari and that was a nice day adventure walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor is the best view. We were facing the pool, alittle noisy but nice. The 3rd flr marina vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

After reading the reviews of this hotel, I was dubious about going. It was rated 2 diamonds by AAA. I stay at 3 diamond only and above. Well this was easily 3 diamonds or 3 1/2 stars. The room was huge, overlooking the marina, 2 Queen beds. The decor was lovely and the bathroom new , expensively done, and clean as whistle! The whole place was spotless! Had a nice patio too. Very pleasant breakfast room or eat at the pool area. Fun breakfast of lots of carbs. I was very impressed with this hotel, the area and things to do. I will return with the whole family, I know they will love it. There were about 50 of us and all of us had a great time and loved the hotel and front desk staff. I did notice that the front rooms, facing the mountain and parking lot, seemed somewhat smaller than ours.

Room Tip: Back rooms facing the Marina are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Point Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.