We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raya at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel

Raya at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629
+1 949-240-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Raya at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 111 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Raya, named “Restaurant of the Year” by Riviera Orange County in July 2011, is a great restaurant concept by acclaimed Chef Richard Sandoval. Raya showcases Pan-Latin Coastal Cuisine prepared with sustainable seafood, local produce, natural and organic meat and Chef Richard Sandoval’s signature Latin flavors. Discover delectable dining on the coast of Dana Point during your next visit.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a great meal here when we dined as a family in March, the view was very impressive. The food was good, we preferred the meal we had at the enoSTEAK but both meals were excellent.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    33
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Five-star excellence does not let down!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff is the best, as should be expected of the Ritz, impeccably trained and hospitable. The hotel is truly majestic, with beautiful white marble floors, chandeliers, flower arrangements, and a stunning view of the pacific from the Raya itself. It lives up to the expectation behind the company name.

I come often, so I've had breakfast, lunch, and dinner here, and tasted the different seasonal menus. Nothing I have tried has been unsatisfactory; quite the contrary. Everything is flavorful and unique, practiced to perfection by the excellent chefs. A favorite is the sweet potato oven-baked fries with honey mustard. They go out of their way to make sure their customers are happy. I asked for freshly squeezed orange juice and they found a machine and made it happen for me. The service isn't quick, but this is a sit-down, silver-spoon type of restaurant, so that is expected. There is a very laid back and mellow atmosphere - not at pretentious, which is hard to achieve when you're a five-star hotel - romantic and excellent for special occasions. I brought a birthday girl once and they treated her impeccably, bringing out a cake with the works; candles, a birthday card, a rose. A great time to come is sunset, for the beautiful view right from your table as you enjoy a spectacular meal.

The Raya uses well-sourced seafood and largely organic ingredients. The things I could suggest to improve the food quality and menu: being exclusively organic, using Celtic sea salt in the dishes, and coconut oil for the cooking. I would also love to see more vegetarian / vegan / gluten free options. There are a few, but not many. The menu is largely dominated by meats and fish.

Expect that it won't be inexpensive. But the quality of the food, the service, the location, and the view make it all worth it, especially for a treat or special occasion. This is a place you need to go at least once to experience true luxury.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

LOVED the breakfast, made even better by the view and topped by superb service. Call ahead for a reservation, even if you are staying at the location.
Room service for dinner was great. Steak done well. Not a fan of the fries or the hummus but loved the bread basket and the mac and cheese was worthy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service and options!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Service was wonderful and their selections covered all in our party - from vegetarians, no shell fish, gluten free. Everyone was able to get something delicious!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Everything is fabulous at this restaurant. The food is delicious, the wait staff are friendly and helpful, the view of the Pacific Ocean is gorgeous. A couple of friends had the hamburgers which they said were excellent and perfectly cooked. I had a salad which was delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant. You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raya at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Raya at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raya at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.