We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view, friendly service, great bar.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannons Seafood Grill

Cannons Seafood Grill
34344 Green Lantern St, Dana Point, CA 92629-2767
949-496-6146
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cannons Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 111 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: PCH & Blue Lantern
Transit: Pacific Coast Highway
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fabulous view, friendly service, great bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Cannons is reputed as having the best view in the area, and it doesn't disappoint. We really enjoyed watching the boats sail in and out of the Dana Point Harbor below us. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. Our waitress made us feel right at home. We were trying to make a decision between two red wines, so she offered to bring us a taste of each! We both agreed on the Napa Cellars, Napa Valley Cabernet to accompany our prime rib dinners. We ordered them medium rare and when we complained that one was over-cooked, it was substituted with another, even larger slice, cooked to perfection. The clientele are diverse in age and in dress. We really enjoyed the casual but energetic, atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    49
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic View, With Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had an excellent dinner here, I had the Sea Bass Special and my wife the Salmon. Great view, great service at a fair price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The view is INCREDIBLE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Monday night and there was only one car in the lot and two tables. Not quite what we expected but overall a great experience. The view is incredible so make sure to ask for a window table or sit outside, unless you are afraid of heights. The food was good, I had the catch and it was delicious. The one bad point against the place was towards the end it felt like we were being rushed out...I know we were last table but it was only 945pm. The service was friendly and I would return.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, service, view and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Felt welcome from moment of arrival. Good table with stunning harbor view. Such friendly service, and the food was delicious like someone who cared prepared it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Its all about the view and quality of the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

As 45 year locals of Dana Point, this is our FAVORITE restaurant in DP! The view, overlooking the harbor and entire southern coast is nothing less than spectacular! The food is presented with a gourmet quality flair,exceptionally tasty, ., and the service is always top notch!. Plus the menu is changing a few times a year. This restaurant is not afraid to deliver! And it continues to do so!!!. Our regular waitress, "Sugar" is a good as they come! And one of the managing partners, Greg, when working, makes sure to visit with as many guests as possible to make certain your meal and ambiance meets the highest of standards! Go Cannons! You wont regret it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannons Seafood Grill also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Cannons Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannons Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.