We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View from this American Grill Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannons Seafood Grill

Cannons Seafood Grill
34344 Green Lantern St, Dana Point, CA 92629-2767
949-496-6146
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cannons Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 112 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: PCH & Blue Lantern
Transit: Pacific Coast Highway
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful View from this American Grill Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went to Cannon's on our first night in Dana Point because it was so close to our hotel. It is a typical large grill restaurant but despite this, it made for a lovely dining experience.
The view over Dana Point Harbour is spectacular & is especially lovely as the sun is setting. The staff are very attentive from the greet staff who took us to the table & also the food & beverage staff.
The food was good but not outstanding, as was the wine. This was as I expected it for this style of restaurant.
They really do the Bistro/Grill style restaurant very well & it did not disappoint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    49
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Everything, especially the view, was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

six of us had a wonderful evening. The drinks, soup, food, service was first class. We had a variety from prime rib to mahi mahi to swordfish to chicken. All was good. The weather was perfect making the view more than spectacular.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Looking forward to my next visit to Dana Point so we can visit Cannons again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a great evening from start to finish!
Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly hostess and promptly seated at an amazing window table. The floor to ceiling windows awe me every time I visit. Warm bread and a nice pour on a $10 glass of La Crema Chardonnay (great price) and we were off to a great start. Our server, Beth, made
some nice suggestions on the menu and told us about specials. She was friendly and attentive. Thanks Beth!
We started with coconut shrimp and mushroom stuffed artichoke (yes, get the mushroom add on). Both were great tasting and perfect to share. I had a small Caesar, which was great as
always. My guests both enjoyed wedge salads that looked really good. Next came our entrees. My salmon was fantastic. Fresh and flavorful! Loved the tarragon sauce and the scalloped potatoes were a treat. I also appreciated the mixed veggies were not over cooked. I tasted the macadamia nut swordfish and it was great as well. Unfortunately I didn't save room for dessert. I've had it before and was looking forward to enjoying it. Next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“On a clear day you can overlook the overcooked scallops...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you like a restaurant that relies on a great view to distract you from medicore food, then this is the place for you. We made a reservation for 6:45 p.m. and arrived on time right behind a couple who had one for 7 p.m. After being told it would be a few minutes, we watched as the couple with the later reservation was seated. In response to our question about this occurance, the hostess explained that a reservation at Cannons only guarantees you a table irrespective on the reservation time. It begs the question of why bother taking reservations at all if you are just going to wait in line for a table to open up.

Otherwise, despite a very friendly and attentive wait staff, the food was lacklustre and just generally lazy. In fact the whole experience just felt like Cannons approach is lazy and there is the expectation that the view will make up for everything lacking.

The view was nice though...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Food was delicious staff friendly and helpful views are spectacular was in a large wedding party and the service was excellent

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannons Seafood Grill also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Cannons Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannons Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.