We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a rut” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RJ's Cafe

RJ's Cafe
25001 Dana Point Harbor Dr. F120, Dana Point, CA 92629
(949) 218-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 112 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stuck in a rut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have been going here since the week it opened. I ordered the link sausages and eggs the first time and every time since. I eat here at least once a week but week ends can be a bummer when all the tourists seem to show up at the same time. Oh well, I live here so I can go when its slow, which isn't often. I honestly haven't had any thing here other than the breakfast mentioned and a hamburger, also good, but my wife swears by the tuna melt which is made with fresh tuna, NOT CANNED.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    41
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great all day breakfast cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Close but not quite on the harbour, still at a great location with plenty of parking nearby. Hostess and waitress were very friendly and helpful. Was such good food we just wished we had got to visit more than once during our trip. Really cheap considering the quality of food and service you get.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GO HERE FOR BREAKFAST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is one the nicest breakfast/lunch resterants in town! Fantastic food, cool vibe, great service! They do get busy though so you may have to wait for a table.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Katrine, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could have been a bad day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Food had lots of potential but disappointed in the end. Service was also slow.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast or Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We love RJ's. It is always busy and sometime you have to wait along time, but when we have time we wait.....the food is so worth it and RJ is a great guy, very friendly and loud. So if you are coming to a nice quiet breakfast and RJ is there, don't be surprised because he has such an outgoing personality which is what makes this place so fun.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RJ's Cafe also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to RJ's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RJ's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.