We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean breezes with your brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Creek Grille

Salt Creek Grille
32802 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92629-3422
949-661-7799
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 115 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Crown Valley Pkwy
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ocean breezes with your brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After hiking the hills above Laguna our group of 6 stopped in for lunch. We dined on the patio in one of the cabanas with the breeze keeping us cool as we sipped unlimited champagne. We ordered appetizers, burgers, salads, and sandwiches (a bit of everything). Everything was well-prepared and tasty. Our server "Ivy" was helpful, professional, courteous and friendly, she really treated us well.
I would recommend Sat Creek after a drive on PCH, for Happy Hour or brunch after church.

NOTE: Dogs are allowed on the patio, so if you have a sensitive/allergic guest, it's best to sit inside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    56
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Love the goatcheese bake- love the food. Been here several times, love it! The seafood entrees are to die for!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tasty food; Decor Could Use Some Help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I enjoyed my salmon dish, and we were blessed with a wonderful server who was very attentive and took excellent care of us. The décor is outdated and could certainly use a massive improvement. I would be more motivated to return if the "vibe" inside was improved due to a remodel, but ultimately, I enjoyed my experience there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Top Contributor
630 reviews 630 reviews
509 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Fun Weekend Hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Salt Creek Grille
32802 PCH
Dana Point
Good wine list
House salads are huge
Delish squash ravioli
Tasty porterhouse stroganoff
Fantastic yellow fin tuna entrée
Loved the apple pies dessert
Derrick was an efficient food server

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Salt Creek Grill offers comfort food in a pleasant setting just off Pacific Coast Highway. The furniture indoors is mission style and quite unique. That said, I prefer to sit outside. The food isn't distinctive, but is well prepared.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Creek Grille also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Salt Creek Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Creek Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.