We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taco Tuesday rocks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Torito Mexican Grill

El Torito Mexican Grill
34521 Golden Lantern St, Dana Point, CA 92629
(949) 496-6311
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 111 Restaurants in Dana Point
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday rocks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stopped on Monday to check it out & nobody greeted us so we walked out. But Taco Tuesday is their forte and it was a real switch. We were greeted right away, and service was wonderful. Let's not forget the tacos!!! When they re on, they are on. And the tacos are super fresh!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    21
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The food was great. We had to wait to be seated for quite a while even though when we were seated, the restaurant was half empty. The waitress took our order and the wait for the food was over half an hour. Place was clean but noisy and understaffed. Someone else brought food and only saw waitress when bill came.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dana Point Marina restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

At the Marina in Dana Point. The food was OK, the service was slow but the atmosphere was worth it. The bar area is the best deal with $1.00 tacos and $2.00 beer. Hard to beat in Dana Point

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

During our 4 day holiday in Dana point we went to the restaurant 2 nights in a row as we loved the food which was very tasty and well priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Do not even think about coming in!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I am regreting taking my wife to this place. Service is beyond poor and it starts right from the moment you are 'greeted'. Girls make you feel like they are doing you a favour for hosting you at their joint. The dishes we ordered typically take about 20 min to get cooked in the slowest mexican food joints. We sat for an hour before finally getting our fajitas - they were even worse than those fast food mexican restos. Please spend your money elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Torito Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Torito Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Torito Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.