We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point

Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point
34442 St. of the Green Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
949-493-1183
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 115 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific Coast Highway
Transit: PCH/Blue Lantern - bus
Description: From amazing views of the Pacific Ocean & Dana Point Harbor to unparalleled cuisine, Chart House is a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. Savor a seamless blend of fine seafood & steaks, while you enjoy the elegant atmosphere & impeccable service. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 30 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From top-of-the-catch seafood to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as New Wave Sur & Turf, Macadamia Crusted Mahi & our slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Putting aside the breathe taking view...We started off with the fried asparagus and east meets west tuna both were gone in seconds. My fav entree that was ordered was the scallops with the ahi tuna in a close second. My daughter loved how they had prime rib on the kids menu. 2 lava cakes for dessert did not disappoint. Planning on going back. Mmm my mouth is watering just thinking about it. Oh the clam chowder was delish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    63
    38
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location/view, very good service, OK food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location/view, very good service, OK food.
Te staff was friendly and accommodating to make sure we had a comfortable area where we could fit the baby pram, AND have a baby seat. We still had good views from the table, and in between the appetizers and main course could go out to the balcony to see the fabulous views (and they kept our food hot in the kitchen till we got back, having out the baby to sleep).
The food isn't bad, but keep in mind that you are paying for the location and views, rather than the cuisine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fabulous service and good steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Seldom have I ever had such good service. The waiter and manager were both absolutely present to deal with any issue without being in your face or trying to be your best friend.
As always, the food is fresh and well done. They have the formula for a great restaurant experience perfected

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We sat outside - I love their patio. They had a happy hour going, which had good specials. We got the crab fritters, which were a special of the day, and they were amazing. I would highly recommend them! Every time we go we have to get the crab, avocado and mango stack. It is delish! We also got the spinach salad, but I was disappointed that they didn't toss it tableside this time like they have in the past. The lava cake for dessert was a great way to finish the meal. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant and Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's getting harder and harder to find restaurants in this chain as they dwindle in number. As we've come to expect, their tropical iced tea and salad bar are excellent. At this restaurant, the bread portions seem to have been reduced and there are few value priced choices on the dinner menu. Thank goodness they give a senior discount for AARP members!

Next time we may try the happy hour menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House Restaurant - Dana Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.