We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to have authentic Italian Cusine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luciana's Ristorante

Luciana's Ristorante
24312 Del Prado, Dana Point, CA 92629-2713
949-661-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Luciana's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night Food, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Lantern
Transit: OCTA bus stop on the corner of Del Prado Ave and Street of the Ruby Lantern.
Description: Orange County's Authentic Italian RestaurantLocated in a historical home in the resort town of Dana Point, California, Luciana's Ristorante has been serving the Orange County community for over 25 years. The decor is reminiscent of a cozy European-style inn, establishing it as one of Orange County's most romantic restaurants. Awarded the Southern California Restaurant Writers gold medal since 1996, three stars from the California Restaurant Writers, Zagat's Survey "America’s 1,000 Top Italian Restaurants 2008" and an Award of Excellence for its wine list, Luciana's has been setting the standard for classic as well as innovative Italian cuisine. Whether visiting our cozy restaurant or Villa Lucia, our Bed and Breakfast and Cooking School in Tuscany, Italy, you are sure to experience the best and freshest combination of the old and new worlds.
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Place to have authentic Italian Cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

In Orange County, this is "great place to eat"! The atomosphere, smell, service is wonderful! We sat by a window which was "private" from other tables! It was a birthday celebration and the evening was memorable!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    56
    19
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food in So. OC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This cozy, quaint south Oc restaurant is an institution that still turns out delicious authentic Italian cuisine. Reservations a must. Servers warm and friendly. Prices very fair, portions generous, food delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is my sixth visit at Luciana's over the past few years. We've been there with family and friends and never had a bad meal, but I don't think it is anything special. On a scale of one to a hundred, I would give it an 85. It is difficult to find really good Italian restaurants in the OC and it is much easier to find good Asian and Mexican eateries. My favorite pasta dish is Capellini al Salto - simple, tasty and reasonably priced at $12. $20 corkage is on the high side and you cannot bring a wine that is on the wine list. It was a Saturday prime time evening after Thanksgiving with people bringing gifts for a party atmosphere. Crowded and Noisy. Ironically, I went home with my dinner cloth napkin attached to the belt of my pants! Wine will do that to you!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“High class restaurant with middle class prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was a family dinner of six and a two year old. We were thrilled with the beautiful interior of the restaurant, very dark, and rustic. There is a great bar at the front of the restaurant, many patrons were enjoying their meals up at the bar. The staff was very accommodating with a child, very attentive service, our wine and water classes were always full.

We started with the bruschetta, which was fresh and tasty. We ordered the spinach salad, which was good, and others ordered the house salad, which they felt was ordinary.

Our waitress was helpful and knowledgable about the wine list, our dinner came out at the same time; the staff works together to bring out the food. Orders included the vegetable and meat lasagna, rigatoni with chicken and pesto, kid's spaghetti - extremely enjoyed by all. One additional order was the angel hair with vegetables, which did not have a great deal of taste, and should of been ordered and served with marinara.

The manager stopped by our table and talked with us, they have a really friendly staff. There is a beautiful private room in the back - take a peak and think about having a private party there, it looks like a good time.

Food portions are sensible, and you can bring wine for a corkage fee.

Bringing a child is fine, but this is really a place for adults.

Parking fills up in the main lot, however you can find a spot in the nearby neighborhood. Talk to the staff about neighborhood parking, which is neighborhood parking only.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The atmosphere and food at Luciana's is lovely. This spot is truly special. If you are looking for good food at a reasonable price in a special setting this is the place for you. The staff was very and friendly accommodating. The bruschetta was amazing and the wine list will not disappoint. Although this may not be the best place for kids the staff was extremely accommodating with our two year old son. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luciana's Ristorante also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Luciana's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luciana's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.