We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luciana's Ristorante

Luciana's Ristorante
24312 Del Prado, Dana Point, CA 92629-2713
949-661-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Luciana's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Blue Lantern
Transit: OCTA bus stop on the corner of Del Prado Ave and Street of the Ruby Lantern.
Description: Orange County's Authentic Italian RestaurantLocated in a historical home in the resort town of Dana Point, California, Luciana's Ristorante has been serving the Orange County community for over 25 years. The decor is reminiscent of a cozy European-style inn, establishing it as one of Orange County's most romantic restaurants. Awarded the Southern California Restaurant Writers gold medal since 1996, three stars from the California Restaurant Writers, Zagat's Survey "America’s 1,000 Top Italian Restaurants 2008" and an Award of Excellence for its wine list, Luciana's has been setting the standard for classic as well as innovative Italian cuisine. Whether visiting our cozy restaurant or Villa Lucia, our Bed and Breakfast and Cooking School in Tuscany, Italy, you are sure to experience the best and freshest combination of the old and new worlds.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

They deserve their Zagat rating. Wednesday night was still full. Recommend reservation.

Full bar. A bit noisy in the restaurant.

Calamari fritti was great with a great zesty dipping sauce. Risotto Del Mar, rice a tad under cook. Dinner special lamb shank over risotto was perfect (10+).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    53
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy, romantic, welcoming local restaurant serving delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable local spot. Food is delicious, staff friendly and welcoming. Great for special occasions or just a night out. Entertainment (accordion) is delightful and beautifully compliments the scene.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice italian place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice place to eat-good service and food. Great bread. We had calamari which had a nice spicy marinara sauce and both our entrees were very good. The atmosphere is nice here. We had reservations but probably didn't need them at the time we were there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Looked at trip advisor. This was currently ranked 1st in Dana Point. I can see why!! Sat in the bar to watch football game. Lots of locals. Wonderful atmosphere. Great food. Great service. Wish we had something comparable where we live! Best Italian we've had since a trip to NY two years ago. Must try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, and atmosphere! Perfect for a party.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have been to Luciana's twice this year.
It is the best little restaurant in the area!

The first time I went I ordered the farfalle cantadina, little bow tie pastas with spinach, chicken, mushrooms, and a heavenly sauce.
The dish is light and delicious.

The second time we went to this restaurant was for our wedding. We used the 'Library Room' which holds up to 48 guests. The atmosphere is perfect for a formal dinner party. The room was spacious, well decorated for my vintage European theme, and the service was phenomenal.
The restaurant was well prepared for our large party and had everything ready for our arrival. The ordering was easy, because they printed banquet menus for our party.

Our menu consisted of three different entrees to choose from, two desert choices, an appetizer, and a house salad, and soda/tea/coffee. The price was incredible. Probably the best price for an Orange County wedding!!!! They did clean up their back porch area for us to use as outside sitting space for desert/coffee/etc. I'm not sure if they do this for all parties, but you could ask. If your party has less than 30 people you should look into their gorgeous wine room!

If you are looking for a large venue where you can have dancing, partying, DJ, etc...this is not the place, space is limited. If you are looking for a very formal, cute, delicious meal to give to your guests, this is DEFINITELY your place.

Our ceremony was held about 1.5 miles away at a local county park that overlooks the harbor (Heritage Park). Perfect location for this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luciana's Ristorante also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Luciana's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luciana's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.