We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, incredible views and perfect greens!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Beach Golf Links

Monarch Beach Golf Links
50 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629
949-240-8247
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Burbank, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing service, incredible views and perfect greens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hide, the Head Pro, is absolute top knotch! Frank in the shop was fantastic... helpful and friendly. The starter was amazing... he took the time to explain the course, how to read the greens, and truly made it feel like a 5-star luxury experience. While the fairways were recently over-seeded, the greens were perfect and true. The views were breathtaking!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBGL, Director of Sales at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your post and feedback and especially for pointing out the staff members that made your visit memorable. We will be sure to thank each employee on your behalf. We look forward to your next visit and exceeding your expectations again and again.

Sincerely
MBGL Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, NJ
2 reviews
“Don't play here in late September”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We made our reservations on August 30 for September 26. Upon arrival we were told play would be cart path only because the course had just been aerated, scalped and over seeded. They didn't have the variety of rental clubs advertised, heck they had to scurry around just to find some tees. The cart path only was a problem for me as I was to have foot surgery when I returned home.

Surely they must have known they were going to be overseeding when we booked - they should let people know this so they can make a choice. They didn't reduce the green fees at all to compensate for the conditions. They also charged full freight for the rental clubs. Cancellation policy is 48 hours but we didn't know the course was going to be in this condition.

We'd played here each of the past two years and enjoyed it. This year I found them very insensitive to us as respects the conditions in every way. I'm going to look elsewhere next year.

Doug Boyer
Franklin Lakes, NJ

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Director of Sales at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent visit to Dana Point and Monarch Beach Golf Links. We are sorry to hear of your unpleasant visit and we can assure you this was not the intent of the golf operations staff. Our staff did attempt to contact all tee time holders (the main contact for each time) that were booked from mid-September through Mid-October to make them aware of the condition changes during that period. We also did lower our rates online for each day in this period, up to 50%. If you wouldn't mind sending us your receipt, we would be happy to compensate you for anything you paid over the discounted rate for that period. Please contact us at your earliest convenience.

Monarch Beach Golf Links Management
800-339-0921
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Even with the overseeding this is a special course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We played a scramble at this gem of a course. The views of Catalina and San Clemente islands was fantastic. Great weather helped to seal the deal too. It is a bit pricey, but worth it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBGL, Director of Sales at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We appreciate you playing golf, even during the overseed process. It is a necessary operation to keep our course green and lush through the cool seasoned months. We hope you will come back and re-experience MBGL when the operation is complete as well. We know you wont be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“As great as we had hoped. Amazing links and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've wanted to golf this course forever. We had a lovely sunny day, breezes from the ocean and incredible views. The course is beautifully maintained. We had a dream round, even played well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBGL, Director of Sales at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at MBGL. Thank you for visiting and thank you for posting your feedback. we hope to see you back at The Beach again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Most lovely resort views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Celebrating our friends 50,th we researched and came up with this course of all we explored. The women rode along, not being golfers ourselves. This was as beautiful as it gets without getting on a plane to Hawaii. Our husbands ranked this day the best ever. The views and weather cannot be matched. You could not go wrong coming here. Note: the Bloody Mary's were the worlds best from the cart...just saying!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBGL, Director of Sales at Monarch Beach Golf Links, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and feedback. We appreciate your business and the time you took to make others aware of your experience.

we hope to see you back here at Monarch Beach Golf Links again very soon. Please call us if you have any questions or want to schedule a visit. We are proud to be in your Top 5!!

800.339.0921

Enthusiastically,
MBGL Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monarch Beach Golf Links also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Monarch Beach Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarch Beach Golf Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.