We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Save Saved
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An outstanding property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The reason to give this hotel five stars in the service. Honestly, there are better views of the ocean at nearby hotels. But no one outshines this group in service. From the moment you enter the property to the time you exit, the staff could not do enough or provide more smiles or friendlier attitude. The resturant should also not be missed, outstanding food and wine pairings. Great golf course and easy walk or ride to the ocean. We will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Ahg2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our legendary Five-Star, Five-Diamond service! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    232
    124
    68
    58
See reviews for
276
360
33
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

As someone who has stayed in many St. Regis around the world, I was excited to stay in another USA property. My wife and I are huge fans of the brand, ever since our wedding night stay at the St. Regis NY. For better or worse, we always compare every St. Regis to the one in NY, and the Monarch beach property does many things wonderfully well, but fall short in a few others. First the accolades. First class greeting at the door by the valet staff. They were always available to help, and Matt our bellman was very attentive to our needs, and always acknowledged us, even as we were entering and exiting the hotel during the course of our stay. The concierge staff is bar none the best I have worked with. Gundula and Marty could not have done more to go out of their way to accommodate us. Their recommendations were spot on, from beaches to visit to dining locations. We wanted to go to a beach off property, Gundula herself went and got us beach chairs and towels to make sure we would be comfortable outside the hotel's beach. Amazing. Marty set us up with whale watching which was the highlight of our trip. The staff at Motif were amazing. Miguel took great care of us during dinner service. Ariel at check out was also very friendly and appreciative of our stay.
The grounds are gorgeous. The main pool was very crowded, but we found a quiet spot in the spa pool. The spa itself is fantastic, beautifully done and well worth the resort fee for access to the facilities.
Now for the negatives:
Check in: We checked in at 10:00 PM, and no one outside the valet staff was there to greet us. Another couple were checking in, but we were not acknowledged at all for about 3 minutes. Finally someone came and checked us in, but her demeanor was not welcoming, nor did we get the room type we wanted, even though it was a downgrade from the original room type booked. See below for more on that.
The Room: First room we were given was not our first choice, we asked for double room, but were told none were available due to a large wedding. This is understandable. We got to the room and my wife went to shower, where she found a housekeeping issue. I called the front desk to explain the situation, and the duty manager immediately switched our room to the double bedded room (a different person from the check in desk). Magically the room was now available. Even though it was a downgrade in view, at least it was clean and the room type we wanted. The bathrooms are large, but void of any personality. I didn't feel they were luxurious in any special way, they felt generic. Again, keep in mind we are comparing to the St. Regis NY.
Parking is too expensive at $34 a day. Really??
The conventions: I did not realize that this hotel was a boon for conventions. Many groups are coming in and out, and the feel of the hotel is very conventional at times, which we did not expect. I expected more of a family resort atmosphere.
Overall, our expectations were either too high for the property, or there was just some failures that questioned our decision to stay at the hotel. Next time would look to other properties in LA or OC before jumping to go here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Bobbyz51,

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort and will be sure to pass along your kind words to Matt, Gundula, Marty, Miguel and Ariel! Your comments regarding the room readiness and cleanliness will be shared with our housekeeping management team to ensure that this type of experience is avoided in the future. We hope to be able to welcome you and your wife back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing luxurious vacation spot, this is it. the grounds are beautiful, the rooms are great, and the pool is exquisite. The spa is small but adequate. it is not cheep, but luxury comes at a price. if you have the extra cash, rent a cabana by the pool.

Room Tip: all rooms are great. we have stayed in simple rooms and suits. if you can get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear mkhoro,

Thank you for your kind words about our resort! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neosho, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An absolutely beautiful hotel. Very accomodating staff, beautiful room, grounds. Truly enjoyed my stay. 3 highlights to share. They are not directly on the beach, but have a nice shuttle service to their private beach. Very nice beach accommodations. I enjoyed multiple sunsets from the outdoor patio in front of the fireplace. They have many hummingbirds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Alan J,

Thank you for your recent stay and kind words! We appreciate the positive feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort while here. We hope to welcome you back again soon to enjoy another one of our captivating sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at this resort last week for 6 nights to attend a conference and mix in some family time at the beach. It is quite honestly, the best resort we have experienced in Southern California! While we have traveled around southern CA during the summer to escape the Summer hear in AZ, we have completely fallen in love with this property.

The Service is EXCELLENT! The rooms are impeccable. The amenities with access to first class pools and the associated Beach club are outstanding and gives you the best of what S. CA has to offer.

It will now be a part of our summer adventure for many years to come - convention or not!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear jfoster1268,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of our amenities, including our pool and beach. We look forward to becoming a part of your familiy tradition for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis in May of this year and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The room was spacious and very nicely appointed, the staff were great, and the onsite restaurants were phenomenal. Loved the service and food by the pool and the easy access to the golf course. This is a fantastic property that is worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Ernest H,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time at our resort and hope to welcome you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The property is beautiful. I felt like I was in Hawaii. The service was impeccable. The Sunday brunch was the best I ever had. My boyfriend and I had stayed at the Grand Del Mar as amazing as that was this hotel beats it by a hair. My boyfriend went downstairs to get me a coffee this morning and they greeted him by his name at the coffee shop. .I'm impressed. This place did not miss a beat. Thanks for a wonderful time. We will be back

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Squalls,

We are so pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend had a wonderful experience at our resort! We hope to welcome you both back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.