We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Pella, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights during a conference. Hotel was very lovely, clean, well kept. All the employees were very attentive and really seemed pleased that we were there. Housekeeping was very thorough, new linens each night. The pools were heated, so I was able to swim each day, even though the air temps were only in the mid-60's. For lunch I would go to the coffee shop which had sandwiches, fruit, and quiches available. One evening we took the hotel tram down to the restaurant located on the beach. We enjoyed the most beautiful sunset during our meal. Food was excellent and the wait-staff wonderful. I can't say that I would ever go back, as we usually don't vacation in California, but I would love to stay here again if the opportunity arose. Only drawback was the location of the hotel. It is not located on the beach. You could walk along a sidewalk and through a park, but it is a 20 minute walk. The hotel has a tram that leaves every 15 minutes to beach- no extra cost to use the tram.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear 81UNIgrad,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us! We are pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your time at our hotel during your conference. We hope that business, or pleasure, brings you back to California again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    240
    125
    71
    58
See reviews for
278
370
33
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place is not only beautiful but classy! The service is amazing. My husband and I have been three times by ourselves and this time we took our children. They had more fun renting wetsuits and boogie boards than at Disneyland! The service is AMAZING!!! My husband left his TAG watch in a chair by the beach and they found it and turned it in. It is so unusual to find honest people like that but not at this St. Regis. We count down the days until we go back. Special thanks to Holden the TRAM driver, Ted the Bartender at the Monarch Bay club, Mitchell on the beach setting up our chairs and umbrellas everyday, Phil Sanchez who found our watch, and Doug who fitted my kids and husband for wetsuits and boogie boards!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Dawn J,
Thank you for your excellent review regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at The Best Address. We will be sure to share your positive comments with Holden, Ted, Mitchell, Phil and Doug. We look forward to welcoming you back for another family vacation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Spent a week at the St. Regis for business. Beautiful location to work 18 hour days! I couldn't complain about a thing. The service we received was amazing--hats off to all the hotel staff. Sunsets were something to see!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear ShannonD411,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to provide a beautiful backdrop for you while you worked. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I spent 8 nights at this hotel in a very nice suite. At first glance and walking through the hotel and property, you definitely get a feeling that it is a top notch property. The problem is that it has no soul - no feel to it. It is cold and sterile. The majority of employees walk right past you or are too involved in conversations with other employees. Everything is "by the book". Everything is based upon your Starwood level. If you are a top Starwood points person, they will pay some attention to you. If not, forget it. As I said I spent 8 nights there and generally ended every evening in the bar. By the time I left, none of the employees had bothered to remember my name or what I drank. Same goes for the valets. In and out multiple times a day for 8 days and they still didn't know my name or my car. Compare that to The Montage just down the road (and in a better location right on the water). There, they will quickly learn your name and great you everywhere as though you are family. The hotel has a comfortable - I could live here - fee to it. St. Regis, you need to take lessons from The Montage on how to treat your guests.....

Room Tip: I stayed in an Executive Suite and it was quite nice. Rooms nearest the golf club house and facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear netsol,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with our Executive Team. We go to great lengths to ensure we offer Five-Star service and apologize that your experience with us did not meet that service level. If you feel there if something that can be done to rectify your feelings, please reach out to our Executive Offices directly at 949.234.3301.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My visit was short, and it was a conference. But the service and professionalism at every level each day astounded. The front staff, reception staff, pool staff, wait staff, housekeeping ….there seemed to be nothing that was any trouble. The coffee shop was an oasis for this Australian, the front bar looking over the Pacific reminded me of views in Perth. I can't wait to return as a holiday person, uninhibited by the timetables of a conference. Outstanding wines, single malts (it was a conference after all!), amazing food served to 130 attendees. All without a fuss and with absolute perfection.

Room Tip: Don't miss it! Higher rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear geraldq,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and conference, at The Best Address. We hope to welcome you back again on holiday soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I live in Los Angeles and wanted to get away for the weekend. We were looking for something that was within driving range, but would feel like we were on vacation. We chose the St. Regis and it did not disappoint.

As Starwood members, we requested early check-in. Upon arrival, our room wasn't ready, so they offered us 2 free glasses of champagne while we waited. We sat out on the lobby lounge patio, sipped our champagne while enjoying a gorgeous view. Thirty minutes later, they called us to tell us our room was ready.

To our surprise, they upgraded us to an ocean view. We found our room to be a very decent size with a large bathroom, comfy bed, and a good size balcony.

The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful, and I highly encourage that visitors explore them. The property offers an amazing golf course, a small garden, 3 pools and jacuzzis, kids pool, gym and day spa and more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear stirdivantkd,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with others online. We are so pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your time at our resort and were able to experience the many amenities which we have to offer. We hope to welcome you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were amazed at the service. Every staff member was out to make sure you were well taken care of and every staff member knew about the hotel and could get whatever you needed. If you asked, it was done - professionally, timely, and kindly. The rooms were fabulous with beautiful views (and we were there in the rain). Definitely go down to the restaurant/bar at the beach and enjoy the casual comfort there. Just a really nice place to get away and enjoy some quiet. (There is a golf course too!) It would be an amazing place for a wedding (in the sun).

Room Tip: If you can splurge on an ocean view it is truly a much better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Bow2Wa,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our resort and your recent stay with us! We hope that you are able to visit us again soon, hopefully when it's sunny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.