We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - No Personality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
orange county
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - No Personality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I spent 8 nights at this hotel in a very nice suite. At first glance and walking through the hotel and property, you definitely get a feeling that it is a top notch property. The problem is that it has no soul - no feel to it. It is cold and sterile. The majority of employees walk right past you or are too involved in conversations with other employees. Everything is "by the book". Everything is based upon your Starwood level. If you are a top Starwood points person, they will pay some attention to you. If not, forget it. As I said I spent 8 nights there and generally ended every evening in the bar. By the time I left, none of the employees had bothered to remember my name or what I drank. Same goes for the valets. In and out multiple times a day for 8 days and they still didn't know my name or my car. Compare that to The Montage just down the road (and in a better location right on the water). There, they will quickly learn your name and great you everywhere as though you are family. The hotel has a comfortable - I could live here - fee to it. St. Regis, you need to take lessons from The Montage on how to treat your guests.....

Room Tip: I stayed in an Executive Suite and it was quite nice. Rooms nearest the golf club house and facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear netsol,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with our Executive Team. We go to great lengths to ensure we offer Five-Star service and apologize that your experience with us did not meet that service level. If you feel there if something that can be done to rectify your feelings, please reach out to our Executive Offices directly at 949.234.3301.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    260
    136
    77
    63
See reviews for
323
417
35
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My visit was short, and it was a conference. But the service and professionalism at every level each day astounded. The front staff, reception staff, pool staff, wait staff, housekeeping ….there seemed to be nothing that was any trouble. The coffee shop was an oasis for this Australian, the front bar looking over the Pacific reminded me of views in Perth. I can't wait to return as a holiday person, uninhibited by the timetables of a conference. Outstanding wines, single malts (it was a conference after all!), amazing food served to 130 attendees. All without a fuss and with absolute perfection.

Room Tip: Don't miss it! Higher rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear geraldq,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and conference, at The Best Address. We hope to welcome you back again on holiday soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I live in Los Angeles and wanted to get away for the weekend. We were looking for something that was within driving range, but would feel like we were on vacation. We chose the St. Regis and it did not disappoint.

As Starwood members, we requested early check-in. Upon arrival, our room wasn't ready, so they offered us 2 free glasses of champagne while we waited. We sat out on the lobby lounge patio, sipped our champagne while enjoying a gorgeous view. Thirty minutes later, they called us to tell us our room was ready.

To our surprise, they upgraded us to an ocean view. We found our room to be a very decent size with a large bathroom, comfy bed, and a good size balcony.

The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful, and I highly encourage that visitors explore them. The property offers an amazing golf course, a small garden, 3 pools and jacuzzis, kids pool, gym and day spa and more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear stirdivantkd,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with others online. We are so pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your time at our resort and were able to experience the many amenities which we have to offer. We hope to welcome you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were amazed at the service. Every staff member was out to make sure you were well taken care of and every staff member knew about the hotel and could get whatever you needed. If you asked, it was done - professionally, timely, and kindly. The rooms were fabulous with beautiful views (and we were there in the rain). Definitely go down to the restaurant/bar at the beach and enjoy the casual comfort there. Just a really nice place to get away and enjoy some quiet. (There is a golf course too!) It would be an amazing place for a wedding (in the sun).

Room Tip: If you can splurge on an ocean view it is truly a much better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Bow2Wa,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our resort and your recent stay with us! We hope that you are able to visit us again soon, hopefully when it's sunny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I have planned to travel back to Dana Point, for our 10th anniversary, since we got married. We met in Dana Point and got engaged there! We made our reservations 14 months in advance (in June) because we had a limited window to travel and wanted it to overlap not only with our anniversary but with our son's birthday. When we made our reservation we asked to use our SPG points from our AMEX card. We were told that we couldn't apply them that far in the future but to make the reservation and call back in a few months and they could do so easily. We happily made our reservation and began planning our trip. We purchased flights and planned a vow renewal ceremony including friends and family. We called back in November and were told once again that we should call back after the first of the year and they could easily apply our AMEX points at that time. We called back after the first of the year and we were told that that we could not transfer our current reservation to points. We were informed that because there was no availability at the resort, during the time of our reservation, we could not transfer our existing reservation to use points. We were told that the hotel could override this but when we spoke to the reservations specialist at the hotel they would not make the exception. We are so disappointed that we were not only misinformed twice but even after we explained our situation the hotel refused to help us. We were so looking forward to our vacation and now it seems that we will have to cancel and lose money on our flights and renewal party arrangements.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear emalagisi M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your experience with our reservation department. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you are experiencing. Please reach out to our Executive Offices directly at 949.234.3301 so that we can rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Timeless service and amenities as always at the St. Regis brand. This property is absolutely beautiful. Nothing is out of place. The restaurant was delicious, and the wait staff were very attentive. In-room dinning was perfect as well. The valet staff were quick and respectful of my car. The concierge recommended a delightful place off property for breakfast, just steps from the boardwalk. The four stars are because the room was less than standard at a property of this caliber. Don't misunderstand me. The room was amazing, but for a St. Regis, the room was substandard. The view from the balcony was of a construction site. Nothing like mounds of dirt, orange construction fences and a Caterpillar tractor sitting outside your balcony at a five star resort! Did I mention the balcony. Much to small to do anything on. And the balcony door wouldn't latch so every time the A/C turned on, the door would open just enough to trip the sensor on the door to turn the A/C off. Very frustrating! I probably should have called maintenance, but just didn't feel like having anyone in my room to do repairs. No jets in the tub; an amenity that is expected at this kind of property. I would absolutely come here again, just some details were overlooked is all.

Room Tip: Inquiry at check-in as to where the grounds renovations are so your view isn't spoiled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear spartin117117,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review of the resort. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the property, our staff and the restaurants. We appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms and will be sure to share with our engineering team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a beautiful resort and great for a wedding venue.

We stayed only for a few days, but it was a memorable experience. The service was great and very friendly, and the St Regis Astor suite is spacious and luxurious.

Spa Gaucin is amazing and well worth the money.

Can't wait to go back ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Ksenya,
Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us! We appreciate your kind words about our resort and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.