We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Pacific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Paradise Valley AZ
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Pristine Property. Vista Views are Stunning. Room was Immaculate. Grounds were Amazing. The private beach was truly awesome with spectacular sunsets where we popped a bottle of Dom - which created a timeless memory. As to be expected, the restaurants are very pricey, so be aware of this factor.

(The only downside was that we dinned 1 evening, which began ok - we were the only ones there - but then a very drunk and rowdy group of 20 men fell in from the golf course and took over the place with extremely loud "conversation" right in the middle of the room. Then we had the privilege to have a couple with 2 toddlers beside us who screamed, cried and yelled. So that was a complete disaster, of which the servers then ignored us and fully attended to the main table of golfers - was a big downside of out trip. Of course, this was (hopefully) a single event, which certainly should not happen to anyone else, hence still 5 stars since isolated occurrence).

We would still go back!

Room Tip: Had a room on the N/W bottom floor which had a beautiful view of the palms, gardens, ocean and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear LindaRan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Best Address with others online. We are pleased to hear that you loved the hotel and all of the amenities which we offer. Please know that your dining experience is not typical of our restaurants and we regret this was your experience while here. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    240
    125
    70
    58
See reviews for
278
368
33
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
463 helpful votes 463 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

A well known resort location for a highly regarded chain. Felt some "attitude" from staff which affected our enjoyment of this hotel.

Certainly, excellent facilities and views. Rooms are quite nice.

Overall, a high quality resort which could have been much more fun if the staff with whom we interacted had been more welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear GoBills2014,
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and resort overall, however we apologize for your encounter with our staff which did not exceed your expectations. This type of service is not typical of our standards. If there is anything we can do to correct the situation, please contact our Executive Offices at 949-234-3301.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

From the service, to the rooms to the overall beauty of the property this is hands down one of the best places we have stayed. They were very accommodating to kids which is always a plus for a luxury hotel, and although I expected a lot from their service they still managed to surprise and delight us during our stay. The food options on property include a wonderful place for breakfast called Motif, and we had a delicious dinner with many extra mini courses compliments of the chef at Stonehill Tavern. There is a relaxing lounge area with a fireplace that was great for grabbing a drink. The property also has an amazing spa and fitness center. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and have a greater affinity for St. Regis as we plan future vacations.

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautiful views and balconies to relax on
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Lailee L,
Thank you for such an amazing review! We are so glad to have exceeded your expectations! Your compliments will be passed along to our team. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Address soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Made an escape to the St. Regis Monarch with the wife. The pool service was extremely top notch, towel service, punctual, responsive pool service. sunset view on the bar patio was absolutely amazing. Breakfast and lunch out in the spectacular courtyard were times that will never be forgotten.

Room Tip: ocean view or some what facing the western courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Philp N,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the pool and our dining options. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Beautiful resort all the way around! The grounds were kept perfect. Very nice pool area. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was very professional and courtious. Definitely everything you would expect from a 5 star resort. Of course, be ready to spend some money while you're there. It's not cheap!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear alwaysreadyfortravel,

Thank you for a great review! We will pass along your compliments to our team and hope to welcome you back to The Best Address again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My bf came down to visit me for the weekend (long distance relationship) and I wanted to surprise him to a one night stay at St. Regis in Dana Point. This is our first time staying at this property and at St. Regis. Oh boy, it was worth the splurge. Ariel who checked us in was very friendly and professional. She was able to accommodate our early check in and late check out. We were also upgraded to a larger suite (I'm a SPG gold member). The bathroom is super huge especially the tub, shower and closet! We had a butler name William (Bill) and he was awesome (way too awesome!). He's very attentive and charismatic. He told us about the champagne toasting at 4pm I believe, but we just missed it when we arrived. He probably saw us bummed out, so we went out to grab dinner at Eva's Caribbean Kitchen. When we came back, there was a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries and a really nice written note from Bill. He provided turndown service and nicely laid out our robes and slippers. He's so attentive because I asked him earlier if they have bubble bath (hey, have you seen their huge tub?) and he said no, but he can find one. I told him it's ok and that I'll stop by the market nearby to buy one. The next morning he served us french pressed coffee and organic tea with mini biscotti's. The morning drinks were complementary from St. Regis. Thank you! My bf and I walked around the property grounds and took a short tram ride (within St. Regis) to their private beach. It was very romantic and we enjoyed every second of our stay here. I really appreciate St. Regis for accommodating our needs and made our early anniversary, Christmas, and NYE very memorable. We definitely want to come back during the summer so we can enjoy their pool. It was too cold in December!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Donna D,

Thank you for such an amazing review! We are so glad to have exceeded your expectations. Your compliments will be passed along to Bill, Ariel and the rest of our team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Address this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I recently stayed here for a quick get away, and really loved the property. The grounds were beautiful, and the heated pool was really nice. The staff was very attentive, and the butler service was a nice touch. We luckily got upgraded to a better "view" room, but since the ocean is pretty distant, I don't think paying for an ocean view room is worth it. The folks at the front desk were very polite and extremely helpful (even personally escorting me to different areas of the property!).

Only downside was at the restaurant. We wanted to have a romantic night out on the terrace (where no one was sitting b/c it was too cold) and pop a bottle of champagne that we brought ourselves. The lady at the restaurant said we could do that, but they would charge us a $35 cork fee - even though all we wanted to do was sit outside under a heat lamp and drink our own champagne (we weren't going to order from the restaurant, and again no one was outside utilizing the terrace). Instead we ended up drinking on our balcony in our room while gazing at the stars (thank goodness for the robes and slippers in the room!).

Room Tip: pool facing was nice, don't waste on ocean view room. Breakfast was $$$, but they will basicall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear AtlantaDvd,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Best Address and sharing your experience with others! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and that our staff exceeded your expectations. We apologize that your experience on the Motif patio was not up to standard; we will pass along your comments to our management team. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.