We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I enjoy the St Regis in New York and while traveling to CA booked a room at this hotel.
It is worth every star and more!
The rooms were pure luxury!
It is a hike to the Ocean, but worth it!
the scenery is awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear diann w
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your recent stay with us. Please come back and visit us again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    247
    126
    73
    58
See reviews for
284
379
33
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed there over Labor Day weekend. One of the finest and most beautiful resorts ever. Our room facing the golf course and ocean was spotless with a nice balcony to enjoy the view and morning coffee. The beach area was lovely. The staff sets up chairs and umbrellas and there are drinks and food right there . The shuttle is a short , pleasant ride through the golf course. Anyone who complains about that (I read one review that said "I am not a shuttle person ") must be a real snooty sort. The resaturants Motif and Stonehill were great and the staff were uniformly nice and responsive. What's not to like ?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear homerluvsduff
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your holiday weekend with us- including our short ride down to the beach, please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I pretty much live on the road! I have either platinum or gold status at all three major hotel chains. I usually call the platinum reservation numbers and usually speak with nice, helpful people. Christina Boucher stands out amongst the rest! She is above and beyond friendly and helpful, from everything from finding good room rates to booking spa treatments to dinner reservations. I will be staying at the St Regis this weekend and after speaking with Christina, I have high expectations! I will update this review with information regarding the actual stay, but I really wanted to comment on the wonderful first impression that I have with this hotel. :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jennifer G.
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review of one of our associates. We look forward to hearing your review of your upcoming stay. If there is anything we can do to anticipate your arrival please reach out to our reservations team directly at 949-234-3900.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

All the amenities you can think of in a single property, tennis, golf, pools, private beach, and a variety of dining options that will satisfy the most demanding foodie (watch for your wallet though).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear maximosaravi-
Thank you for the wonderful review and your recent stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful time. Great for families. Maybe can't handle full capacity as pool ran out of towels. Rooms are very nice but carpets need refreshing. Have kid programs some evenings. Need to take a small bus to the beach but it runs often enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Bunkbed21-
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for visiting our resort. We do have kids club year round and offer children's activities during the summer months – s’mores and story time for example. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First of all this hotel is NOT on the beach. We booked this trip through American Express Platinum and had all the perks of Amex, however, the hotel did not give us the complimentary upgrade. Was a bit disappointed.Ths hotel is built into a hill so you enter on a high floor and go down. A bit getting use to but after a few day you get it. The room was large and lovely but faced a field. Was disappointed again. The best view off the hotel is the outside dining area where they serve their breakfast buffet. Actually there was also another area off the back of the hotel that had outside seating and fire pits that was really beautiful. I believe it was on the floor below the restaurant. There were at least 4 weddings over the weekend which was why the hotel was so crowded. Peering at one bride and her wedding party taking pictures below our room balcony, I felt like an uninvited guest. We waved anyway. The pool area is very small and was completely booked. We did have a nice hostess who perused the area to find two lounge chairs with umbrellas. We wedged in between 2 parties. I was literally on top of the young boy next me completing his summer reading. The pool area is tiny in comparison to the size of the hotel. It's a good thing we didn't plan to spend much time there. They do have a shuttle to the beach, but I am not a shuttle person. The food at the breakfast buffet was wonderful with many choices. We had dinner at the hotels steak house and the food again was great. Be prepared to spend an extra $100.00 a night for taxes and other fees. I hear the spa is wonderful but did plan any spa treatments this trip. My husband and I had a wonderful stay but next time I think we will choose a hotel directly on the ocean.

Room Tip: Book an oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear charlotte55
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recent stay. You are correct we are not directly on the beach but just a short tram ride away. Thank you for the kind words about the Lobby Lounge Terrace (with the fire pits) and Stonehill Tavern, located on the fifth floor. Your comments will be shared with our team and we hope you will visit again soon to experience our five star spa. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at this property 3-4 times over the past several years and only have one complaint - check in process. It seems each time I visit this hotel, I have arrived around 4 or 5 pm, expecting to check in to my room, but each time have had to wait at least 45 minutes to an hour while they "get my room ready". This is an enormous property, but if you say check-in is at 3:30, all rooms should be available for check-in at 3:30. If not, it would be nice to get a phone call at the very least, giving me a heads up that we cannot check in on-time and give me a time that the room will be available and stick to it. It is also frustrating, that while I sit waiting for my room, others who were in line behind me are being given their rooms with no problem. If management could fix the check-in process, there would be nothing left to complain about this hotel.

Once you do get a room, the service is impeccable, everything from the linens, to the expansive bathroom and balcony, to the room service. It's all amazing. The room service is comparable to a 5-star restaurant and they can make anything - even if it isn't on the menu. They definitely are there to please you.

Also - the spa is fantastic, and complimentary with your resort stay, so I would highly suggest checking that out!

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool/courtyard view are the best, and still quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Katie F.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the resort, and thank you for being such a loyal guest. Your comments about your delay getting access to your room will be shared with the management team as well as your helpful suggestion for a call if the room will be late. We appreciate the feedback and will consider such a measure for future. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.