We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a three day weekend and every part, from check in to check out was five star. This is what service is about. Great employees, wonderful food, great room and great stay. Maid service, restaurant service, front desk service, bell service....just want to thank everyone involved. Stonehill Tavern food was same as Michael Mina's other restaurants in SF and Las Vegas, but our server, Melissa, made it better than both of those. Food in Motif is just as good (highly recommend dinner here...portions twice the size of Mina (almost too big ) but absolutely great!
Again, thanks to all the employees who made our weekend stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Had a fifth floor room overlooking pool; highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Donald H-
Thank you for the rave review, we are excited we exceed your expectations and look forward to a future visit! We will share your comments with Melissa and the managment team at Stonehill Tavern as well.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    247
    126
    73
    58
See reviews for
284
379
33
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a beautiful property, and the room that we had (gardenview ) was very clean and comfortable, the beds were very luxurious, and we enjoyed the room and the service very much. My only complaint was that there is no in-room coffee, and no way to request it without ordering a pot of coffee from room service for $9.00. For $25.00 a day resort fee, this option should have been available, even if ionly upon request, likwe som eother high end hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear hoffmansrcj
Thank you for the great review, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your accommodations and the service. With regard to the in-room coffee pot, it is a St. Regis brand standard that we not offer coffee pots in the room. An alternative to this would be to visit Crust our coffee shop, which opens daily at 6am, to order coffee through in room dining or request a coffee maker from housekeeping for a nominal onetime fee. Please note complimentary coffee and tea service is offered in all of our 75 upgraded suites.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been to a few hotels in the Dana Point area and this one ranks among the best! Rooms are excellently fitted, with large bathrooms, ample sitting area in the room and a magnificent view of the property, golf course and the Pacific.
The service is extremely friendly and helpful. Both the outdoor and indoor pools are nicely heated and the spa is open for reasonable hours up until 8 PM.
All in all, I was here on business with a packed schedule and this was a great retreat and place to unwind.

Room Tip: If you plan on checking in early, chances are they won't be able to accommodate and if you there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Classic St. Regis...beautiful pool and golf cart transport access to beach and beachfront restaurant. The service is good, not outstanding. The rooms are elegant and the oceanview rooms are worth the premium. Nice proximity to Pacific Coast Hwy and the shopping areas of Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanview or oceanfront room. Views are of the pool and ocean is in the distance. The op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the resort, and we agree if you want the best view upgrade to an Ocean View! We look forward to your return. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a very nice hotel but the name implies that it is on the beach. You can see the water but you cannot walk to it. You are required to take a continuously operating 8 passenger golf cart through neighborhoods and the golf course. Don't forget something in your room! The rooms are deluxe, the spa is fabulous and the dining service was very slow but quite good. It is about a 15 min drive into Laguna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear TravelAgent01-
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our resort, and although our name includes the word 'beach' it implies that we are located in the city of Monarch Beach - or more well known - Dana Point. You can walk to our beach if you are up for a little exercise as it is approximately .7 miles from us - I actually suggest this in fact as the surrounding areas and wildlife are breathtaking. For a walking map please visit our concierge desk. We look forward to your return visit. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just stayed 1 night at the St. Regis- which was too bad because I could get used to it there! There were some little things that I didn't like that were a bit of a surprise to me given the status of this hotel but you have to decide do you overlook them b/c of the quality of the rooms/grounds/etc.
We are SPG Platinum guests and we were upgraded to an Executive suite which was HUGE and the bathroom was absolutely like none other I've ever seen! We had a butler but I don't think the butler service was that good. He said he would bring us his personal restaurant recommendations and never showed up with them. When we called about it they just sent up the standard list they give everyone. We were disappointed b/c he seemed to be so ready to give us his PERSONAL list! We had set up a time for tea and hot cocoa to be delivered the next morning at 7am but later than night we realized the time change was taking place and I called to cancel that 7am delivery and told them I would just call them instead. Well, at 7am there was a butler outside our door knocking- I guess he didn't get the message. I was disappointed in the butler service for sure! They also kept calling us by another guest's last name every time we called them. Finally they changed it manually when we asked if that guest was going to pay our bill. So those are little things but when spending this kind of money at this kind of hotel you would think the personal touches would be better. The rooms are amazing, the pools/grounds are amazing. The only other warning is the Ocean in front of the Monarch Bay Club. We had lunch which was delicious at the club and then the kids went to play in the waves and a man w/ the hotel told them to stay out of the water as there is bacteria in the water. Evidently, the beach area owned by the St. Regis is contaminated w/ raw sewage flowing out to sea from inland. You can see where it flows in. So I thought that was very disappointing and should be told to people up front. So now you know! YOu can go down the beach on the other side of the flow of water and be safe. It's not a big deal but still not expected at this type of resort. It's a great stay just don't expect to swim in the ocean- stick with the pool up by the hotel. Valet gets very very busy on weekends.

Room Tip: Don't play in ocean at Monarch Bay Club, Rooms are amazingly comfortable, front desk staff was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your response Sparky8188, we appreciate the feedback about the areas of opportunity within our Butler Service, but are pleased you enjoyed the room and surrounding areas. Just to clarify, the water running into the ocean is absolutely not raw sewage - it is natural water that runs off of the hill above the beach, please note this water is in fact treated and although it wouldn't hurt you we don't recommend frolicking in it. Especially when there is a large beautiful ocean to take advantage of. We hope you visit us again and apologize you received false information about our beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved staying at the St Regis ---- food was wonderful, the rooms outstanding, the staff impeccable - would stay here again in a second! Meeting rooms, accoustics, receptions were lovely. Close to Laguana Beach. Rooms were gorgeous .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.