We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel on the Pacific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Save Saved
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel on the Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been to a few hotels in the Dana Point area and this one ranks among the best! Rooms are excellently fitted, with large bathrooms, ample sitting area in the room and a magnificent view of the property, golf course and the Pacific.
The service is extremely friendly and helpful. Both the outdoor and indoor pools are nicely heated and the spa is open for reasonable hours up until 8 PM.
All in all, I was here on business with a packed schedule and this was a great retreat and place to unwind.

Room Tip: If you plan on checking in early, chances are they won't be able to accommodate and if you there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    226
    123
    68
    56
See reviews for
269
352
33
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Classic St. Regis...beautiful pool and golf cart transport access to beach and beachfront restaurant. The service is good, not outstanding. The rooms are elegant and the oceanview rooms are worth the premium. Nice proximity to Pacific Coast Hwy and the shopping areas of Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanview or oceanfront room. Views are of the pool and ocean is in the distance. The op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the resort, and we agree if you want the best view upgrade to an Ocean View! We look forward to your return. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a very nice hotel but the name implies that it is on the beach. You can see the water but you cannot walk to it. You are required to take a continuously operating 8 passenger golf cart through neighborhoods and the golf course. Don't forget something in your room! The rooms are deluxe, the spa is fabulous and the dining service was very slow but quite good. It is about a 15 min drive into Laguna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear TravelAgent01-
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our resort, and although our name includes the word 'beach' it implies that we are located in the city of Monarch Beach - or more well known - Dana Point. You can walk to our beach if you are up for a little exercise as it is approximately .7 miles from us - I actually suggest this in fact as the surrounding areas and wildlife are breathtaking. For a walking map please visit our concierge desk. We look forward to your return visit. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just stayed 1 night at the St. Regis- which was too bad because I could get used to it there! There were some little things that I didn't like that were a bit of a surprise to me given the status of this hotel but you have to decide do you overlook them b/c of the quality of the rooms/grounds/etc.
We are SPG Platinum guests and we were upgraded to an Executive suite which was HUGE and the bathroom was absolutely like none other I've ever seen! We had a butler but I don't think the butler service was that good. He said he would bring us his personal restaurant recommendations and never showed up with them. When we called about it they just sent up the standard list they give everyone. We were disappointed b/c he seemed to be so ready to give us his PERSONAL list! We had set up a time for tea and hot cocoa to be delivered the next morning at 7am but later than night we realized the time change was taking place and I called to cancel that 7am delivery and told them I would just call them instead. Well, at 7am there was a butler outside our door knocking- I guess he didn't get the message. I was disappointed in the butler service for sure! They also kept calling us by another guest's last name every time we called them. Finally they changed it manually when we asked if that guest was going to pay our bill. So those are little things but when spending this kind of money at this kind of hotel you would think the personal touches would be better. The rooms are amazing, the pools/grounds are amazing. The only other warning is the Ocean in front of the Monarch Bay Club. We had lunch which was delicious at the club and then the kids went to play in the waves and a man w/ the hotel told them to stay out of the water as there is bacteria in the water. Evidently, the beach area owned by the St. Regis is contaminated w/ raw sewage flowing out to sea from inland. You can see where it flows in. So I thought that was very disappointing and should be told to people up front. So now you know! YOu can go down the beach on the other side of the flow of water and be safe. It's not a big deal but still not expected at this type of resort. It's a great stay just don't expect to swim in the ocean- stick with the pool up by the hotel. Valet gets very very busy on weekends.

Room Tip: Don't play in ocean at Monarch Bay Club, Rooms are amazingly comfortable, front desk staff was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your response Sparky8188, we appreciate the feedback about the areas of opportunity within our Butler Service, but are pleased you enjoyed the room and surrounding areas. Just to clarify, the water running into the ocean is absolutely not raw sewage - it is natural water that runs off of the hill above the beach, please note this water is in fact treated and although it wouldn't hurt you we don't recommend frolicking in it. Especially when there is a large beautiful ocean to take advantage of. We hope you visit us again and apologize you received false information about our beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved staying at the St Regis ---- food was wonderful, the rooms outstanding, the staff impeccable - would stay here again in a second! Meeting rooms, accoustics, receptions were lovely. Close to Laguana Beach. Rooms were gorgeous .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A wonderful hotel for a weekend or a week! Best hotel staff we have encountered in years--they ALL go out of their way to help you! The service here is incredible--like stepping back in time! Had breakfast in our room and it was so lovely. Lunch and dinner at other locations on the property were equally wonderful! The sunsets were extraordinary and being able to walk to the beach (or take their trolley) and eat lunch or dinner at their private beach restaurant is a plus! Want a quick getaway? This is the place.
Stayed here while my husband attended a business conference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and higher rather than the lower floors. Unless you want a patio so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was a guest at the St Regis at the end of Feb/beginning of March for a business conference, which I bookended with a few personal nights.

This is one of my favorite resorts, anywhere. The property is spotless, staff professional, helpful and friendly, incredible bed and bedding, spectacular bath. Every meal (including the business functions) were delicious, fresh and had a little something extra to have them stand out.

I would HIGHLY recommend this resort over the highly pretentious and overrated Montage. The Ritz Carlton down the street is also wonderful - just different that the St Regis.

I took advantage of dining at the private Monarch Bay Beach Club for on of the dinners and I also highly recommend it!

Pool, golf, spa were all wonderful.

Of course, there is a price to be paid for such luxury and service, but if you can afford to treat yourself while in SoCal, spend it here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.