We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to the negative reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Save Saved
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Dana Point
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the negative reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had hesitation about this place because of all the bad reviews. We went over Christmas break for 4 nights with a little kid in tow. We got upgraded twice to a resort view / ocean view. The rooms were smaller than I expected. The bathrooms are very nice and spacious. I have been to other 5 star places and the rooms are usually much bigger. We had a king bed size room. Staying there for almost a week you get to feel a bit crowded in the room.

The resort itself is awesome provided you like swimming, beach, and golf. That is about it. If you don't like those things then don't come here and spend the money. You will get bored awfully quick. The kid's club was closed over the Christmas holidays so can't comment on that. Also the golf course was perfect for little kids after 3pm. I was able to play for $60 and my son who is under 5 was able to play for free and able to move around with no one around us. I don't think you will be able to do that during the summer but for winter it was perfect.

The food at the restaurants are very pricey but the quality was by far above average. We enjoyed eating at all the establishments and enjoyed the Private Beach area the most. They set up your chairs etc for you while you just sink back and relax and bring your drinks down from the bar area. The outdoor patio of the Monarch Beach Club is amazing and perfect place to watch the sunset.

I will say the service is great from the standpoint of listening and then trying to do the best. The execution of the service which is usually done by someone else is hit or miss.

Overall....a great place to stay. I am certain if you are here for the summer months it is probably way too crowded. That is why we like to go to these places when it is not crazy and we can just enjoy a nice relaxing resort. This place did the job for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Yjkim70-

Thank you for your recent review of the St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay over Christmas break. We hope that you will return in the future to take advantage of the kids club and the wonderful amenities we have to offer.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    560
    206
    113
    63
    55
See reviews for
234
327
31
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Several families stayed with us over the New Year's holiday. Service was outstanding including the room service staff which fetched a lost item left on a service cart for us. For the price, the hotel is missing a notch - some of the finer details - to achieve a 5-star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Cutterback-

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your New Year’s holiday at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope that you will return to the Resort in the future.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It's a shame such a grand property with beautiful facilities could be so easily marred by poor service.

We checked in Christmas Eve weekend. Check in was smooth thanks to David, the front desk manager. He took care of us efficiently and was eager to help us find the room we desired.

Our service at Stonehill Tavern was equally outstanding. The restaurant is under new management and it clearly showed. Service approached perfection and was absolutely flawless.

Unfortunately things went quickly downhill from that point forward.

1) Requested ice for our room, but a full hour went by with no delivery.

2) Called the resort services number back to check on the status. 45 minutes after that, we finally had ice delivered. An hour and 45 minutes to deliver ice delivered! I've never experienced such a failure in service in all my years of travel.

3) On Christmas day, we had a late dinner at Motif. We were seated at 8:45 and it was 9:00 PM when the manager approached us. He was surprised that we were seated with no menus and asked us who seated us. No apologies but we were glad to finally be acknowledged. When we finally did get a waiter, we ordered a simple salad and a hamburger off their limited post buffet menu. Food was not delivered until 10:00 PM, 30 minutes after the restaurant had closed! It was one of the worst service experiences we had ever experienced of any hotel, let alone one that is supposedly of 5-star caliber.

What shocked me about this stay was the complacency of the staff when service has clearly not lived up to the St. Regis standards. No apologies or explanations nor any effort on management's part to make good after the fact.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the grand garden overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Armen-Sarkisian-

Thank you for your recent review of the St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are very sorry to hear about the situation with the ice and your dining experience at Motif Restaurant.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel with incredible service. We were really fortunate to get a suite with a butler. The room came with a large living room, bedroom, two marble bath rooms and a large patio with an ocean view. The butler brought sparkling water and chocolate dipped strawberries to help us celebrate our anniversary. After dinner (excellent at Michael Mina's in the hotel) we came back to our room to find real rosé petals leading from the front door to the bedroom. On the dining table were roses, candles and a sweet note from the butler. In the bedroom there were two towel swans on the bed, along with rosé petal hearts .... Very romantic! High quality amenities, I liked the shampoo so much that I ordered it off the Internet. The spa was very nice with good quality treatments. Everyone who worked there was friendly and very service oriented. we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Csora2547-

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope that you will return in the future and take advantage of the many other amenities the Resort has to offer.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
The St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The is our second stay at the St Regis Monarch Beach. We do an annual "get away" before the Christmas rush just to decompress and have some quiet time. This property never disappoints. The staff is top notch. Check in had several people waiting, however it moved along as a smooth and professional pace. As soon as we were checked in, we were in our room in a few minutes. Rooms are immaculate, clean, and quiet. We almost felt as if we were the only guests at the hotel. We were upgraded to a corner balcony suite that overlooked the golf course and faced the ocean. We left the resort only twice and spent the majority of our time relaxing in our room. Because of the holiday season the hotel was dressed up in its finest holiday decoration. There was beautiful holiday lighting, and an amazing sand sculpture in the lobby. While the location of the resort is a bit secluded, shopping, beaches, and villages are a very short drive from the property. My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer. Our goal for 2013 is to visit the St Regis Monarch Beach at least three times. Love this place!

Room Tip: Corner suites facing the ocean and golf course are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Traveling_gal801-

We are so pleased to hear that you returned to The St. Regis Monarch Beach and got to enjoy the festive holiday decorations. We hope that you will reach your goal and return to the Resort in 2013.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed there for a convention for 2 nights. Room is beautiful, nice amenities. Reception staff is very nice and professional. Our room was on the main floor and unfortunately a wedding party was partying it up late that night right above us on 2nd floor. Hardly any sleep that night. My husband had to make 2 calls to hotel staff to quiet them down around 2am. I'm sure another room on upper floor maybe facing the ocean would've been better. For an luxury hotel, the walls are pretty thin. Grounds are beautiful- perfect for weddings. Hotel was bustling with guests and visitors. They do a good job catering for corporate events. Try the hotel bar on upper deck overlooking courtyard and ocean for a sunset drink. Takes a while to get to the beach- you need to catch a hotel shuttle to cross you over the PCH but it's efficient. Would consider returning only for a better room location.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the side courtyard where conference rooms are located. We woke 4am to sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
MDZair-

Thank you for your review of the St Regis Monarch Beach. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your convention at the Resort. We hope that you will return in the future and take advantage of one of the many rooms with an ocean view.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The property is beautiful. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The food at the restaurants was really good. Most of all, the service was incredible! I usually don't write reviews but the people at this property were so amazing that I wanted to highlight it. They made the difference in our trip. I arrived with a broken ankle. The bellman, Matt, realized it when he was taking us to our room. He suggested a room change since our room was so far from the elevator that I would have to walk quite a distance. Then he went to the front desk changed our room and brought us new keys within minutes so that our room would be close to the elevator. Then he unloaded our luggage and went to find bags and ice for my ankle that would last me through the night. Then every night after that, when i returned from dinner there would be bags and ice in my room even though I had not requested it. Mike, the hotel ambassador was amazing also. He found out that we were there for my friend's birthday and he personally brought us champagne, chocolate cover strawberries and a had written card to us pool side. When we returned from dinner that evening, the same was also delivered to our room! Finally, Chris at the front desk accomodated us when we wanted to stay longer and invited additional friends to join us and needed an extra room for which we did not have a reservation. He just made it happen and even honored our special rate for our friends room also. AMAZING....I'm already thinking about when I will be able to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dameshia D.-

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We look forward to you returning in the future and hope you can take advantage of the other wonderful things the Resort has to offer.

Thank you,

The Executive Staff
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach
Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#5 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Amex, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.