We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 Stars and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“6 Stars and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were so lucky to stay the last week at the St Regis for an event....even my husband was very busy with the conference during the day, I was able to enjoy this paradise.Living in Fort Lauderdale I am already " spoiled" when it comes to beach places and also traveled to a lot of other beautiful places worldwide.But I must say that this place exceeded my expectations by far.
Everything was 6 stars and more, the location,the service, the food and the wonderful beach which you can reach within a couple of minutes via a small tram.I really don't understand the people always complaining about rooms at the first floor ( which we had and the room was amazing), frigid hallways, and and and.........well, I guess some people love to complain and put the search engine on only to find something. But beside all the nice amenities I want to " highlight" especially one person ( even I met a lot of wonderful employees) which was Marco Henn the Jr room supervisor.Has nothing to do that we are both originally from Germany :-)but this young man did such an incredible job with everything we asked for and it is very rare to find people which are so serious and professional about their job.My husband worked for years for the Four Seasons and other 1st class hotels and it is super hard to impress him.......but Marco did.
The Regis can be more than happy to have this guy on board.
We had outstanding days at the St Regis and hope to come back soon. Thanks to the team and especially Marco for incredible days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Claudia-
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are happy to hear Marco Henn took good care of you and your husband, and you were able to enjoy everything our Resort has to offer. Thanks again and we hope you have you and your husband back to the Resort soon.

Thank you,
The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    250
    131
    74
    59
See reviews for
288
390
33
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed here couple of times now. This is a beautiful resort. This is not right on the beach and it is a golf cart ride down past the golf course. Great Service and polite staff! We did not eat dinner here but ate lunch at the restaurant right by the beach couple of times.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your positive experience at The St. Regis Monarch Beach! We are happy to hear your enjoyed our polite staff and dining options. We are looking forward to having you back at the Resort soon.

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I want to give you our opinion of the "5 Star" St. Regis. It was really a disappointment - especially at over $700 a night once taxes and fees are added.

Here are a few highlights ....

The suite "upgrade" was to a first floor, bush obstructed, non-view, next to the pool bar accessible room. They did eventually move us the next day, but still. What a hassle.

It took 30 minutes to get ice from the butler one day.

One of my kids' inflatable beds deflated in the middle of the night.

Worked out at the gym but had to call each time to request towels that should have been supplied. Also, dirty towels and cups were left in the gym area.

Cheerios were left on the carpet in the hallway for an entire day right in front of the elevators. No one cleaned it up - seems hard to believe no one from housekeeping saw it.

Went to use the spa shower only to find it filled with sand and dirty towels from a previous user.

Gym and spa management overall needed upgrading. Oftentimes there was no attendant to be found.

One afternoon, a big, boisterous luncheon filled the main courtyard with drunk "corporate" types. Super noisy DJ blasting music and obnoxious guests. One attendee ended up in the pool fully clothed. Seemed like an Amway convention. Super tacky and impossible to ignore.

Unbelievably exorbitant pricing just about everywhere. The spa was on another planet price wise. $33 for a breakfast buffet? Please.

Had "attitude" several times from employees - most notably in the Motif restaurant hosts.

My two kids went to dinner at the Stonehill Tavern the night before we left. When I checked the bill upon check out, they had inadvertently been charged for two cocktails which they obviously hadn't consumed. They refused to remove it from my bill because "the restaurant is not part of the hotel and they couldn't adjust charges without them there". They said, "trust us, we will have it removed eventually IF IT CAN BE CONFIRMED THAT THEY WERE NOT SERVED". Are you kidding me?

Towels felt rough - carpets needed replacing - place is showing it wear.

The hotel hallways were frigid. Felt like walking through a freezer. Not good especially after swimming.

There's more but I don't want to bother you. By the way, the concierge, pool staff, bell men and valet parking team were great. I'm happy to give compliments when merited.

I know a rip off when I see it. This place is a gold-medal rip off. It's very unlikely I'll stay there ever again. Next time, the Montage or Ritz.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
John W.
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are sorry to hear about the service issues you had at the Resort. We will reach out to the team at Stonehill Tavern, and make sure that charge was removed from your bill.

Thank you, John.

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The St. Regis Monarch Beach property is absolutely amazing overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We stayed there for 1 night. Our room was safe, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is superior. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your room, and next time hopefully you can join us for longer!

Thank you,

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family stayed for a few days for my birthday. It was a great two day and wish we were to stay longer. Every encounter with a staff member was top notch. We were treated the way you would want in such a great hotel. The grounds, pool, architecture, and the overall resort were well kept and inviting. The food and the cocktails were delicious. Especially the bloody Mary. We will be back for our next romantic trip!

Room Tip: Ask for room upgrade at a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review about your stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We appreciate you selecting our Resort to spend your birthday at, and glad you enjoyed our signature Bloody Mary!

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is NOT a 5 star hotel!
There is absolutely no commucication, attention to detail or clear on site management at the St. Regis. The problems were evident upon our arrival. We went to check-in (we arrived at 5:30 pm on Sunday) we were told that our two rooms were not ready. The larger “suite” would be ready in an hour, but the other room would not be ready until after 7 pm. After a lot of talking to personnel, we went to the “suite” (both rooms were booked with pool views) and it was located on the first floor overlooking a parking lot. They tried to convince us that this was one of their “best suites”. Finally after many phone calls and complaints, we were able to check into our other room after 7 pm.
Everything from cleanliness at the restaurants, dirty dishes, trash on the ground, trash by the pool area, hallways, and overflowing trash cans, made this hotel one of the dirtiest, worst ran hotels I have stayed in. We requested our room to be cleaned and came back to hotel after 8 pm and still not cleaned. If you call down at the front desk, expect to be put on hold and then given the “ah, not my fault” excuse. Yes we did complain, and yes we did receive a bottle of champagne and a nice card from the “manager’s assistant”. It is just a shame that we had to spend so much time explaining to them why trash all over the ground at breakfast where they tried to seat us was not ok.
The beach club is so ridiculous! Waiting for a tram to take you and pick you up takes over an hour round trip, and that is if you are lucky. We waited 45 one morning, and one day had to have our grown children sit on our laps just to get back to the hotel (or wait another 20 minutes for the next one). This is the worst ran system I have ever witnessed. The beach also does not have “beach service” for food or drinks. It has a restaurant, and a BBQ stand that you have to order and then wait for before going down to your chairs on the beach.
The St. Regis does have a beautiful view, nice rooms and good food. Saying that, most hotels can offer this, but a 5 star hotel at the prices they are charging should rise above standard expectations.

Room Tip: It doesnt matter what you book, they will change rooms and put you where ever they want. They will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Ticder-
Thank you for your review about your experience at our Resort. We have made changes to make sure that check-in times are shorter and that rooms are ready when expected. We have noted your cleanliness complaints, and taken it up with management.

Thank you,

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I've got to give to management, I'm a local and we stay here a few times a year
for a local getaway. They really are doing a great job here best it's ever been from
a service level. Mr Suh keep up the good work, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you have seen the Resort improve over the years. We are constantly trying to improve and better serve our guests!

Thank you,

The Executive Offices
St. Regis Monarch Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.