We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, gracious staff but a few flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. Regis, Monarch Beach to your Saves list
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
dallas, tx
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, gracious staff but a few flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed for a four day visit over the Easter weekend. We used points for several nights and paid for one. Yes, as stated in an earlier review this hotel requires many points to get a free night. My husband is a starwood gold and they upgraded our room to one with a nicer view which was quite wonderful of them to do. The room itself was fine, bathroom was luxurious with all the amenities being upscale and plentiful. The nightly turndown service is a plus. However, I did not like that the fabric headboard on one of the beds was stained, I shutter to think what it was but there were two large brown stains. There was also a large brown stain on the inside of one of the drapes leading out to the lanai.
Also, we did not like that even though we used tons of points for two "free" nights we were still charged a seperate resort fee each day and if you bring a car be prepared to pay for the privelege of having it parked there each day. I don't like that aspect at all.
We ate and drank poolside, yes prices are steep, but if you only do it once a day while lounging by the pool it is worth it. There are so many wonderful restaurants nearby that there is really no reason to pay the ridiculous prices the hotel charges for breakfast and dinner.
The pool staff were gracious but not many around, maybe it was because of the low occupancy rate at the hotel at this time of year.
Pool grounds and hotel grounds were gorgeous and lovely and well kept. Front desk was accomodating and polite as were all the valets and bellmen.
The beach was nice as was the beachclub and the staff at the beach and beachclub were all very nice and hardworking.
I thought the staff at the spa was wonderful every step of the way. Everything was spotless, all our needs, down to the most miniscule were met. It really is a huge plus to the hotel to have the spa facilities and staff taht they do. The fitness room was more than adequate as well.
All in all, it was a very nice stay and we would return!

Room Tip: Become a starwood member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    250
    132
    74
    59
See reviews for
289
392
33
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

For the past six years I have taken my family for my wife's birthday to the St. Regis and every year they exceed my expectations. With no doubt the management and staff strive to make each guest stay rewarding. If you love the ocean one can walk through their property or driven to the private beach area where chairs and umbrellas await you, you can also dine. We have seen wales and dolphins during our stays. Experiences our kids enjoyed are the butterfly release and goodies the staff left for them when they were younger. this is an experience I am fortunate to be able to enjoy and will also enjoy this year when we return for my wife's birthday. They make it unforgetable.

Room Tip: Let them know why you are there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011 via mobile

Stayed with points so didn't pay anything for a short spring break jaunt with my kids. That being said it takes A LOT of points to stay at this place. The good: spacious rooms. Easily slept me and my three kids. Valet is punctual friendly and full of good tips. Beach club is great and they provide everything sans charge (so unlike Hawaii). If you like to golf the course seemed gorgeous and pretty empty. Great surf nearby and tons of close good food options. The grounds are fabulous. Gorgeous facility. Great pools. Great gym (has a 20+ yd dedicated lap pool). Overall friendly staff. BUT: and because this is a five star mega luxe fab place this is inexcusable stuff: seems WAY understaffed. Maybe because off season but hotel seemed pretty damn empty and they couldn't get my room cleaned for check in til 5pm +. Pool staff gets really unfriendly near the end of their shifts. And the blonde with too much eyeliner that is really self absorbed at the spa check in? Needs a major attitude adjustment. Pretty shocking really. Its not a blanket indictment of the staff but there shouldn't be any "buts" at a place like this. Value gets downgraded because of this--let's face facts though no 5 star is gonna ever be rated a "value". And it's inexcusable for someone to go to a 5 star and ever feel like the service was anything less than stellar

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Moonpod-
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We always strive to maintain a five star experience for all of our guests, from check in to check out. Please be assured waiting until 5pm for a room is not up to our standards and will be brought to the attention of management as will all of your experiences, both positive and negative. Thank you for the kind words about the grounds, facilities and pools.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to prove our five star quality on your next visit to Monarch Beach.

Warm regards,
The St. Regis Monarch Beach
Executive Offices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Fantastic hotel. Had our wedding here, and the facilities and service is excellent. The hotel showed a few signs of recovering from poor investment and ownership change, but a beautiful location and room quality make up for this.

They even cut us a deal for our honeymoon in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

A friends decided Saturday morning to go away for the weekend and within an hour we had a great rate for the St Regis and a few hours later off to a weekend paradise.

The resort is amazing in that it transports you to another place so close to LA. The Service is top notch and we wanted for nothing - they knew our name at each dinner or spa reservation. Even opened the restaurant when late from the beach and they only had buffets for breakfast They really made an effort from valet to valet!

Even thou we all got garden rooms they were modern, comfortable, clean and luxury to its fullest. Room service was excellent. The Resort itself is so well designed and around the focus of the pool and fountain. It felt like I was back on the South of France looking over the property to the sea. The properties beach is a short tram ride through the golf course to an amazing private beach and club. The beach club is one of the best things here -cocktails at sunset and coffee after an early morning beach walk.

The REAL highlight is Michael Minas resturant - This was one of the best resturant experience and meal I have ever had in Southern Cal. The place is beautiful, meals and service mind blowing. Even thou its pricey none of us could quibble after the food was soooo amazing.

In short one of the best stay vacations for a while - way better that St.Barabara if your under 45!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I am really sorry, but I absolutely did not like (understatement) this whole place. I even called it after a couple of days the OBH Hotel; The One Big Hype Hotel.

The Building: A grotesque block with kitschy Neo Classical features. Unfortunately I had to stay there for two weeks. This Hotel is just one big “Wedding Machine”. The place was half empty regarding “normal” guests”.

Rooms: All the usual tralalie-things for a 5 star hotel. Standard “ok”; nothing bad / nothing special.

Pool: The heated Pool was freezing cold for 2 weeks. Excuse: “the pump is broken”. Nope; you didn’t turn it on to save money ? I was expecting to see a whale swim by at one point.

The fire-alarm: went of three times in ONE singel night. False alarm? I didn’t see any firemen. A lot of noise and it completely ruined mine and some fellow guests entire night; we were all standing bewildered in the corridor. No message, no information, no call from front desk or anybody in sight that whole night. Some people with little children were fuming. The next day; no excuses or information.

Drunken people: As there are so many weddings going on all the time, there is a lot of noise. Intoxicated people swirl around almost every evening in the corridors.

Breakfast & Room service : Quality of food was good & service was friendly and attentive.

The Stonehill Tavern: Excellent; food was pleasurable.

The Gym: Excellent.

The Bar: You will not see a nice lady singing some jazz or blues accompanied by a nice little band. Nope. You will get a BIG and I mean BIG screen with American Football on it. Yes. A really 'relaxing' 5 star ambiance. I luckily managed often to ‘escape’ to the –much better located- Ritz Carlton Hotel nearby; nice Bar, nice atmosphere & good restaurant. The Bar at the Ritz has THE most perfect view through the round window; a Californian sunset, surfers and dolphins catching the waves.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear Nyx999-
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to post your experience. Your disappointment with the resort facilities (the cold pool and the fire alarm) will be shared with engineering as well all management. This is definitely not normal or up to our standards. We hope you will allow us the opportunity in the future to demonstrate our Five-Star capabilities.

Thank you for your kind words about the fitness center and Stonehill Tavern, we will share your positive comments as well.

All the best in your future travels.

Regards,
The St. Regis Monarch Beach
Executive Offices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Although the hotel may have been beautiful, right outside of our room was construction. After our stay we had complained about the noise but they had seemed to not care. Also, at the very beautiful beach, my son had stepped in tar....that should never happen at a so called five star hotel. We had told the life guard and he said ' yes there is tar so watch out' i thought 'thanks for the warning'. When we had told the front desk AGAIN they just didn't care. I would not recommend this to a friend, Pelican Hill had suited my needs better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRMB, Executive Offices at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear Dkitt96-
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. Your review of our staff and facilities will be shared directly with our management team. Here at The St. Regis Monarch Beach we genuinely care about each guest's experience and work hard to go above and beyond each guest's expectations. We hope you will return and allow us an opportunity to demonstrate our dedication to our guests and their experience.

Warm Regards,

St. Regis Monarch Beach
Executive Offices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Regis, Monarch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis, Monarch Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean stands The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Crowned with the Forbes Five-Star, AAA Five-Diamond Award, the resort delivers an experience beyond expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Regis, Monarch Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Regis, Monarch Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.