We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over for Jazz at Avalon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Express

Catalina Express
34675 Golden Lantern St., Dana Point, CA 92629
800-481-3470
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$76*
and up
Ranked #3 of 10 Attractions in Dana Point
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catalina Island is just an hour away aboard our fast and sleek boats out of Long Beach, San Pedro and Dana Point. We are committed to offering the most advanced, state-of-the-art watercraft available while maintaining a high level of dedication to safety, customer satisfaction, and quality of service. Today, the fleet consists of 8 high-speed vessels. More than one million passengers set sail to Catalina Island each year on board Catalina Express, and with year round service and up to 30 departures daily, you can easily join them.
Bristol
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Over for Jazz at Avalon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Boarding and arriving at both destinations was accomplished without a hitch. The seating was adequate with good viewing for taking photos. I found the safety instructions unintelligible and lasted a few seconds.
Snacks and drinks available and the crossing took 1 hour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice and fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a nice, fast and clean vessel. They have two locations to go to Catalina. The crew was courteous and professional. We enjoy a calm ride and we'll do it again soon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great, but no inexpensive way to get to the Island
Comfy, but like riding the bus at times.
Holidays are crowded, and try to avoid "kid" day trip days!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasure ride to Catalina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was my first trip to catalina and as suggested by the reviewers you need to go atleast 1 hr ahead to Dana Point. Because you have to get the parking permit first and the parking is at the casitas lane.. Since we reached 1.30 hours early we had ample time to park and walk to the boarding. The ride was really smooth and was on time. Except it was too hot .Took the 11.55 am ferry. So could not enjoy that much on the ferry. Otherwise it was great riding on Catalina express. The snack bar is good enough and doesn't cost much . Coffee $1.50 Water / Beer $2.00

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service & friendly crew!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I have ridden the Catalina Express five round-trips & each time has been pleasurable. Our last trip on August 28th was truly exceptional, as we not only saw dolphins, and our Captain spotted a Blue Whale, then cut the engines so that we passengers could shoot pictures, and enjoy the sights.

The crews on all of our trips have been very professional
and friendly.

And lastly, the free birthday trip to celebrate their 30th Anniversary has been great. I look forward to my birthday ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Express also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Catalina Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.