We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Express

Catalina Express
34675 Golden Lantern St., Dana Point, CA 92629
800-481-3470
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 14 attractions in Dana Point
Type: Ferries/ Boats
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Catalina Island is just an hour away aboard our fast and sleek boats out of Long Beach, San Pedro and Dana Point. We are committed to offering the most advanced, state-of-the-art watercraft available while maintaining a high level of dedication to safety, customer satisfaction, and quality of service. Today, the fleet consists of 8 high-speed vessels. More than one million passengers set sail to Catalina Island each year on board Catalina Express, and with year round service and up to 30 departures daily, you can easily join them.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice way to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We used this ferry many times and they are alway great. Good for kids too. This last trip the captain was even nice enough to slow down and hang out with a large pod of dolphins. That was SO special for the kids and adults. Thank you for the extra thoughtfulness.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun weekend outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Good way to get to Catalina quickly. We had fun there. I visited the Casino and did Segway tour. Had some great dinners and it was nice being able to walk places.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Quick and Easy Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Easy access to Catalina. A comfortable trip over. If there are whales of dolphins to see, they'll take time to show them to passengers. We use the CE from Dana Point.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best way to get to Catalina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Enjoyed the 70 minute boat ride. Departed 11:55, returned 7pm. A day at Catalina Island was perfect. Recommend the island tour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had a great one day trip to Catalina on the Catalina Express. Looked for a coupon online and found a great deal. We left early in the morning and spent the day there, renting a golf cart for even more fun. Left on the last ferry home and felt like we'd be gone all weekend. Very relaxing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Express also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Catalina Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Catalina Express to your Saves list