We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT BOTHER!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Point Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dana Point Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Dana Point Harbor Inn
25325 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights. I'm pretty easy going and certainly not picky BUT This place is filthy!!!! The floors were so dirty our feet were black 10 min after our showers. GROSS!! There were hard things stuck to the counters and the walls and door were very dirty.... noticably dirty !!We were also very disappointed that the POOL HAD BEEN SHUT DOWN BY THE HEALTH DEPARTMENT!! When asked the girl at the front desk about it. She acted like it was no big deal and that we were out of luck because we made reservations through Expedia. If we had made them through the hotel we would have a refund. When we returned home I had Expedia contact the hotel and they refused anything other that 25% off our next visit. That will never happen. I don't think you could pay us to stay there again. And yes as stated in other reviews all three paintings were the same. I don't think they take much pride in this hotel. Do yourself a favor and spend a little more and stay in a clean hotel.! Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    16
    17
    47
See reviews for
25
44
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Show Low, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

hotel was excellent. right on the water. zach was so helpful and because of him we will definately stay there again. we were able to rent the paddle boats with ease. we want to come back in october and this is where we will stay for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel was conveniently located to our 10K race which made it ideal. We had originally booked a king room but had extra people joining us so they gave us 2 queens at no extra charge which was extremely helpful. Room was large and clean and beds were comfortable. Bathroom had a huge counter which was a nice surprise. They provide refrigerators but could have used a small microwave too. The down side of this hotel is it seemed a little sketchy with some of the people milling around the rooms, I was thankful for my husbands presence. The pool area was probably the worst I have ever seen at a hotel, it was clean but the location was awful. Overall for the priced paid it was a great hotel, I am just use to a little more.

Room Tip: We had an upper floor and it made me feel a little safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. It was an easy walk to the beach. We walked there twice. We liked the nice size room. We were told that we were getting queen beds. They seemed more like doubles. It was nice having two sinks. We also liked the good size fridge. We called the breakfast the "miniature" breakfast. Everything was in miniature size :) This allowed us to try different things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Close to the Dana Harbor area if you were without car only two long blocks to all restaurant & shops in the harbor area. If your into boat, fishing or whale watching trips perfect location too with or without car. The room 111 even though it's perfect for handicap person large enough and bathroom made for the need. The knob on the cold was broken back of the bathroom door had a dent as if someone punched it leaving a somewhat hole. Three painting in the rooms were all exactly the same. Theses are simply things that can be fixed overnight but looks like they don't care enough to put any effort into their Inn. In my opinion it seemed like their only concern was to bring in as many people who cares how the place or rooms looks. It saved us very little money compared to other places but it was not clean enough or even worth the few dollars we saved. Although the closeness to all with or without car was great but then again everything in Dana Point is close enough and if you have a car why bother saving a few dollars for a not so nice room get a clean one a place that the owners are proud of and you'll sleep better and feel better.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at Dana Point Inn whilst travelling US for three nights. The staff were great, i made a boo and booked for days the week previous, receptionist was excellent and looked after us perfectly finding us a room.I will be honest, this is not a luxury hotel,but the room was very spacious, serviced well, had a wide range of TV Channels and the location was great. We could walk to the beach, and drove to various towns each night of our stay.For the money personally i couldn't complain added bonus was the small Continental Breakfast spread every morning and the quality of Coffee was exceptional.Good parking facilities too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel met our needs perfectly. We wanted an inexpensive place where we could walk to the Dana Point Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morning. It is dated, but the room was clean and in decent shape. The bed was okay and the fan worked well. There was a continental breakfast in the morning (unexpected). It was nothing elaborate but it was a great for a pre-race snack.

Overall, the hotel met our expectations. It was inexpensive, clean and in a great location. Don't expect glamour...it isn't there.

In looking at the other reveiw, I checked for bed bugs (even brought my bug killer) but did not find any evidence of a problem!!

Room Tip: I recommend upstairs because the floors seemed pretty thin...We stayed upstairs and didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dana Point Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Harbor Inn

Address: 25325 Dana Point Harbor Drive, Dana Point, CA 92629
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dana Point
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and BookIt.com so you can book your Dana Point Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Harbor Hotel Dana Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Point Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.