We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - So many whales!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing

Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing
34675 Golden Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
+1 800-590-9994
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Activities in Dana Point
Type: Other, Adventure
Activities: Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale Watching Adventures, Charters , Fishing and more from Dana Point
Laguna Woods, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow - So many whales!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Beautiful day on the catamaran. The guides took us right out to see the whales and we were rewarded with a great show. There were at least 3 blue whales that we observed. One of them surfaced right next to the boat and then went under it. I only wish I had my camera ready then. I attached a picture of one from a distance. The boat wasn't crowded at all and the guides were great. It was a great way to spend a Saturday morning. Go soon whlle the whales are still around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    59
    17
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went on the July 21, 2012 5 p.m. cruise and had such a great time. We saw hundreds of dolphins, a sea lion and a beautiful blue whale! The captain was great and informative. We had ages ranging from 4 to 71 years old in our group and everyone loved it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Best tour we've taken yet. Start to finish this was a great experience. The crew was knowledgable about all the sea life we encountered. We saw so many blue whales, dolphins following our boat and playing all around us, sea lions on the way back to the marina.
This tour was worth every penny. Absolutely loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dana Wharf Whale Watching.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

There were too many people on the boat and the captain had family/friends sitting in the captains area so the people sitting behind him could not see out the window. The smaller boats were getting too close to the whale we did see and was scaring him off. You could only see the whale from the front of the boat on the lower deck.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Family Outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Nice boat, great crew, and beautiful scenery! Although we did not see whales, we did see schools of dolphins. It was well worth the money, just to see the sun set over the ocean. Great trip for the whole family.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing also viewed

 

Been to Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.