We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks, maybe, but avoid this place for food - way too dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wind & Sea Restaurant

Wind & Sea Restaurant
34699 Golden Lantern St, Dana Point, CA 92629-2989
949-496-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wind & Sea Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 113 restaurants in Dana Point
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dana Point Harbor Dr
Southern California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Drinks, maybe, but avoid this place for food - way too dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I am a San Clemente/Capistrano/Dana Point local and I really like the location of The Wind and Sea Restaurant. So, my husband and I decided to bike there on a warm October afternoon and grab a sunset drink.

After waiting 10 minutes for a seat (when there where many available tables) we ordered Mai Tais in anticipation of our upcoming Thanksgiving trip to Hawaii. As our drinks arrived, two nice women sat at the table next to us and ordered some red wine and discussed the menu. When their wine arrived, there was some type of particles floating in the wine. They were unsure what to do, but we suggested they get the waiter and send it back. Then the waiter brought another round of wine, and again, strange particles floating in the drink. The waiter noted that the wine was being poured into a small serving beaker that had been used at breakfast that morning for orange juice and it appeared that OJ particles had not been washed out of the beaker. So, the ladies asked for a third and clean glass of wine. This time the beaker was clean but the wine glass was filthy. One of the ladies asked for the manager. The manager explained that it had been a really busy day and things might not get cleaned as well as they should. Perhaps they need to rush,or things fall through the washing machine and don't get clean. Needless to say, the ladies didn't find this reassuring. Although offered a free glass of wine, they left. And I don't blame them. The lack of cleanliness was inexcusable and the manager's willingness to rationalize this as being too busy to be clean in unacceptable.

While our drinks seemed fine, I was bothered by these ladies' experience. They came to Dana Point to have a good time and they were met by a touristy restaurant that didn't provide the customer with the service warranted by the prices. I was shocked to see a halibut dinner offered at close to $40.00 and then see the poor service and quality provided.

If you're visiting our wonderful location, avoid the Wind and Sea for food. I just wouldn't trust it to be clean. The location is great and the restaurant should clean itself up and offer locals and visitors a quality experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    42
    54
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and views - lovely staff , food is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A party of 20, we enjoyed the views in this waterside restaurant. The staff were amenable and efficient .. drink service was fast .. the food was average.. not bad and no disasters but overall consensus was just " ok" .. fish a little dry , steaks not quite cooked to the liking of those eating .. but nothing terrible.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“View Good but Food Subpar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Positive: Efficient pleasant staff. Attractive view
The Negative: Overcooked steak Ordered medium rare and was served well done. The waiter was pleasant and immediately returned it to the kitchen. Next one was medium and arrived very quickly; I suspect I got someone elses steak because a 'new' one only took 2 minutes or so. It was tough. The accompanying shrimp were flavorless and dry. The pilaf was from a mix. The salad was iceberg lettuce. My husband's sockeye salmon for $25.95 was the poorest he'd ever received in a restaurant.

This food was not worth a trip to Dana Point. I'd say go there for a drink and a look at the Dana Point Harbor and then head out somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

After reading prior reviews I expected mediocre service; we had wonderful service. Food was served piping hot from the kitchen. Garlic mashed potatoes were a bit bland. Fried shrimp was good but over battered. Seafood mix on pasta was very good. Loved the artichoke appetizer. Good view of the marina. Expected nicer facility.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not somewhere I would rush back to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After reading fellow travellers reviews of this restaurant, I was very disappointed. We went here for late lunch. The hostesses were friendly and we chose to sit in the lounge area.

Food was average, but the service is what I really disliked. I don't know what our server was called, but I am offended by the fact that throughout serving us she mimicked our accents which I found annoying and unprofessional. I also didn't think the length of time we had to wait for drinks was acceptable, especially as there were many empty tables in our server's area. Overall I did not find the server genuine at all and this was further reinforced by her interactions with other tables.

There was a comment card provided, asking for feedback but to be honest, I just wanted to leave the place as quickly as possible (we only had a snack and went to another establishment for dessert). Also, I did not know our server's name so could not provide that detail.

I would try other places at Dana Point Harbor ahead of Wind & Sea.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wind & Sea Restaurant also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Wind & Sea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind & Sea Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.