We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Val's Restaurant & Lounge

Val's Restaurant & Lounge
2468 Junipero Serra Blvd, Daly City, CA 94015-1633
650-755-3448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 164 Restaurants in Daly City
Restaurant details
NW Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We chose this restaurant because it was within walking distance from our hotel. Yes, the decor may be a little tired, as some reviewers noted, but the overall experience was still very good. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. She also helped us with how to get around San Francisco and to the pier. Her advice was spot on! We both got one of their specials, which was parmesan-crusted halibut. This was a very mild fish, and very tender.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    27
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Val's review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Pretty good food specilly the amounts of it! Everyone was very nice if l go back to sf next year lm definetly coming back for more

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon, North Carolina, usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average food, average value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We ate here twice during our visit. The first I had pasta which was okay. The second was a salmon special. I myself could do better. The place hasn't had a decor update since disco was in vogue. Doesn't Daly City have anything better?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just what you'd expect -- in the 70s”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I give props to the waitress who tried to make this a nice experience. The food was average, the decor outdated, and I felt like my Italian relatives from the 1970s would come walking in from some back room. The prices were a bit high for the quality. All I can say is they try.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Val's is Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great place to go for an inexpensive dinner. Good value and some dishes are real winners.

The early bird specials are great deals that are very hard to beat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Val's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Val's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Val's Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.