We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly quaint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Camino Inn

Save Saved
You added El Camino Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Camino Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7525 Mission Street, Daly City, CA 94014-2941   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Daly City
Dallas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“surprisingly quaint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

i had some fears about staying here, due to the price and location, being outside the main city. i have to say that this was a very enjoyable place to stay. if you are into true history of the old motor hotels, this is a great place to stay. there are so many original details in great shape making this a photographers joy to walk around the property and take some snaps. the room isn't anything great, but it was quiet and comfortable. the bathroom was very clean and quaint. we really enjoyed our stay and will plan on visiting again sometime in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
16
22
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

After attending a wedding in Pacifica we spent a nite at the El Camino Inn.. The room has been painted and is nicely appointed. The bathroom is small..but it was more than adequate for 2 of us. The room was clean and the front desk attendant was hospitable. Would definitely stay there again. There was a delicious Mexican restaurant right across the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked this place along with plenty of family and friends for a family reunion since it was one of the only places in Daly City. Had multiple rooms. Most of us looked walked in the rooms and just checked out. The others had to stay because they couldn't afford the cancellation. It's not what it looks like in the pics. A man (Chris) in a wife beater and shorts checked us in and hit on me and my cousins. Talking about how his wife (the other manager Carolyn) was a b word and that he would leave her soon then asked if I were married to my boyfriend. He continued to hit on me.

The room was small and floors were sticky. I'm a small 5'3" lady that had to sit sideways to use the toilet. There's stains on the bed. Had to buy a sleeping bag. The walls are thin, you can hear others sneezing and having sex. The heater did not work and when we asked for it to be fixed, Chris came in the room in his wife beater again and attempted to fix the heater by hitting with a screwdriver. Worked two minutes before it died again.

After the 48hr notice we checked out but Carolyn insisted we were still going to get charged although it was previously agreed upon by her and Travelocity that we were not.

I'm usually not the type to write bad reviews, but I would like to warn everyone what they may be getting into. It's a very cheap dirty inn. I would not recommend this place to anyone. This definitely is a place you would see in movies of the ghetto sleazy inns. I never knew a thing existed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Not glamorous nor trashy. Owner was very kind and helpful. Knowledgeable of area and transit. A lot of things within walking distance including the BART station. Fairly quiet at night. Gone during the day so that part is unknown. We were there 4 days and room was cleaned each day. Read about ants, but only saw 3 - 4 the whole time. Had we known the bed would be a double we would have opted for 2 beds, but the one we had was comfortable and the pillows were good! We wouild stay here again if traveling to San Fransisco area again.

Room Tip: We asked for a second floor room to avoid people using stairs. Open window at night cooled the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just completed 20 nights on the road and El Camino Inn was the only hotel booked that was definitely a mistake.

The room was dated, fine we could have handled that but ...dirty was unacceptable. There were ants in the bathroom and as we were packing to leave discovered that they were also in the closet area. The linens were very thin , there was a small table and small bed both very worn and crammed into a very small space. I don't know what rooms the pictures are of but ours wasn't white, light, modern or airy.

I think the worst insult though was the included breakfast . Breakfast was coffee, 4 pieces of bread, several packaged danish and one package of instant oatmeal. Yup that's it folks for all of us staying in the hotel, what an insult to the paying customers.

Would recommend that others do not book this hotel until the cleanliness issue has been resolved as well as the rates are adjusted to reflect a dated hotel on the outskirts of town that is not serving breakfast.

Definitely will not be recommending this one to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a 50's motel with no frills. Small, yes, but, its clean, quiet, close to Bart and has a good Hispanic restaurant across the street... also a great 50's doughnut coffee shop as well. If you're on a budget and want to see San Francisco, this is a great place to stay and save. The neighborhood is fine, and we all know who frequents doughnut shops... 20 min. Bart ride to SF is three easy blocks away and if you don't want to walk a cab is less than $5.
My wife and I stayed for 3 days as we had a garage sale at her now Son's home and needed something close. It worked for us, if you're on a limited budget, it'll work for you.

Room Tip: Get a room with no one above you... this is an older motel an you can probably hear people walking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Small room and very small bathroom (no place to put your personal items as it was just a sink). Beds were ok but not very comfortable. Location was fine and not in a bad neighborhood and the BART (subway) was a block away which was great! We stayed just one night so that was fine. I don't think I would want to stay much longer than that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Camino Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Camino Inn

Address: 7525 Mission Street, Daly City, CA 94014-2941
Location: United States > California > Daly City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Daly City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Camino Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Camino Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Camino Hotel Daly City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Camino Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.