We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Discovery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Culver Hotel to your Saves list
The Culver Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

On regular trips to visit family in Los Angeles, we usually stay in Santa Monica or Marina del Rey, but our favorites there were especially expensive this time, so we looked around. The Culver Hotel was a happy discovery for us. We enjoyed four nights there last week with our two sons, ages 9 and 5. The hotel is quite beautiful; it's old for LA (1924), nicely refurbished, stylish and interesting. I almost felt hip, though there's no pressure to be so. At every turn the staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel twice and breakfast every day. The food is very good, even excellent, and the outdoor seating was perfect for us and our children, who could wander around the small adjacent plaza and its spouting fountains while we finished our meals. The satisfying continental breakfast (included) was a daily treat for my wife and me; our boys enjoyed pancakes and waffles, and even scored some Lucky Charms from a gracious server. The continental breakfast is served on what the night before was the lobby bar. That felt just right. It's a fairly small hotel; they make good use of space. Night and day the lobby is inviting, comfortable, convivial. It's appealing in the evening, busy and buzzing, sometimes with live music, and also in the fresh light of morning, when we tended to linger. Culver City is burgeoning, it seems, and the hotel is in the center of things, and at certain hours there's some traffic, so we were glad to use the valet parking: just pull up and get out (more than once toting sleeping boys). The valet staff was friendly and efficient. From our room on the plaza side of the hotel (fourth floor of six) we heard only murmurs of the liveliness below. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Stylish, too, in an understated way. For us, the Culver was a total winner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Great having you and the family join us from Colorado. The Lucky Charms are a key ingredient to a kids positive review :)
Looking forward to you next trip into Los Angeles.
Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    48
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
51
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Charming old hotel. An excellent blend of old and new.
Very convenient to restaurants and transportation. The staff is very helpful, eager to please.
Everything was just as desired. Not a noise problem even while being close to traffic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Paul,
Looking at your TripAdvisor profile you could be regarded as a prolific traveler. This gives more credence to your very lovely review. Thank you.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here in June on a business trip. Found the location to be excellent. Short walk to the Metro for getting to my conference downtown yet able to spend the evening in a walkable, hip district with good food and entertainment very nearby.

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff super-friendly. The included breakfast was simple but tasty and enough to get me started.

The live music every night was excellent as well!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay in the Culver City area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you Brian, succinct and to the point.
Looking forward to visiting you in Santa Barbara.
Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Lobby Lounge at The Culver Hotel makes for an enjoyable way to spend time with friends and family. Surrounded by the hotel history, the furnishings, atmosphere and service, it is a unique experience. The hotel itself is in the middle of a vibrant area and it is a short walk to many fine restaurants. The entire package creates a fun and memorable evening. Take the trip back in entertainment history.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
love your review. A trip into a Historic location but so much part of a vibrant and successful community, that is what Downtown Culver City has become.
Come again.
Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I go to LA on business regularly and stumbled upon this gem when another hotel was full. It is now my favorite little home away from home when I am there. The building is fun, classic and the refurbished rooms are a wonderful combination of old and modern. The rooms are stylish and the beds are made with fresh white sheets and down comforters. But it's the staff the makes it a great experience. David, the front desk manager, is a perfect host. Is always so gracious, classy and wanting to make your stay as good as can be. The rest of the crew is great, too. Drinks and food are also terrific. The location can be a bit noisy, but i like having windows that can open for some real fresh air.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
It is great that you stumbled upon us and now regard this as your home away from home. Thank you.
Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I talked the extended family into having Mother's Day brunch at the hotel because I wanted to check out the hotel as a possible place to stay when a friend comes to town. The meal was very tasty - everything about it. The baked sea bass was so good that even the little children enjoyed eating it - a rare happening. While the food selection was a bit limited compared to comparably priced brunches, absolutely everything was delicious. And the hotel is charming. My sister and I asked to see a room with two beds and we were taken on a tour of the upper floors, seeing the charming new "ballroom" where clean up was taking place from a wedding the previous day. And the two-bed room was really lovely - kind of turn of the last century San Francisco gaslight style. This was the deluxe two-bed room - very pretty, spacious, and comfy. I went ahead and booked a room for next month. While the brunch was very good, I have to say that it felt even better due to the ambiance of the hotel. It was lovely, it was beautiful, it was peaceful, and we could hear ourselves talk. Service was quite adequate but we could see it was variable. Some of the tables were brought a selection of desserts without being asked as a convenience - ours was not. Nonetheless, our service was adequate. The one thing that bothered me is that we kept our eye on a big puddle of spilled water as staff came and went. After about 15 minutes we cleaned it up ourselves to prevent any accident. Just a bit odd that it was not seen or was ignored. In no way was the brunch spoiled by this incident and I look forward to returning in the future for additional, intimate, lovely Sunday brunches.

Room Tip: The website does not adequately explain the differences in rooms - call for a description. Also be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for joining us for our Mother's Day and now you are familiar with the HOTEL side of our offering, we look forward to taking care of future visitors.
Safety is one of our primary responsibilities in hospitality, thank you for being proactive and we will do better next time.
See you then.
Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Perfect privately owned alternative to Beverly Hills properties. Perfect relaxed yet sophisticated environment for our off-site business meetings. Rooms are very comfortable and the staff is outstanding as you might find in a family business. My team's new favorite.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Welcome to the Family.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Culver City Travelodge
#4 of 8 in Culver City
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Sunburst Spa & Suites Motel
#8 of 8 in Culver City
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Culver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.