We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with superior service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Culver Hotel to your Saves list
The Culver Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel with superior service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I love everything about this hotel. Culver City is a charming enclave of nice restaurants, cafes, and music. It's an easy distance to Santa Monica, Westwood, Beverly Hills, and anywhere you might want to go. Fantastic service by everyone from check-in, the waiters, car valet. Free wifi. The hotel lobby and restaurant is charming. It's a gem all around, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
I love everything about this guest!
Thank you.
Come again soon......
Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    47
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
48
11
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Everyone was friendly and helpful from check in to checkout. The room was great, well stocked, extra pillows I had requested were already in the room. Happy hour was nice with a good drink and popcorn. Many restaurants were within walking distance, a movie theater right next to the hotel. Ford's Filling station was great for brunch and dinner. A diner to the side of Starbucks was very good-lots of food for the money! A very unique place to stay, they had just remodeled within the last 2 years. Parking is off site with valet service available. An elevator is also available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for joining us. Downtown Culver City really is a great destination, so accessible to the Westside.
You discovered S&W Diner, an institution in Culver City, right next to the Kirk Douglas Theartre. Next visit we should coordinate a show into your stay.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Culver, from check in to check out it was great, room was beautiful and clean, nice continental breakfast. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It is multilevel with an elevator available, we didn't use the parking service (which was off site). Happy hour was nice, enjoyed a Good Witch, a beautiful pink drink! We were there to visit our son who lives nearby, when he had things to do we were at the hotel within walking distance of several eateries, Ford's Filling station had a great brunch and dinner, also a small diner (I don't remember the name) to the right of Starbucks was good for breakfast. We also went to movie right next to the hotel when we needed to fill some time. A beautiful historical hotel which has been recently updated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience.
The Pacific Theaters have 12 screens right across the Town Plaza from our hotel. People love the Lion Statue Fountain in-between ourselves and the Theater.
It is always pleasing to hear that our visitors are making such full use of what Culver City has to offer.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Culver Hotel for 2 nights at the start of January. It was my wife, myself and our 5 year old daughter. It was a first trip to LA so we were not really sure where to stay but liked the reviews and location of the Culver Hotel so just went for it and am so glad that we did.

Hotel was a great atmosphere and you really feel like you are part of history - when we arrived there was a live jazz band playing in a great open room with a large open fire going - quite a welcome! Loved all the Wizard of Oz link and the history of the hotel.

Our room was a great size and really spacious, nicely decorated in keeping with the history of the hotel. Could see the Culver studios and Hollywood sign from the window. The local neighbourhood is great - loads of cool restaurants and a Trader Joe's just across the street for other supplies. We ate in the hotel which was very nice and very reasonable if you get there for happy hour. Location was really chilled out which I much preferred vs staying in Hollywood or Santa Monica.

The other bonus was that a continental breakfast was included - you got to have it in the fantastic bar/restaurant area and it really was very nice with a decent choice and you could be as quick or slow as you wanted.

Overall well recommended for anyone. The only negative was that it was pretty noisy when the band are playing in your room. Not really a problem for us as our daughter will sleep through anything and we were exhausted after sight seeing all day but could see how it might be a problem for some people - I think the solution is just to stay in the bar drinking :)

We enjoyed LA - loved Griffin Observatory and Universal studios and just driving around and finding new places. Being from the UK we loved the January California weather - if coming back to LA will definitely look into staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
it was a pleasure having you and your family staying with us.
Great review, thank you.
The ability to discover Downtown Culver City and then explore Los Angeles County from such a convenient location really does work. Two days is simply not enough.
We do have a couple of rooms that might be affected by the music, sorry about that. Checking in with a kid we should respond accordingly.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We chose the Culver Hotel for a one-night stay for its location and history, and strong recommendations on Tripadvisor. The hotel was built in the 1920s, and renovated in the 1990s after falling into disrepair and disuse for decades.
The neighborhood is fantastic--a couple dozen interesting restaurants within a few blocks.
The rooms had an historic feel and some of the (lack of) amenities added to this "historic" feel: The TV stations were very limited--no Comedy Central, no MSNBC, in fact only 2-3 dozen stations. The (free) internet didn't connect initially and was so slow I was reminded of the 14000-baud modems of the early 1990s. I called the front desk and was told they would send someone to reset the modem (or router) on our floor. No difference. Perhaps due to thick walls, but still...
The room had two queen beds--I had emphasized that we needed two beds and they knew there were two of us when we checked--yet the bathroom had one set of towels and one robe, and amenities for one person. When I phoned the front desk I was told there was only one of each because there wasn't enough racks to put/hang more, but they sent someone up with more towels. Then I discovered that there were more towels in a basket under the sink and a second robe in the closet, far from the room.
But really?? When I have guests in my home, I put out towels for each person and the Culver Hotel could do the same. There actually was room for all of the proper items in the bathroom. It just struck me as a lack of hospitality that they did not think of it and actually tried to justify it.
When we checked out the next morning, I mentioned the shortcoming to two people at the front desk who seems surprised at the news and implied it was not their standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for the comprehensive review.
You are absolutely right about the internet service needing to be upgraded. It is literally being installed as I write this reply to you. We will now have ample WiFi capability to match the growing expectations of our guests. Sorry it did not work well for you.
Apologies for the confusion regarding the bathroom goods, again you are right and we will make adjustments to our procedures and our responses. Two people in a room should easily and without confusion, have everything available to them.
I am very pleased you enjoyed our antique hotel and do look forward to your return.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed September 2013 for the League of Legends World Championship semi and quarter final games since it was an easy walk to the studios. Our room was very nice, spacious and airy. It is a short walk to the light rail station which allows you to go all over greater LA. There is a refrigerator in the room and a Trader Joes across the parking lot. We ate several meals in the hotel dining room and the food was well prepared and good value. There is a movie theatre behind the hotel and several restaurants close by. The staff is very helpful and assisted in the booking of attraction tickets. The hotel has arranged parking in a nearby garage at $10/ day. The bar/ dining room has frequent live music. This is a historic building- many of the actors cast as Munchkins stayed here during the filming of The Wizard of Oz.

Room Tip: bring earplugs- the rooms either face the street or the pedestrian mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for joining us. Do not know if you heard that the final female Munchkin died this last week, so sad. There is only one more Munchkin still alive.............
Thank you for your pleasant comments and true description of the area we are located.
Come back soon.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and slept well and liked the location (kind of halfway between downtown LA and Santa Monica, so not near "anything" but equidistant between all the places we wanted to go). The first room we were given was noisy, due to proximity to the elevator and it overlooking the street, but we were quickly transferred to one at the back of the hotel (overlooking a pedestrian walkway) that was nice and quiet. The room was fine, if a bit old-looking, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The included breakfast was extremely nice, in a very pleasant room with a fireplace and was never too busy. There are a number of restaurants nearby, within walking distance (we loved Meat in Paris French Bistro), as well as a Trader Joe's about a block away and a Starbucks a block away in the other direction. If you like architecture, check out the city hall, very near (maybe 5 minutes by foot).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
I am pleased we found a more suitable room for you. All our hotel rooms were completely renovated in 2011 and has a feel of the "old and the new". We have antique armoirs and all the trappings of a modern boutique hotel.
It is wonderful that you had the chance to try out the many different, great and varied eateries in our immediate neighborhood.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Culver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.